Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 12:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to wake laptops from suspend?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2012, 13:57    Post_subject:  How to wake laptops from suspend?  

I used to use acpitool -s to suspend my computer puppy lucid 5.2.8.005, but now it will suspend it, but not bring it back. I have to reboot and enter xwin at the prompt. Might as well just shut it down everytime.

Has anyone had this problem? Is there some way a pet package could be made to suspend and restore the system for laptops?

Thanks, Mary
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jul 2012, 14:09    Post_subject:  

use the .pet from this thread, it's going to put an additional battery on your taskbar but it works really well:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=689623111&t=71599
although I'm not sure it's what you're looking for
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 17:45    Post_subject: suspend and hibernate
Sub_title: latest version of lucid or slacko
 

It doesn't involve the battery.

I know just a little about linux, not enough to really know anything.

I want to use acpitool -s to suspend my computer and then just by touching the power button once, have it spring back to life.

In the past, it has done this successfully. But these latest versions are working with acpitool as before.

Is there something else I could use like I used acpitool?

Thanks very much for the help. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 18:08    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Is there something else I could use like I used acpitool?
Try frost.

Type in console: frost
and you get the info of the usage....basically it is: frost -m
frost-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  frost-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  2.21 KB 
Downloaded  349 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 19:08    Post_subject: frost and acpi
Sub_title: tried with following results
 

With Frost:
frost -m this did suspend to ram, however when I touch the power button it acts like it might reappear, but the screen stays black and a dog barks. I have to restart the computer.

With acpitool:
acpitool - s I get the following error message:
Function Do_Suspend : could not open file : to suspend your computer you must have write access to /proc/acpi/sleep to suspend your computer.

These two items were used on the latest edition of Slacko.

Thanks for your help.
I use a Toshiba Tecra M9, 2GB of ram, 2ghz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 19:24    Post_subject:  

I think you should not press power button. But whatever button in keyboard. Otherwise....it works...or not..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2012, 21:00    Post_subject: pushing button other than power button
Sub_title: pressing any key
 

Nothing happens.

When I press the power button and it is suspended, it does come back on, because the dog barks, but there is no display.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2012, 03:29    Post_subject:  

That barking from power button probably comes from acpid pet installation. You have installed the acpid pet or puppy has the shutdown enabled with power button.

And if you suspend from console: frost -m
Does it behave just the same. Forget the power button, you seem to have coupled the frost -m command to the power button. Makes easier to understand your errors if you dont use it at all.
I have modified PupShutdown coupled with power button and sleep button coupled with suspend using xbindkeys.
But when I test suspending application...I test it with giving the command in console. Makes easier to understand does it work or not.

Next thing. You posted that acpitool -s used to work. If you boot your puppy pfix=ram ie fresh frugal installation, does the suspend work with acpitool -s or with frost -m ( giving the command in console and trying to wake it up by pressing keyboard buttons )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 18:48    Post_subject: I got it to suspend by closing the lid
Sub_title: the desktop appears after suspend
 

Maybe it is just my Tecra Satellite M9 laptop. I do not know why it works.

I close the lid and it goes into suspend, the little amber light slowly goes on and off. Then just by opening the lid, the desktop comes back.

I do not know enough to say why, I am just grateful.

Thanks to all of you for your interest and help in my problem.

I wish I was as smart as you, but at 70, there is not time left!

Mary Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 16:44    Post_subject:  SOLVED! thanks to all who help
Sub_title: frost -m
 

Thank you pemasu for your suggestion of using frost.pet.

I am using Slacko 5.5 now and installed the frost.pet.
I use the terminal to enter "frost -m" and it enters suspend and I close the lid.
Then when I open the lid it comes back on and I only have to close the terminal window! Hooray!!!!

I am using a Toshiba Tecra M9 laptop with a duo 2ghz processor and 3 GB of RAM and it works!

Thank you all!
Mary
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Les Kerf

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 206

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 17:05    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Quote:
Is there something else I could use like I used acpitool?
Try frost.

Type in console: frost
and you get the info of the usage....basically it is: frost -m


I have searched and searched to find a way to get my laptop running Lucid Puppy to suspend to ram, and this is the first thing that has worked.

Now, I would like to get it to suspend to ram when I close the lid like it does in Slacko 5.7 Cool

I am running a poor man's frugal install (booting with a cd, all files including save file on hard drive) of Super Lucid on an Acer Aspire 7741Z-4643 laptop. 3 GB of ram, Pentium P6100 processor @ 2 GHz.

I simply want to be able to close the lid and have it suspend to ram, then open the lid, press the power button, and go to work.

Thanks,
Les

Edit: I will try asking in the Lucid thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0660s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]