Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 06:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
How to get back my Wbar menu entry?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
sarum

Joined: 07 Jul 2007
Posts: 59
Location: The Thames, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2012, 18:36    Post subject:  How to get back my Wbar menu entry?
Subject description: Previous computer had one
 

On a previous computer I installed Wbar and by going to menu/desktop/desktop settings I could scroll down to 'wbar config'(or settings); and alter everything - almost. 
I've now another computer; Ram520/160HDD puppy528 Full install with 1GB of SWAP. 
I've installed wbar and via 'open in text' I changed a couple of things; but as an old, long term newby I'd really like to get back to where I was, with a menu entry. 
Any help with this will be very much appreciated...........sarum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jul 2012, 15:16    Post subject:  

well, you can try, on your old computer, to go to /root/.jwm-menu or something like that...
it's the file with the menu entries...
you simply have to search for the menu entries created for wbar...
tell me your results...

_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jul 2012, 17:12    Post subject:
Subject description: wbar different versions
 

@sarum
You did install a similar version of wbar on the 2nd machine, yes? Old versions like 133 do not have the config gui, which I gather is what you want (as well as the menu entry for it).

If you have jwm on your 1st machine, then /root/.jwmrc will have the info about the jwm menu details .. look in /usr/share/applications for a *.desktop file (with * being something like wbar-config) for the file that makes the menu entry in most wms. Copy this *.desktop file to the 2nd machine (check the 2nd machine to make sure you have the file listed on the exec=<wbar-config or similar> line of that *.desktop file) .. refresh menu and you should be fine. fixmenus and reload for jwm, fixmenus for icewm, obmenu-refresh for openbox and so on - a simple fixmenus in console should do most common wms

If wbar has an icon/button for the wbar-config gui, putting it in the menu is a bit redundant Neutral (unless you only use it occasionally and would rather have it as a menu item instead of an icon/button).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jul 2012, 17:57    Post subject:  

i think he meant to say is that he had a sub-menu in the menu with all the configs...

but right now, i am not sure...

_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jul 2012, 19:49    Post subject:
Subject description: true
 

yah (the op is a couple weeks old, so he may have solved it already)

I think it depends on the package as to whether a dotdesktop is included (see my 3rd above for why). Heck, I do something similar with 133 and my aemenu for 5 basic variations with my usual filters. About the only thing I think I'm missing is an offset parameter and a few frills that came in with the 2 series (don't like any text at all with wbar so the old 133 suits me fine, config gui Razz imxho)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
espertalhao04

Joined: 11 May 2012
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jul 2012, 19:56    Post subject:  

i don't use wbar, so, i can't tell you much more...
i have implemented my own dock back, using 100% jwm code...
it' quite basic, and a bit hard to update...
but totally worth it!!!

_________________
asus a6000: intel m 1.6ghz, 2gb ram ddr, no hdd, usb 2.0 pendrive running puppy linux 4.3.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Eye Candy
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0522s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]