Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 23:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Basic Shell (Console) operation for beginners
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 23 of 24 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 649

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 02:47    Post_subject:  

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bakekoq

Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 08:42    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Copy paste from Console
 

Hello, I want to ask about how do we can copy paste the texts from console? I thought that we can right click after blocking the text to the notepad. but, It doesn't work. anybody can help me?

and also, how do I install my wireless? because, my laptop still don't detect any wireless extension when I type: iwconfig.


Thanks before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 09:33    Post_subject:  

highlight text and click the mouse wheel
middle button or both buttons simultaneously
where you want text to appear.

May take a few attempts to get the hang of it . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 667
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 09:41    Post_subject:  

@ bakekoq.....hello....

Quote:
Hello, I want to ask about how do we can copy paste the texts from console? I thought that we can right click after blocking the text to the notepad. but, It doesn't work. anybody can help me?

To paste into a text editor, after you block-select (highlight) your text, go to your text editor and press your middle mouse-button or wheel at the location where you want it.

For your wireless issues, may i suggest you post a new thread for that, because this thread is about console operations.

Cheers,
russoodle Smile

oops, Lobster beat me to it Sad

_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bakekoq

Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 09:42    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
highlight text and click the mouse wheel
middle button or both buttons simultaneously
where you want text to appear.

May take a few attempts to get the hang of it . . .

it's still not working, Lobster.
I try to click the mouse wheel simultaneously and also try to click right n left button but it's still not appear. I look up into the "edit" menu but the "paste" is still not activated/highlighted.
any info again?

@russoodle: hello.
hmm.. I try to abiword for now, and the Paste is Highlighted for now.but, after I try to click it. nothing is viewed. I don't know the reason why is it hard for me for only copying the console texts to Wine Notepad or Abiword. T_T

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 667
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 09:46    Post_subject:  

bakekoq, if you have a wheel-mouse, it should work just by clicking it to paste the text....the simultaneous left-right buttons are only an alternative option for those without a wheel or third button.
_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bakekoq

Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 09:55    Post_subject:  

thanks a lot for the help guys. I try it in wine notepad but it's not worked. but, after I try in Abiword it worked perfectly. So, I'll try to use abiword for the future to save the text from consoles.
@russoodle: I'll try to post my wireless problem after this post. Please help me for checking the log of dmesg or anothers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 667
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 10:07    Post_subject:  

Well bakekoq, why not use Geany for pasting text, as it's a text editor? Unless you're more comfortable with AbiWord, which is actually a word-processor.....just my preference, mind you..

Regarding output (log) of dmesg, enter the following code into the console:

Code:
dmesg > /root/dmesg.txt


That will give you the output from dmesg and save it to a text file in /root.

_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bakekoq

Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2012, 11:15    Post_subject:  

ok, I'll try to use Geany in the future. I'm still not familiar with linux and the programs here. so, I still don't know what's good or better for using. yes, I already post the log in the new thread. please help me for the future.

Thanks before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 667
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2012, 05:54    Post_subject:  

You're welcome, bakekoq....you'll learn more as you go along anyway Smile
_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
arun.gm

Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 09:14    Post_subject: Booting problem in Intel Atom d425kt motherboard  

Hello everybody

Puppy Linux installed from cd to Hdd but not showing desktop..

My Hardware details : Intel Atom 1.8, d425kt motherboard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3335
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 06:47    Post_subject: ALL THAT IS CHINESE FOR ME
Sub_title: sorry
 

Sure it's for the beginners ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
edu500ac

Joined: 01 Jan 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jan 2013, 23:19    Post_subject: Question about shell: Dead keys don't work in shell
Sub_title: Dead keys put accents over letters: ñ ã õ ê è é
 

I am experiencing a problem with shell. Many languages, like French, Portuguese, Spanish, German, Esperanto and Vietnamese, to name a few ones, add diacritical marks to letters. One can say that 4/5 of the world population speak languages with diacritical marks. The Chinese, for example, use a system, called Hànyǔ pīnyīn, with diacritical marks to write their language, and teach children the pronunciation of traditional Chinese characters.

To add diacritical marks to letters, keyboards have the so called dead keys. If you want to write café, or coup d'état, bon appétit, à la vôtre santé, déjà vu, you need dead keys. The problem is that dead keys don't seem to work on console of Puppy Linux. They work everywhere, except in the console.

If I try to use the mouse and keyboard wizard, I discover that Puppy Linux offer me only one option: No dead keys. I would appreciate if a member of this community could tell me how to activate dead keys for the console.

I tried to edit the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf, without success. By the way, dead keys don't work only in the console. They work very well for everything else. They also work inside Emacs. So, I am forced to use the consoles of Emacs (shell, eshell, ansi-term bash, etc.

It is interesting that dead keys work for Lucid Puppy, but not for the other distributions of Puppy Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 10:29    Post_subject: Re: Question about shell: Dead keys don't work in shell
Sub_title: Dead keys put accents over letters: ñ ã õ ê è é
 

edu500ac wrote:
If I try to use the mouse and keyboard wizard, I discover that Puppy Linux offer me only one option: No dead keys. I would appreciate if a member of this community could tell me how to activate dead keys for the console.

Unfortunately, this thread is not the appropriate one for your question. I suggest that you try posting as a new thread.

Re your question, I can't help you, but I do know there are a number of terminal emulators. For example, in Dpup Exprimo the menu offers LXTerminal and urvxt-unicode terminal emulators. Maybe try these and see if one does what you desire. But I think someone would know, if you post where they will see it.

Good luck! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Agnishom

Joined: 19 Aug 2013
Posts: 24
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2013, 08:34    Post_subject:  

Quote:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/dapper/


This Link didn't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 24 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0951s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0189s) ][ GZIP on ]