pup-volume-monitor-0.1.15 and desktop-drive-icons-0.0.6

Core libraries and systems
Message
Author
akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#21 Post by akash_rawal »

The output is similar to one I get when I plug in my usb modem which also behaves like an optical drive. Yet when I plug it in, it is detected by the volume monitor and shown.

All I can guess is that /etc/udev/rules.d/50-pup-volume-monitor.rules could have gone missing. Don't know how it happens it has happened to me several times while working with autotools.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#22 Post by jemimah »

Udev events from other drives make it through - I can see them with pup-volume-monitor-admin -e.

I've attached the udevd debug log.
Attachments
udevdebug.gz
(4.84 KiB) Downloaded 1073 times
[url]http://saluki-linux.com[/url]

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#23 Post by jemimah »

It's definitely a packaging problem of some sort. I booted a fresh install on my development machine and it doesn't work with the internal drive there either.

I'll try to figure out what's missing.
[url]http://saluki-linux.com[/url]

akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#24 Post by akash_rawal »

Udev events are as expected. But what maybe going wrong is totally unexpected.

I am attaching modified plugins/cdrom.c with debugging code added wherever necessary. Hope it will help with debugging.
Attachments
cdrom.c.gz
.gz extension is fake, rename it to cdrom.c, replace plugins/cdrom.c with it and recompile.
(13.68 KiB) Downloaded 1091 times

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#25 Post by jemimah »

I'm not seeing the additional debugging output even on the working system. Strange - can't figure out why that would be.
[url]http://saluki-linux.com[/url]

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#26 Post by jemimah »

I changed the g_degugs to printfs and now I can see output on the working system.

On the nonworking system I get this:

# pup-volume-monitor

Code: Select all

pup-volume-monitor-Message: Config file for plugin libcdrom not found, it will use default settings

(pup-volume-monitor:15730): GModule-CRITICAL **: g_module_symbol: assertion `module != NULL' failed
What's happening here?
[url]http://saluki-linux.com[/url]

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#27 Post by jemimah »

Ok I think I figured it out. The existence of /usr/lib/pup-volume-monitor/libcdrom.a and/or /usr/lib/pup-volume-monitor/libcdrom.la seems to be crashing it.
[url]http://saluki-linux.com[/url]

akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#28 Post by akash_rawal »

Surely cdrom plugin failed to load with some error.

I agree there's a bug ahead leading to a call to g_module_symbol() even after plugin failed to load, but it should have shown the plugin path... :?

Code: Select all

// libpupvm/pupvm-settings.c:117

gboolean pup_vm_plugin_load(GTypeModule *module)
{
	PupVMPlugin *self = PUP_VM_PLUGIN(module);
	g_return_val_if_fail(self->plugin_name && self->plugin_path, FALSE);

	self->module = g_module_open(self->plugin_path, 0);
	if (!self->module)
	{
		g_debug("Module path: %s", self->plugin_path);
	}

	if (module && (! self->initialised))
	{ ...

Edit: I didn't notice g_module_error() earlier. I improved pup_vm_plugin_load() error output and fixed that bug. This will not cause plugin to load correctly but we'd come to know why plugin failed to load.

libpupvm/pupvm-settings.c:117

Code: Select all

gboolean pup_vm_plugin_load(GTypeModule *module)
{
	PupVMPlugin *self = PUP_VM_PLUGIN(module);
	g_return_val_if_fail(self->plugin_name && self->plugin_path, FALSE);

	self->module = g_module_open(self->plugin_path, 0);
	if (!self->module)
	{
		//g_debug("Module path: %s", self->plugin_path);
		g_critical("Plugin %s (path: %s) failed to open: %s",
		           self->plugin_name, self->plugin_path, g_module_error());
	}

	if (self->module && (! self->initialised))
	{
		//Load plugin's config
		self->cfg_file = g_key_file_new();
		pup_load_cfg_file(self->cfg_file, self->plugin_name);
		
		//Run the plugin's init func
		PupVMPluginInit plugin_init_func;

		if (g_module_symbol(self->module, "pup_vm_plugin_init",
		                    (gpointer *) &plugin_init_func))
		{
			plugin_init_func(self);
		}
		
		self->initialised = TRUE;
	}
	
	if (module) return TRUE;
	else return FALSE;
}

akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#29 Post by akash_rawal »

jemimah wrote:Ok I think I figured it out. The existence of /usr/lib/pup-volume-monitor/libcdrom.a and/or /usr/lib/pup-volume-monitor/libcdrom.la seems to be crashing it.
Updated to version 0.1.4

Changelog:
  • Now static libraries are filtered out while loading plugins
  • A few minor bug-fixes

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

#30 Post by peebee »

Hi akash_rawal
The following small test extracted from Frisbee funcs:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
MSG="Please enter the Password."
Xdialog  --title "Frisbee" --password --inputbox "$MSG" 0 0 > /opt/Pwireless-entry 2>&1
when run in check-mate V3 - Puppy latest LXDE desktop !
produces output in /opt/Pwireless-entry
(Xdialog:9249): pup-volume-monitor-WARNING **: Module loaded successfully
0123456789
that contains unwanted warning from pup-volume-monitor in front of the typed password.
Any ideas why this is happening - and how to stop the warning text being produced please? It is stopping Frisbee working correctly on check-mate.
Thanks
PeeBee
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#31 Post by akash_rawal »

peebee wrote: The following small test extracted from Frisbee funcs ... when run in check-mate V3 - Puppy latest LXDE desktop ! produces output in /opt/Pwireless-entry
(Xdialog:9249): pup-volume-monitor-WARNING **: Module loaded successfully
0123456789
that contains unwanted warning from pup-volume-monitor in front of the typed password.
Updated to version 0.1.5

Changelog:
  • Removed the debugging macro that was used to ensure that the volume monitor module was loaded

User avatar
Jejy69
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu 20 Jan 2011, 18:10
Location: Perpignan

#32 Post by Jejy69 »

Yeah !
Frisbee works ! ! ! You're the best! :D
Thank you for being so quick and efficient!

Thank you Peebee too, have reacted so quickly, and found that this did not work! Bravo! "GG" !
All my derived will be able to function!
I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite Linux distrbution on the Citadel.

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

#33 Post by peebee »

akash_rawal wrote:Updated to version 0.1.5
Changelog:
Removed the debugging macro that was used to ensure that the volume monitor module was loaded
Very many thanks - thought it must have to be something like that....
Cheers
peebee
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#34 Post by akash_rawal »

Updated to version 0.1.6

Changelog:
  • Fixed destructor calling in client module, may fix crashing issues with seamonkey (Edit: It works)

Igo AtM
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu 16 Nov 2006, 14:36
Location: UK

Issue with latest ver 1.6

#35 Post by Igo AtM »

Hi
I have been testing/using the volume monitor module since it first started appearing here and am much impressed with it as a initial implementation.
However I have recently uploaded the version 1.6 and I believe it started causing segmentation faults on my system. I have since reverted back to version 1.5 and have no issues.
being an event based issue The fault is some what difficult to pin down and is only ever reported as a simple seg fault. It would seem to occur most often when using a popup resource browser as a file system utility to a foreground app. The program will on change of browser window and subsequent save requests crash the parent window leaving no or little logged cause of the problem.
I am currently using Slacko 5.3.3 with window managers of compiz/openbox/icewm and pcfileman 1-0 and Libfm 1-0. I do not run a full gvfs as this also generated issues when run in competition with your event backend. My machine is a Dell Inspiron 1501 and puppy is run from an external usb hard drive. As I say puppy its self remains stable it is only the requesting app that crashes. Predominately Geany and Firefox but I notice these as I run the programs almost consistently.
I would like to be more specific in terms of logs of the issue but it is some what complicated in that to do so would require effectively disabling my set-up whilst using 1.6

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#36 Post by Geoffrey »

I tried the pup-volume-monitor-0.1.6 update in Saluki, as I was getting the browsers firefox and seamonkey crashing when mounting drives, but with the update gtkdialog seg faults on comboboxs so it seems.

I installed pup-volume-monitor-0.1.5 update, now gtkdialog is fine but still have the problem of browsers crashing when mounting drives, this is a random event, I can see no patten to it.

Geoffrey
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#37 Post by akash_rawal »

Updated to version 0.1.7

Changelog:
  • Fixed 'accessing destroyed object' bug (thanks Geoffrey and Igo AtM, the problem was reproducible in saluki 023 and not in slacko 531)

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#38 Post by Geoffrey »

akash_rawal wrote:Updated to version 0.1.7

Changelog:
  • Fixed 'accessing destroyed object' bug (thanks Geoffrey and Igo AtM, the problem was reproducible in saluki 023 and not in slacko 531)
Thanks akash_rawal,

That seems to have fixed the problem, I'll continue to test, though I'm sure you have nailed it.

Cheers,

Geoffrey
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

swap partitions in SDcards

#39 Post by mavrothal »

I can understand that may not be a very common situation (outside embedded systems), but pup-volume-monitor shows swap partitions in SDcards as mountable volumes both on the desktop and Thunar. This is the case in both Saluki and Carolina.
Also when an SDcard is inserted the swap partition shows twice both with the card name and as "mmcblk[0-9]p[0-9]". However, if the card is already in before boot, the swap partition shows only with the card name.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

akash_rawal
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 15:38
Location: ISM Dhanbad, Jharkhand, India

#40 Post by akash_rawal »

Updated to version 0.1.8

Changelog:
  • Fixed filtering of loop devices and swap partitions (thanks mavrothal)

Post Reply