Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 Boots to a black screen
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
TheMurf

Joined: 20 Jul 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 11:00    Post_subject:  Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 Boots to a black screen
Sub_title: Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 Boots to a black screen after working for months. What went wrong?
 

I am running an HP Pavillion dv 1000 with various frugal installs of Puppy Linux. I've set up Grub4Dos so that I can multi-boot with windows and all these different versions of Puppy.

This setup has been working properly for me for months. I've been using Lucid525 forever with no problems. I have been using Lucid528 for a few months with no problems (well, except for the wireless internet not initializing properly sometimes on startup. But, a reboot usu fixes that.)

Now out of the blue, when I startup Lucid528, it goes through the normal boot process, then once it starts X, I get a black screen with nothing on it. No cursor, nothing. I tried booting pfix=ram and it still does the same thing. I even tried going back and using my old Lucid525 install and that one now gives me a black screen too!

Strangely, Slacko533 still works normally. Go figure.

Anyone out there have any idea what's going on here? I'm stumped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 19:00    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I tried booting pfix=ram and it still does the same thing.

Did you boot pfix=ram from the files on the hard drive, or from CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TheMurf

Joined: 20 Jul 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 19:10    Post_subject:  

Dewbie wrote:
Quote:
I tried booting pfix=ram and it still does the same thing.

Did you boot pfix=ram from the files on the hard drive, or from CD?


From the hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2012, 19:24    Post_subject:  

OK, try booting pfix=ram from CD.
Then you'll be running from CD to RAM.
If everything works OK, you'll know the problem involves something on the hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 14:23    Post_subject:  

For Lucid Puppy 528:

Could be the xorg.conf file is bad.
Try boot option pfix=nox
This should boot to a prompt.
Run Xorgwizard to make new xorg.conf file.
Back at prompt, type xwin to finish booting.

Maybe something corrupted with the Lupu_528.sfs file in the frugal install.
Try replacing it with the Lupu_528.sfs file from the Lucid Puppy 528 iso

Could be corrupted save file.
Grub4dos usually makes a menu entry, for frugal installs, that does a file system check on boot.
Are you sure when you tried booting with pfix=ram, that is what you got, not using the save file?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TheMurf

Joined: 20 Jul 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 15:04    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the great advice, guys. I really appreciate the help.

I tried booting from CD and I get the same black screen. I didn't use a save file.

Then I tried booting with pfix=copy,fsck,nox

It didn't find any problems with the save file on the file system check as far as I could tell. And it booted to the prompt just fine.

When I run Xorgwizard, it goes fine until I try to test the video settings, then it hangs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TheMurf

Joined: 20 Jul 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2012, 15:17    Post_subject:  

Update:

I tried the above steps and chose the VESA driver this time and X is working now. I never had any problems with the autodetected driver before. I noticed that it mentions there are more than one intel driver, so maybe it was the wrong one.

I went back and tried choosing i810 from the list, and it still works.

I find this to be strange. Why would the intel driver work for so long and stop working all of a sudden?

Either way, I guess the problem is solved. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0543s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]