Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 13:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pMusic 4.3.8
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 82 of 122 [1824 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Author Message
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 00:06    Post subject: locale not working
Subject description: Pmusic interface remains English
 

Pmusic 2.6.3 working fine. The only bug is the GUI remains English despite default system language being Spanish. I'm translating the latest Pmusic and I can't see the translations on the GUI. I tried restarting X and rebooting, no changes. I have a Wary 5.3 frugal install to USB key, UTF-8 turned on.

BTW, I like the new choice for saving geometry, makes it more comfortable.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 00:48    Post subject:  

Hi Sigmund

I should learn to read code Embarassed

I see your intention in the pinstall.sh and what I reference was wrong. It may even break stuff in a current running system, though will more likely just error and not run.

The stuff you intend to happen in woof can't because $HOME is not defined. Until woof supports multiuser the only way is either hard code to root or not have that routine. Also /tmp don't exist until the system is up and running. I just glanced at $HOME and didn't read the code knowing in my head $HOME can't exist in the build system. Sorry!

Maybe you could hide your code elsewhere and make it part of the pmusic initial code generation? That would work.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 02:53    Post subject: Re: locale not working
Subject description: Pmusic interface remains English
 

vicmz wrote:
Pmusic 2.6.3 working fine. The only bug is the GUI remains English despite default system language being Spanish. I'm translating the latest Pmusic and I can't see the translations on the GUI. I tried restarting X and rebooting, no changes. I have a Wary 5.3 frugal install to USB key, UTF-8 turned on.

BTW, I like the new choice for saving geometry, makes it more comfortable.
I 'think' your problem is that Pmusic has changed structure of the locale-files. The older model (which you probably are using) holds the spanish file as /usr/local/pmusic/locals/es:ES_spanish, while the new file is /usr/share/locales/es/LC_MESSAGES/pmusic


Good luck
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 02:59    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

I see your intention in the pinstall.sh and what I reference was wrong. It may even break stuff in a current running system, though will more likely just error and not run.

The stuff you intend to happen in woof can't because $HOME is not defined. Until woof supports multiuser the only way is either hard code to root or not have that routine. Also /tmp don't exist until the system is up and running. I just glanced at $HOME and didn't read the code knowing in my head $HOME can't exist in the build system. Sorry!
No $HOME and no /tmp - is this the intended way to build up a system? When you tell this, it's not hard to see that my script fails Very Happy

01micko wrote:
Maybe you could hide your code elsewhere and make it part of the pmusic initial code generation? That would work.
Of course, but it wouldn't set up the roxapp or the rox-icon until you start Pmusic, and that doesn't sound like the best solution to me.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2413
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 03:24    Post subject:  

Hi Sigmund, I have recently been using earlier versions of Pmusic to play and rip music, but have been unable to find a way to get it to play an entire folder. Is there an easy way to add a whole folder to the playlist? And does this function only exist in more recent versions? (I think it was version 1.63 I was trying...). Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 11:46    Post subject:  

greengeek
Browse (with the internal browser) to the folder of your liking, and choose 'Add all' from the Music-Source menu.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2413
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 16:22    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
greengeek
Browse (with the internal browser) to the folder of your liking, and choose 'Add all' from the Music-Source menu.
Thanks Sigmund. I tried this (took me a while because I did not realise initially that the browsing is "single-click" not double Smile ) but it seems that it is necessary to go into the deepest folder and add the tracks just from that folder, instead of being able to add a group of folders. Am I using this wrong, or is this a normal limitation?

I would like to be able to add my entire "Music" folder to the playlist (and then select "random play", but I don't want to have to go into each folder one by one to add them to the playlist. Hope you can understand what I am trying to explain.
pburn add all.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.25 KB
 Viewed   457 Time(s)

pburn add all.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 17:30    Post subject:  

greengeek
I fully understand you (I hope Smile )
It seems you are used to another kind of audio players that uses the playlist as its music storage - Like Winamp. Pmusic on the other hand is not clever with huge playlists. Instead it want you to work in the Music-source field which is built to handle enormous music collections. What is one of Pmusic strengths is that the Playlist(s) integrates well with other tools like copy/convert/rip/burn/masstag. With this in mind, the playlist (in Pmusic) is not the place to dump stuff, but the place to collect the tracks you actually want to act on; and acting of course includes playing....

Here follows 3 quests from the Pmusic FAQ

When I dump all my thousands of songs into a playlist, Pmusic becomes real slow?

Yes, depending on your CPU, Pmusic starts to become slow after adding some hundreds songs. But there is a solution. Please keep in mind a typical 150 song playlist is probably a 8+ hour long session. If your collection is larger than that, I recommend you to index the music files. It is a much faster way of selecting your songs to play. See next question for more information.

Why should I index my music?

There is no need of indexing your audio files. Pmusic has a builtin file-browser where you can find your music and add it to the playlist. This works perfectly for small music collections. If you on the other hand experience that it's hard to navigate through your huge collection, it's time to consider indexing.

You might think that 'indexing' sounds advanced, - but it's not. it is only a table holding information about all your songs and albums. This makes it easy to sort your music by artist, album, song name.... Also, Pmusic lists 20000 songs from your index in a blink of an eye. Open a directory with the same amount of files, you can drink a cup of coffee while waiting. While building the table (the index), Pmusic scans your system for audio files. It is possible to run various filters during this scan. ie. 'files in the same directory belongs together, and should be put in a new album'. Pmusic offers some simple filters depending on your collection structure.

But the biggest advantage of an index is its speed when searching for a song. Pmusic searches so fast that the search result shows up while typing. The downside is that the index must be refreshed after adding more music to your collection.

So if you have a large library, indexing is the way to go. Because of the search speed, you can create a playlist "session" to suit your needs of the moment quite quickly. When you have a playlist the way you want it, you can always save it for reuse later.

But hey, since I can't put my entire collection into the playlist, how can I play a random song?

In Pmusic you have to first 'Add random songs' from the music-source (browser) field into the playlist, - then play. You can define how many songs you want to pick randomly from the list of your music sources.

This way gives an improved random feature... Because Pmusic picks random tracks only from the shown list in the music-source field, you can finetune the random feature. Ie. First search for TNT, and then pick 10 random TNT-songs.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 17:36    Post subject:  

greengeek
I see that it should offer a 'recursive' checkbox for 'Add random'. Added to todo list.

This could be valid for 'Add all', but I really don't want users to do this... because Pmusic probably becomes a bad experience.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 824
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 20:11    Post subject:  

Hello Sigmund,

I have installed Pmusic 2.6.3 in Slacko 5.3.3 and Lupu Plus 5.2.8-005 on another computer but I can't see the "Stop" function in the "Track" menu.

I can see a line in the file /usr/local/pmusic/gui_menu

Is there something else I need to do?

Many thanks for all the hard work.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2012, 03:42    Post subject:  

OscarTalks
I wonder how you made it? Smile

in /root/.pmusic/tmp/, there is some xml files which is the gui-code. These should be removed during version check in /usr/local/pmusic/pmusic line 45. In fact all temporary files are removed, but to get a fresh gui-build the xml-files has to go.

Another way is to change frontend in the view-menu. That will also remove old xml-files.

The xml-files is stored for next run to make the startup time faster.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 824
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2012, 07:00    Post subject:  

Sigmund,
I just cliked on the .pet on page 1.
I had installed 2.6.2 a few days previously and I uninstalled that in PPM before installing 2.6.3 (thinking it would just roll back to the original 2.5.3 and I didn't need the extra entry in the list of installed programs)
Maybe I should not have done this.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2012, 09:07    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Sigmund,
I just cliked on the .pet on page 1.
I had installed 2.6.2 a few days previously and I uninstalled that in PPM before installing 2.6.3 (thinking it would just roll back to the original 2.5.3 and I didn't need the extra entry in the list of installed programs)
Maybe I should not have done this.
It shouldn't matter. Let's keep an eye on this. If it happens again, please report.


Thank you
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 03:06    Post subject: Re: locale not working
Subject description: Pmusic interface remains English
 

zigbert wrote:
vicmz wrote:
Pmusic 2.6.3 working fine. The only bug is the GUI remains English despite default system language being Spanish. I'm translating the latest Pmusic and I can't see the translations on the GUI. I tried restarting X and rebooting, no changes. I have a Wary 5.3 frugal install to USB key, UTF-8 turned on.

BTW, I like the new choice for saving geometry, makes it more comfortable.
I 'think' your problem is that Pmusic has changed structure of the locale-files. The older model (which you probably are using) holds the spanish file as /usr/local/pmusic/locals/es:ES_spanish, while the new file is /usr/share/locales/es/LC_MESSAGES/pmusic


Good luck
Sigmund


Thanks. I have another question, where's the locale file for Pmusic 2.6.3, since you no longer have a 'locales' folder in this version? I'm using the file from 2.6.2 and I can't find a couple of strings, for example 'Quit and save geometry'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 08:57    Post subject:  

vicmz
Please look for /usr/local/pmusic/locales or the symlink in /usr/share/locales/en/LC_MESSAGES/pmusic

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 82 of 122 [1824 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1210s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0310s) ][ GZIP on ]