Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 03:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Toshiba Satellite U305-S5097 laptop: no sound
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 10:55    Post subject:  

[quote="Dewbie"][b]Ed Howdershelt wrote:[/b]
[quote](Tried 4 Puppy versions...)[/quote]
[i]Which[/i] 4?[/quote]

525, 522 (neither booted), Slacko, 528.

Since my other comps run 528, I put it on this one.
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2424
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 15:29    Post subject:  

hi,

I got another suggestion from
http://www.linlap.com/wiki/toshiba+satellite+u300-u305

Quote:
To get sound working the the U300/U305 you will need to add the following line to your /etc/modprobe.conf (or your distribution's equivalent) file:
options snd-hda-intel model=ref position_fix=1
However it's possible you already have a line that starts with options snd-hda-intel, in that case append model=ref position_fix=1 to the end of that line. Note: this procedure is not required with MDV2008.0 and the U305-S7448 (and probably others). Sound works out of the box
Working with Ubuntu Gutsy, a fix must be done, which is described here.


looks like you need to have the following in a file-
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=ref position_fix=1


I'm guess the file is /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 18:44    Post subject:  

Ed Howdershelt wrote:
Quote:
525, 522 (neither booted), Slacko, 528.

OK, so that would be Wary 522 and Lucid(s) 525 and 528, correct?

Just for grins, why don't you try this:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42553
This Puppy has an older kernel, but is always updated with the latest stuff.
Latest version is always posted at top of page 1.
(With this one, NTFS partitions must be mounted with Mut or Pmount for read / write capability.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 00:28    Post subject: UPDATE on Toshiba U305 - FIXED  

Fixed it in Puppy 528.
Here's the alsa-base.conf file:
# autoloader aliases
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-0
install sound-slot-1 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-1
install sound-slot-2 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-2
install sound-slot-3 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-3
install sound-slot-4 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-4
install sound-slot-5 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-5
install sound-slot-6 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-6
install sound-slot-7 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-7

# Cause optional modules to be loaded above generic modules
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-ioctl32 ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }
#
# Workaround at bug #499695 (reverted in Ubuntu see LP #319505)
install snd-pcm /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-pcm $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-pcm-oss ; : ; }
install snd-mixer /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-mixer $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-mixer-oss ; : ; }
install snd-seq /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-seq $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-oss ; : ; }
#
install snd-rawmidi /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-rawmidi $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; : ; }
# Cause optional modules to be loaded above sound card driver modules
install snd-emu10k1 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-emu10k1 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-emu10k1-synth ; }
install snd-via82xx /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-via82xx $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }

# Load saa7134-alsa instead of saa7134 (which gets dragged in by it anyway)
install saa7134 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install saa7134 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist saa7134-alsa ; : ; }
# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options bt87x index=-2
options cx88_alsa index=-2
options saa7134-alsa index=-2
options snd-atiixp-modem index=-2
options snd-intel8x0m index=-2
options snd-via82xx-modem index=-2
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
options snd-usb-caiaq index=-2
options snd-usb-ua101 index=-2
options snd-usb-us122l index=-2
options snd-usb-usx2y index=-2
# Ubuntu #62691, enable MPU for snd-cmipci
options snd-cmipci mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
# Keep snd-pcsp from being loaded as first soundcard
options snd-pcsp index=-2
# Keep snd-usb-audio from beeing loaded as first soundcard
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
# possible fix: options snd-hda-intel model=ref position_fix=1

Now I have sound and can use the Alsa tool under 'Multimedia' to futz with balance and volume and such.

No sound icon at bottom right, though. Dunno why 'cuz it's late and I have stuff to do tomorrow.
Ed
Ed Howdershelt - Abintra Press
Science Fiction & Semi-Fiction
http://www.AbintraPress.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2424
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 09:55    Post subject:  

the icon is a little program called retrovol

see what happens when you type retrovol in the terminal Cool

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 10:13    Post subject:  

[quote="darkcity"]the icon is a little program called retrovol

see what happens when you type [color=green]retrovol[/color] in the terminal 8)[/quote]

Did it. Got this:

sh-4.1# retrovol
retrovol: hcontrol.c:573: snd_hctl_load: Assertion `hctl->count == 0' failed.
Aborted
sh-4.1#

No icon.
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2424
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 15:03    Post subject:  

Does alsamixer work?

Sometimes when retrovol won't start is because its configured incorrectly. The configuration file ~/.retrovolrc can be edited as text.

that is /root/.retrovolrc

(a hidden file, left-clicking on the eye in the ROX filer window reveals these.)

especial ensure the correct soundcard number is selected-

# Which soundcard to use
#card=hw:0
card=hw:0

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 23:51    Post subject:  

[quote="darkcity"]Does alsamixer work?

Sometimes when retrovol won't start is because its configured incorrectly. The configuration file ~/.retrovolrc can be edited as text.

that is /root/.retrovolrc

(a hidden file, left-clicking on the eye in the ROX filer window reveals these.)

especial ensure the correct soundcard number is selected-

# Which soundcard to use
#card=hw:0
card=hw:0[/quote]

Alsamixer works.
I'll have another look at the retrovolrc file.

Oddly enough, when I zapped the Vista partition to EX4 and installed a fresh Puppy there, the sound icon appeared and sound worked. I made all the alsa files read-only, made backup copies, and turned off the computer.
When I turned it back on, I still had sound and an icon. No idea why, since that didn't happen with the first install.
Might just zap the first puppy install and use the new one rather than mess with things again.
Thanks,
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sat 08 Sep 2012, 05:51    Post subject: Re: Toshiba Satellite U305-S5097 laptop: no sound-UPDATE  

[quote="Ed Howdershelt"]It's a Toshiba Satellite U305-S5097, made around 2007, yet the latest top Linux distros seem unable to make the sound card work.
Google hasn't turned up much that's useful.
I'd prefer to run it with Puppy Linux or Mint, but above all, I'd prefer to run it without Windows.
Any ideas?
Ed[/quote]

I happened to discover that the bios was changing its settings for no apparent reason and looked into that. Apparently there have been a couple of bios updates since the lappie's debut.
I haven't seen this kind of problem since I messed with the Columbia PC-XT back in 1983. Had to periodically tell their bios to restore defaults.
So I tried that and suddenly I had sound again.
The sound lasted through three boots, then went out. I checked the bios and found it had again changed itself.
I would have had to install XP to use the downloadable bios updates and they didn't seem to address either unwanted changes or sound.

SO... I sold the lappie to a local tech who seemed to think the bios issue was a non-issue.
He rather confidently installed Win7 on it, played some tunes, and called the problem fixed.
I told him to reboot it a few times just to be sure. He did so.
The sound went out after boot #3.
Resetting the bios defaults brought it back.
He downloaded the bios updates and ran them, then rebooted. The sound was out again.
Resetting the bios brought it back.
Rather than say 'Toldja so,' I said goodbye.

Too bad. It had a nice screen and it was fairly quick, but I like having my tunes playing while I work.
Anyway, thanks for all the help and suggestions here.
Ed
Ed Howdershelt - Abintra Press
Science Fiction & Semi-Fiction
http://www.AbintraPress.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2754
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 08 Sep 2012, 12:58    Post subject:  

I bet I know what was going on... you bought this system used, right?

There are two batteries in every laptop, and one in every desktop. Most folks don't know about the extra one in each. It's a battery that keeps the BIOS working, and yours, while not properly dead, was on its way out.

That is a common source of BIOS corruption.

...oh, and the replacement batteries are less than $10 usually, although you have to disassemble the laptop to get to 'em. (Desktops almost universally use a CR2032 coin cell, although early Pentium 1 systems [and older] used a lithium rechargeable can that liked to go BANG! at the most inopportune of moments...)

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2012, 09:54    Post subject:  

[quote="starhawk"]I bet I know what was going on... you bought this system used, right?
There are two batteries in every laptop, and one in every desktop. It's a battery that keeps the BIOS working, and yours, while not properly dead, was on its way out. That is a common source of BIOS corruption.
[/quote]

Could be, I guess, but I did check the CMOS battery before I decided to let the lappie go. 3v, apparently good.
Doesn't matter.
I'm back in FL and the laptop stayed in Iowa.
Ed
Ed Howdershelt - Abintra Press
Science Fiction & Semi-Fiction
http://www.AbintraPress.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0761s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]