Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 12:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 08:21    Post_subject:  

ffmpeg working on Raspberry

'Drive' (a cloud dropbox from Google) does not allow me to access my own files. Why? The fact that I have no timer running means I am considered a potential hacker by Chrome. Setting the timer is not persistent. Barry has mentioned problems . . .

At the moment Chrome browser is crashing with four open tabs. When I say crash I mean no ability to use ctrl+alt+backspace - so until alpha 2 not sure how serious . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 08:57    Post_subject:  

tasmod wrote:
The binary is in the pet package in the Psync thread. You could extract it from there.

tasmod, I can't find the pet which contains the arm binary. I can find one for x86 and one for x86_64. Barry said Psync 2.8 is already in alpha1 so naturally I was expecting the binary is already inside the image file Rolling Eyes I may have to hunt down the package from debian squeeze armel packages Very Happy

EDIT: Am happy to report that after installing ntpdate from debian package ("ntpdate" is all you need) and choosing autorestart, Psync gets the correct time at next boot. Binary tarball is attached.
ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz
Description  Corrected version that will open in GUI. ntpdate extracted from debian squeeze armel package.
gz

 Download 
Filename  ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz 
Filesize  39.56 KB 
Downloaded  563 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 10:14    Post_subject:  

While waiting for Barry to release the next version, this is the corrected gtkdialog4 (this one is svn revision 320 - slightly newer than 0.8.0). You can use this to overwrite the existing /usr/sbin/gtkdialog4.
gtkdialog4.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  gtkdialog4.tar.gz 
Filesize  73.49 KB 
Downloaded  581 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 10:41    Post_subject:  

@jamesbond
it seems to me, that something's wrong with ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz.

Although it's ~80k, if I try to extract, it seems to be empty. I downloaded and tried it 2x.

Now testing gtkdialog Cool.

Thanks,
Rolf

Edit: gtkdialog4 works fine now, tested with PPM and WallRefresh. Very Happy
Small problem, e.g. Pmount has still reversed order, maybe this version is based on gtkdialog3? No matter, this is a big step forward Very Happy .

Thank you very much,
Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 12:36    Post_subject:  

After more experience with sap6-5.95, a couple more observations.

As rhadon mentioned, the drives attached to the USB hub were not seen (and no icons present) and Gparted did not work. But as suggested the addition of libgtkmm, libpangomm and libglibmm enabled both Gparted and the recognition of the USB drives and their icons.

The addition of the 3 libs with the Puppy Package Manager seemed to be somewhat of a struggle. Even after reporting that a lib had been successfully added, PPM did not give me an option of a clean exit from the process, but kept trying to download and install the library. I tried to stop the process with "OK" or "X" in the dialogue, but finally had to use "Kill" to get back control. I was not sure if the library had been added or not, and had to use "find" at the command line to verify its presence (it HAD been added).

The console seems to have lost its memory. I am accustomed to being able to recall previously typed-in commands by using the up- and down-arrow keys...this feature is missing. But I guess this is part of the same problem which has already been described of (the missing) ability of moving the cursor about the screen with the arrow keys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rrolsbe

Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 14:21    Post_subject: It is not gzipped.  

sh-4.1# file ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz
ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz: POSIX tar archive (GNU)
sh-4.1# tar -tvf ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz
drwxr-xr-x root/root 0 2012-07-01 21:31 usr/
drwxr-xr-x root/root 0 2012-07-01 21:31 usr/sbin/
-rwxr-xr-x root/root 78820 2010-10-17 21:31 usr/sbin/ntpdate


rhadon wrote:
@jamesbond
it seems to me, that something's wrong with ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz.

Although it's ~80k, if I try to extract, it seems to be empty. I downloaded and tried it 2x.

Now testing gtkdialog Cool.

Thanks,
Rolf

Edit: gtkdialog4 works fine now, tested with PPM and WallRefresh. Very Happy
Small problem, e.g. Pmount has still reversed order, maybe this version is based on gtkdialog3? No matter, this is a big step forward Very Happy .

Thank you very much,
Rolf
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rrolsbe

Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 14:29    Post_subject: After adding the 3 Libs and rebooting
Sub_title: Still not allowing me to mount USB devices??
 

dmesg shows the system knows about the Kingston USB stick


#dmesg
[usb 1-1.2: new high speed USB device number 7 using dwc_otg
usb 1-1.2: New USB device found, idVendor=13fe, idProduct=1f00
usb 1-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
usb 1-1.2: Product: DataTraveler 2.0
usb 1-1.2: Manufacturer: Kingston
usb 1-1.2: SerialNumber: 5B860E0000AC
scsi0 : usb-storage 1-1.2:1.0
scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access Kingston DataTraveler 2.0 PMAP PQ: 0 ANSI: 0 CCS
# lsusb <---No output??????
# fdisk -lu

mmcblk0 below is the SDHC Card, Kingston USB with ext2 partition NOT mountable?

Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 7822 MB, 7822376960 bytes
4 heads, 32 sectors/track, 119360 cylinders, total 15278080 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000ee283

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/mmcblk0p1 2048 155647 76800 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/mmcblk0p2 157696 7010303 3426304 83 Linux
/dev/mmcblk0p3 7014400 7538687 262144 82 Linux swap / Solari


quote="eowens2"]After more experience with sap6-5.95, a couple more observations.

As rhadon mentioned, the drives attached to the USB hub were not seen (and no icons present) and Gparted did not work. But as suggested the addition of libgtkmm, libpangomm and libglibmm enabled both Gparted and the recognition of the USB drives and their icons.

The addition of the 3 libs with the Puppy Package Manager seemed to be somewhat of a struggle. Even after reporting that a lib had been successfully added, PPM did not give me an option of a clean exit from the process, but kept trying to download and install the library. I tried to stop the process with "OK" or "X" in the dialogue, but finally had to use "Kill" to get back control. I was not sure if the library had been added or not, and had to use "find" at the command line to verify its presence (it HAD been added).

The console seems to have lost its memory. I am accustomed to being able to recall previously typed-in commands by using the up- and down-arrow keys...this feature is missing. But I guess this is part of the same problem which has already been described of (the missing) ability of moving the cursor about the screen with the arrow keys.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 15:49    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:


At the moment Chrome browser is crashing with four open tabs. When I say crash I mean no ability to use ctrl+alt+backspace - so until alpha 2 not sure how serious . . .

sounds like insufficent ram to me.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 17:53    Post_subject: re: ntpdate
Sub_title: it works
 

Rolf and others;

jamesbond's ntpdate does work but for some strange reason it wont unpack in GUI, you need to untar from the commandline:.
Code:
tar -xf ntpdate*
Run that in the dir where you downloaded it and you can unpack.[ EDIT: Now fixed Smile, will unpack in GUI] . Copy the binary only to /usr/sbin and psync will work.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gtkdialog

The following is for confident users of the commandline only:

For gtkdialog I'm going to clobber gtkdialog3 Twisted Evil . Slacko has lived without gtkdialog3 for nearly a year now with minimal disruption. Some programs need patching and when I get my real Pi I will endeavour to do so.

1. Copy jamesbond's gtkdialog4 binary to /usr/sbin overwriting the current binary.

2. Backup gtkdialog3
Code:
mv /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3 /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3.bak
This gives us a get out of jail card

3. Link gtkdialog4 to gtkdialog3 (gtkdialog is already linked to gtkdialog4).
Code:
cd /usr/sbin
ln -sf gtkdialog4 gtkdialog3
cd -


4. Check that it all worked
Code:
readlink /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3
readlink /usr/sbin/gtkdialog
Output should be gtkdialog4. If you get errors, retrace your steps.

Now gtkdialog4 will be used for all gtkdialog apps.

CAUTION: some apps may break.

The getout:(if you need a gtkdialog app that fails and can't fix it)
Code:
rm -f /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3
cp -af /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3.bak /usr/sbin/gtkdialog3

# retains backup

Have fun!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2187
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 20:08    Post_subject: Re: re: ntpdate
Sub_title: it works
 

01micko wrote:
jamesbond's ntpdate does work but for some strange reason it wont unpack in GUI, you need to untar from the commandline:
Code:
tar -xf ntpdate*

That is because in the spur of the moment I foolishly made and uploaded a "tar" file as "tar.gz", sorry Embarassed
I have re-packed the archive and is now the correct "tar.gz". It should now open in the GUI. The rest of Micko's excellent instruction still applies .

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 21:00    Post_subject:  

Quote:
sounds like insufficient ram to me.

Could be Cool

When the keyboard is working in alpha2 I should be able to close down a tab in Chromium and continue (rogue tab not taking down the whole browser is one of the Chromium features). At the moment the screen mouse pointer is freezing in the 4th tab sometimes,
Also I have run more than 4 tabs in Chromium in Arch Puppi or my early Debian pre-alpha. So I think we will have further improvements . . .

Some great info from you Qemu guys Very Happy

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 21:49    Post_subject:  

rhadon wrote:
@jamesbond
it seems to me, that something's wrong with ntpdate-4.2.6.tar.gz.

Although it's ~80k, if I try to extract, it seems to be empty. I downloaded and tried it 2x.

Now testing gtkdialog Cool.

Thanks,
Rolf

Edit: gtkdialog4 works fine now, tested with PPM and WallRefresh. Very Happy
Small problem, e.g. Pmount has still reversed order, maybe this version is based on gtkdialog3? No matter, this is a big step forward Very Happy .

Thank you very much,
Rolf


My ntpdate PET is here (40KB):
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/arm/pet_packages-armv6/ntpdate-4.2.6p5-armv6.pet
...however, that is included in alpha2, which is now available.

Puppy also has gtkdialog3, which is the old 0.7.20 version (prior to the project being taken up by thunor). Some scripts still use this old version. Alpha2 has the old gtkdialog3 fixed also.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 21:51    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Quote:
sounds like insufficient ram to me.

Could be Cool

When the keyboard is working in alpha2 I should be able to close down a tab in Chromium and continue (rogue tab not taking down the whole browser is one of the Chromium features). At the moment the screen mouse pointer is freezing in the 4th tab sometimes,
Also I have run more than 4 tabs in Chromium in Arch Puppi or my early Debian pre-alpha. So I think we will have further improvements . . .

Some great info from you Qemu guys Very Happy


I wonder if there is any way to configure Chromium to only open 3-4 tabs, no more?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 21:56    Post_subject:  

Alpha2 available!!!

Blog announcement:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02879

Regarding sound, this needs the snd-bcm2835 kernel module to be loaded. You can add this in the BootManager (System menu).

...after rebooting, well, we need to debug sound still.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2012, 22:35    Post_subject:  

The Raspberry has landed - in Alpha 2 on RPi hardware
Watching NASA TV (no sound) with Pup TV on Alpha 2

Changed icons OK and JWM setting
Text working OK - hooray
crashed when I ran video wizard (one of the options on the start up options)
also crashed when I plugged in USB webcam (no keydrive handy)
Clock is now persistent and only an hour out (rather than 40 years) Wink

Being a quiche eater I want to change the wallpaper - will have to do that with the screen saver (icon top right) for now . . .
rp1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.81 KB
 Viewed   1088 Time(s)

rp1.jpg


_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1218s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0157s) ][ GZIP on ]