Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 13:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 138 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3460
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 02:39    Post_subject:  

1.
bigpup wrote:
I am wondering why this computer did not boot.
What is it?
Specs please?
Details of what happens when you try to use Lucid 528.005 on it?

(a)
Mobo = ASRock H61M-S
CPU = 2x Intel Pentium G620T @2.20 Ghz
RAM = 1 stick of 4GB 1333 DDR3
HDD = 250GB SATA; ATA ST250DM000-1BD14
DVD-RW = SATA; TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH222BB
Put together by my local shop, sold for £245.

(b) Can't remember the details, but it just didn't get to the desktop.
Probably due to not having the necessary drivers in the kernel.
Would need to re-make the CD and try it, if you need the details.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
feelsub

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 02:58    Post_subject:  

Quote:

Quote:
Where's the updated download link for Flash?

Update to all versions of Lucid - To install Flashplayer if needed, please update this GetFlash pet -> http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=74491 Or use Google Chrome which has Flashplayer built-in http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=630570#630570

Thanks, would be easier to add this on 1st page of this thread Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5864
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 03:33    Post_subject:  

Sylvander wrote:

CPU = 2x Intel Pentium G620T @2.20 Ghz


http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=8&sqi=2&ved=0CGsQFjAH&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.newegg.com%2FProduct%2FProduct.aspx%3FItem%3DN82E16819116401&ei=fdkYUJvHNI609gTFhoGQBg&usg=AFQjCNEkljDM6WLwblgtx_exhjKg2FZc6g

Those Sandy Bridge chips had graphics problems until some of the newer kernels.
http://blogs.intel.com/technology/2011/01/sandybridge_on_linux_-_it_will/

Even had problems with Ubuntu 11.04
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1817374

You may just need to stick to newer kernels with better Sandy Bridge support. HTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 09:03    Post_subject:  

Sylvander,

Thanks for the info.
The hardware target is constantly moving.
Just wondering why I can run Lucid 528.005 on a computer with this processor.
Quote:
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000

I am not using the processor on chip graphics.
Using Nvidia Geforce 560 GTX Ti graphics card.
I do have to start with option puppy pfix=nox and run xorgwizard, to use the vesa graphics driver. The NV driver works, but not many resolution options.
Have not tried to install the proper Nvidia driver, yet.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3460
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 09:32    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
we have had along and fruitful run but IMHO you should stick with Slacko and begin to customize it to your liking and make suggestions about its future development, software you want, and puplets based on it.

I think that's what I'll do.
I really liked using Lupu, but hey-ho, that's how it goes I guess.
"Onward and upward!" Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 13:51    Post_subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
playdayz wrote:
we have had along and fruitful run but IMHO you should stick with Slacko and begin to customize it to your liking and make suggestions about its future development, software you want, and puplets based on it.

I think that's what I'll do.
I really liked using Lupu, but hey-ho, that's how it goes I guess.
"Onward and upward!" Very Happy

My needs/wants are simple.
214X on this older computer, Lucid Puppy 5.2.8-005 on others.
That should last the rest of my life.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2012, 16:53    Post_subject:  

Quote:
214X on this older computer, Lucid Puppy 5.2.8-005 on others.
That should last the rest of my life.

On the same computer it should I agree. Sylvander got a new computer and Lucid did not work, so no help but go on to Slacko. Wishing you a long life--so I can see Lucid still used in 2050 Wink

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Google Chrome 21 for Lucid

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Google_Chrome-21-Lucid.pet

Flashplayer is built-in so no need to install it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5864
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2012, 04:12    Post_subject:  

New full install of Lupu Libre 528.005 on my Mageia 2 machine. Zero problems.

sh-4.1# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Lucid , version 528

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-86 Chip Rev

Driver used by Xorg:
nvidia

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

sh-4.1# glxgears
10190 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2038.000 FPS
10978 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2195.600 FPS
10979 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2195.800 FPS
10988 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2197.600 FPS
10976 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2195.200 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory : 3375MB (220MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 03 Aug 2012 03:13:27 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

sh-4.1# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 3375292 359196 3016096 0 45556
Swap: 4300792 0 4300792
Total: 7676084 359196 7316888
sh-4.1#

Still gets the job done....... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2012, 04:55    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Google Chrome 21 for Lucid
http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Google_Chrome-21-Lucid.pet


Oh yeah. Awesome. Thanks Larry!
. . . wait a minute I am a Slacko user . . . Embarassed
. . . only joshing Cool

I was very impressed with Chrome first on Jemima's Puppeee
and then on various Raspberry Pi implementations.
There was some new fangled only on Chrome option I wanted to try . . . can not remember what.

Anyway security enhancements, so tin hats should be happy Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2012, 10:00    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Google Chrome 21 for Lucid
Oh yeah. Awesome. Thanks Larry!
. . . wait a minute I am a Slacko user . . .

Version for Slacko too -> http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80019
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 10:52    Post_subject:  

Regarding the working of Lupu with recently MANUFACTURED PCs.

I think we found at the very beginning of the introduction of Intel I-core generation 2 PCs (Sandy Bridge?) that Lupu does not boot with the inbuilt Intel graphics. I seem to remember at the time that I said I was OK cos my latest PC is I-core generation 1!

It would seem from what is said here that I-core V2 with a separate Nvidia graphics card is OK, so it is just the all Intel case that is a problem.

I still love Lupu and will use it as long as I can where I can. I recently trialled Slacko 5.3.3 on my more ancient Laptop and was disappointed to find that the settings for the touchpad are still not set up to be as easy to get a touchpad working as it is in Lupu. I reported the problem and solution in earlier versions - easy to solve - nothing done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 11:26    Post_subject: Which computers do/don't work with LuPu  

Good morning, ICPUG.
ICPUG wrote:

(some snipping)
It would seem from what is said here that I-core V2 with a separate Nvidia graphics card is OK, so it is just the all Intel case that is a problem.

Hm, I will try to find out what my newer computers use.

I think the oldest may be the Dell Latitude D610 laptop - it has some kind of on-board Intel graphics. Oh, just remembered; it has a Centrino? processor?

And also the Dell 8300 desktop may have built-in Intel graphics; not sure at the moment whether I have a separate graphics card in it.

The Acer Aspire One netbook from a few years ago has an Atom N270 processor, and Intel graphics.

Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 works all all of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3460
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 12:15    Post_subject:  

Here's my new PC with the ASRock H61M-S mobo on which lupu-528.005 won't load.

It does indeed have a Sandybridge processor with "Integrated Intel HD Graphics".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 15:45    Post_subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Here's my new PC with the ASRock H61M-S mobo on which lupu-528.005 won't load.

It does indeed have a Sandybridge processor with "Integrated Intel HD Graphics".

I wonder what would happen if you tried to boot with option puppy pfix=nox.
Run Xorgwizard to use the Vesa graphics driver.

I am not 100% positive, but I think the big problem with the Intel graphics, built into the processor, is just a needed Linux driver that supports it.
Could also be an issue with the Linux kernel support.
I can say for sure, that a Intel i7 2600K Sandy Bridge, will run Lucid 528.005, if you do not use the processor on chip graphics, but use a separate graphics card.
I have not tried to do it using the on processor graphics, but it seems to be industry standard to support Vesa standards, with any graphics chip.
Seems to me, logic would say, the on processor graphics would support Vesa? What driver runs the graphics before X-server starts?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2012, 16:32    Post_subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Sylvander wrote:
Here's my new PC with the ASRock H61M-S mobo on which lupu-528.005 won't load.

It does indeed have a Sandybridge processor with "Integrated Intel HD Graphics".

I wonder what would happen if you tried to boot with option puppy pfix=nox.
Run Xorgwizard to use the Vesa graphics driver.

I


I had a similar problem trying to boot fatdog64-
Hp dm4-2070 laptop
Intel i5-2410m processor
Intergrated Intel HD Graphics 3000 w/1696mb shared memory

Jamesbond told me to try booting with using nomodeset This worked great. Booted straight to desktop

Don't if this would help in your situation but worth a try

option puppy pfix=nomodeset
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 138 of 190 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1360s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0425s) ][ GZIP on ]