Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 01:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-600 Final and 601 (July 2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 23 [332 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 12:39    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
(a) How should I do that?
I have a bookmarks-2012-06-03.json backup file

Use the same procedure.
1. Copy the .json file into /root/spot.
2. Run: chown spot:spot bookmarks-2012-06-03.json
3. In Firefox, go to Bookmarks > Show all Bookmarks > Import and Backup > Restore > Choose File
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3429
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 12:53    Post subject:  

I'm working as root...

But your instruction = "3. In Firefox, go to Bookmarks > Show all Bookmarks > Import and Backup > Restore > Choose File" did the trick.

Thanks you so much. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1401
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 13:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
Use the same procedure.
1. Copy the .json file into /root/spot.
2. Run: chown spot:spot bookmarks-2012-06-03.json


Or you can put your bookmarks file in the Downloads folder and start Firefox/Seamonkey. When Firefox/Seamonkey starts it chowns everything in Downloads to owner spot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 13:10    Post subject:  

Kirk thanks
I guess the FAQ tells it or you have told us in other posts?
This
Quote:
Or you can put your bookmarks file in the Downloads folder

Does that goes into the savefile then? While if I have such files on /mnt-system
then it is only on the HD and not in savefile?

Thanks to rcrsn51 for explaining the cown thing. Not that I can use it
I am not that clever but that where what I thought that Ruff-Boy needs to know.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
winwin

Joined: 01 Jul 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 14:41    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Sylvander wrote:
(a) How should I do that?
I have a bookmarks-2012-06-03.json backup file

Use the same procedure.
1. Copy the .json file into /root/spot.
2. Run: chown spot:spot bookmarks-2012-06-03.json
3. In Firefox, go to Bookmarks > Show all Bookmarks > Import and Backup > Restore > Choose File


ThanksI Follow your instructions, I can restore the bookmark file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 14:43    Post subject:  

I put the bookmarks file in Downloads then I try to edit it with composer then save the file in spot. Then I import the bookmarks file easily .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4239
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 17:00    Post subject:  

Some of teh problems and missings still exist with the GA version.

Anyone else noticed the "mount command in bash for CIFS resources" problem? Is there a circumvention?

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2089
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 17:21    Post subject: Fatdog64-600 Final (July 2012)  

I installed 600 final to the hard drive.

Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Memory 8167MB (153MB used)
Machine Type Physical machine
Operating System Fatdog64 [ae14ad5e68]
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Sat Jul 7 17:12:44 2012
Display
Resolution 1280x1024 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x300)
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation
Version
Kernel Linux 3.4.4 (x86_64)
Version #1 SMP Sat Jun 23 18:31:59 GMT 2012
C Library GNU C Library version 2.13 (stable)
Distribution Fatdog64 [ae14ad5e68]
OpenGL
Vendor VMware, Inc.
Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x300)
Version 2.1 Mesa 8.0.3
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
2943 frames in 5.0 seconds = 588.432 FPS
3066 frames in 5.0 seconds = 613.009 FPS
2845 frames in 5.0 seconds = 568.966 FPS

No problems.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.9 KB
 Viewed   1059 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 17:24    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Anyone else noticed the "mount command in bash for CIFS resources" problem? Is there a circumvention?

Please describe the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1806
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 18:16    Post subject:  

I had three lockups last night when using FD64-600, seamonkey version. It didn't actually stop working but it did slow down so much that it almost did. It also looked like it was driving the processor pretty hard too.

I think I may have been using seamonkey each time this happened. I have placed all of my profile files outside on /mnt/home/profiles/sm210 then created another profile in seamonkey to access them. Might this be the problem?

I'm not into this spot thing, I'm a root man that's why I use Puppy. I run as root and run seamonkey as /usr/bin/seamonkey not /usr/bin/seamonkey-spot

Edit: It appears it may be my new 3TB USB HDD. It doesn't seem to have the same problem with Saluki 012. It's a NTFS drive. Ctrl+Backspace and a restart of xwin cures the problem for a while, anyway. Any ideas?

Bugger, this is a show stopper.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1806
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2012, 23:36    Post subject:  

I have just tried to install LibreOffice using the installer.

It appears there are deps missing.

# libreoffice3.5 --writer
/opt/libreoffice3.5/program/../ure-link/bin/javaldx: /usr/lib64/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /opt/libreoffice3.5/ure/bin/../lib/libjvmfwk.so.3)
#

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1049

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 00:28    Post subject:  

im away from my fatdog system right now... can someone give me the output of the following shell command
Code:
strings /usr/lib/libc.so.6 | grep GLIBC

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1049

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 00:41    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
im away from my fatdog system right now... can someone give me the output of the following shell command
Code:
strings /usr/lib/libc.so.6 | grep GLIBC



Nevermind... I decided to ssh into my box and run it myself. Found out that libc is under /lib/ instead of /usr/ib/ like I was expecting.
If anyone is reading this thread is wondering...
Code:
GLIBC_2.2.5
GLIBC_2.2.6
GLIBC_2.3
GLIBC_2.3.2
GLIBC_2.3.3
GLIBC_2.3.4
GLIBC_2.4
GLIBC_2.5
GLIBC_2.6
GLIBC_2.7
GLIBC_2.8
GLIBC_2.9
GLIBC_2.10
GLIBC_2.11
GLIBC_2.12
GLIBC_2.13
GLIBC_PRIVATE


Kinda sucks devs are already making software to require 2.15, when most distros arent there yet. I know the newest version of Wireshark requires 2.15, and the last required 2.14. Oh well.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 148
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 06:18    Post subject:  

Hello Kirk & jamesbond

Thank you for this new Fatdog, it works well on my PC. I have set up two versions: one with the Xorg ATI stack and one with the Catalyst pet, to see which works best.

VLC on Fatdog is my best media player option, at the moment.

I was trying to work around a couple of bugs/features of VLC and I found a problem that is worth mentioning.

Panning is broken in xserver 1.11.x and 1.12

There is an unofficial patch to fix it but xorg don't seem to be in any hurry to do it.

I checked that panning does work in fd520.

This is just intended as a warning to any laptop users who might want panning.


I can adjust gamma using xrandr and that works well.

Could you tell me, please, whether creating a ~/.xprofile and putting the command there would conflict with zarfy?

Or is there a way of getting zarfy to do the job for me?


Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2134
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2012, 09:16    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Edit: It appears it may be my new 3TB USB HDD. It doesn't seem to have the same problem with Saluki 012. It's a NTFS drive. Ctrl+Backspace and a restart of xwin cures the problem for a while, anyway. Any ideas?
When you encountered this problem, after you drop to console, do "dmesg > dmesglog.txt". After you come back to X desktop, look at the contents of dmesglog.txt and see whether there is any worthwhile information there?

smokey01 wrote:
I have just tried to install LibreOffice using the installer.

It appears there are deps missing.

# libreoffice3.5 --writer
/opt/libreoffice3.5/program/../ure-link/bin/javaldx: /usr/lib64/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /opt/libreoffice3.5/ure/bin/../lib/libjvmfwk.so.3)
#
This message is harmless. Jim1911 encountered this before and I think I discussed this in alpha2 thread (I can't find the post now ...). But if libreoffice cannot start, delete this: "NLP Solver" and "Wiki Publisher" extensions. There seems to be some known problems with certain Java versions.

Q5sys wrote:
Kinda sucks devs are already making software to require 2.15, when most distros arent there yet. I know the newest version of Wireshark requires 2.15, and the last required 2.14.
I can understand if they require 2.14, that was released a year ago. 2.15 however is just released 3 months ago!

gcmartin wrote:
Anyone else noticed the "mount command in bash for CIFS resources" problem? Is there a circumvention?
Please move /usr/sbin/mount.cifs to /sbin/mount.cifs. Alternatively, use "mount.cifs" directly.

LateAdopter wrote:
Could you tell me, please, whether creating a ~/.xprofile and putting the command there would conflict with zarfy?

Or is there a way of getting zarfy to do the job for me?

LateAdopter, thank you for the notice. It is a pity really that panning is broken - it's especially useful for small-screen netbooks Sad
As far as I know, zarfy only manages resolution and doesn't do gamma. There is no .xprofile support in Fatdog, but you can easily create a script in $HOME/Startup to do the same.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 23 [332 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1092s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0172s) ][ GZIP on ]