Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 01:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to change Openbox static menu to dynamic pipe menu
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 13:55    Post subject:  How to change Openbox static menu to dynamic pipe menu  

Here is a guide to turn Puppy's static file openbox menu into a dynamically generated openbox pipe menu.

Why would you want to do this?

1. remove the need for fix menus - any /usr/share/applications/ .desktop file added or removed will instantly be updated in the openbox menu.

2. Simplification of the openbox menu.xml file - for puppy this is normally split over several different files making it complicated to customize - now it is all confined to one file /root/.config/openbox/menu.xml file that is less than 50 lines!

3. Menu management - Sub menus can easy be added or removed in the /etc/xdg/openbox/obmenu/obmenu script.



How to use:
Download the below obmenu.tar.gz file and extract then move the obmenu directory to the /etc/xdg/openbox/ directory.

Then open a terminal and run the setup script:
/etc/xdg/openbox/obmenu/setup -install

Now you will need to comment out any openbox entry in fixmenus as they will over write your new menu file.
run command:
geany /usr/sbin/fixmenus

Towards the bottom of the file look for anything relating to openbox and comment it out with a hash # at the start of the line - then save file.
#[ `which obmenu-refresh` ] && obmenu-refresh
#[ `which openbox` ] && ob-xdgmenu
#[ `which openbox` ] && obmenu-update


To customize the menu layout / quick launch applications and additional pipe menus etc edit file /root/.config/openbox/menu.xml

To customize what menu entries are displayed add/remove .desktop files in /usr/share/applications/ directory
- or -
i included a simple terminal menu entry manager in Ob Settings > Menu Manager

To customize / add / remove Sub Menus edit scritp /etc/xdg/openbox/obmenu/obmenu

To revert back to your old menu setup run in terminal script:
/etc/xdg/openbox/obmenu/setup -uninstall

Warning this might not work or could even break your puppy openbox setup so use at your own discretion.
obmenu.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  obmenu.tar.gz 
Filesize  4.08 KB 
Downloaded  372 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4229
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2012, 16:13    Post subject:  

Thanks, stu.

Trying it now !

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ProgRob

Joined: 13 Feb 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 17:05    Post subject:  

Just trying this on Precise 5.5 and I'm getting a compile error. If I try to run the script in a terminal I get:

Code:
Can't locate feature.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/local/lib/perl/5.14.2 /usr/local/share/perl/5.14.2 /usr/lib/perl5 /usr/share/perl5 /usr/lib/perl/5.14 /usr/share/perl/5.14 /usr/local/lib/site_perl .) at /usr/lib/perl/5.14/File/Glob.pm line 7.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/lib/perl/5.14/File/Glob.pm line 7.
Compilation failed in require at ./obmenu line 116.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at ./obmenu line 116.

Any suggestion how to fix?

Thanks,
Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DNS

Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 02:05    Post subject:  

this is nice, but somehow when i shutdown puppy and log in back the application menu isnt working, i mean is gone. any solution to help me?! Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0534s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]