Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 06:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can't boot HD from floppy (repeat)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Trev

Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jul 2005, 02:23    Post subject:  Can't boot HD from floppy (repeat)  

Hi all
A few night's ago I showed Puppy to our Local Linux users group.There was a lot of interest in it and people were very impressed with its features, no one else had heard of it. I am sure quite a few will start using it now.
Any way to get back to my problem. I am not sure whether I am using this Forum correctly. I had one reply from Barry but no follow up to my further question. This is not a criticism I only trying to find out how to make sure that the thread is followed. Any advise on this would be welcome.
Below is a repeat of my earlier communications originally posted 21 June reposted on 25 June
Many thanks for any suggestions
Trev

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi I am new to Puppy, I have got it up and running OK on one machine.
However I have been trying to get it going on an older Pentium that has no means of booting from a CD.
The machine works fine on Win 98se.
I have loaded the Three files vmlinuz, image.gz and usr_cram.fs and set up the Pupxide file as per instruction.
When I boot from boot2pup.img floppy that I created. It goes through the boot proceedure and it find the above files on C drive OK.
It seems to get a long way through the bootup process but then I get the following message "PCI: No IRQ known for interupt PIN C of device 00:0a.2
Please try using pci=biosrq. hcd.c Found HC with no IRQ. Check bios/pci 00:0a.2 setup

Now I do not know what to do next ??? where do I try and set pci=biosrq
Any suggestions would be most welcom
Many thanks in advance
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BarryK
Puppy Master
~~~~

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 9:10 pm Post subject: Reply with quote
The floppy disk has the file "autoexec.bat", where you can add the "pci=".
I don't recall the exact content of the autoexec.bat file, but as I recall, tiny.exe was used, so there should be a line in there that starts with "tiny.exe ..... ".
-- insert your "pci=biosrq" at the end of that line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Trev

~~~~~

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 8:57 pm Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post
Barry
Many thanks for your reply
I added the the "PCI=biosrq" to the Autoexec.bat file as suggested.
But still get the same message when I try to boot
Any other suggestions on what to try
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jul 2005, 19:32    Post subject:  

The addition should be;

pci=biosirq

not pci=biosrq?

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Trev

Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2005, 03:14    Post subject: still not booting  

Hi Danleff
Thank you for your reply. I changed the PCI=BIOSIRQ as suggested.
This took the boot process a step further to the following statement
Process Swapper (PID:1 stackpage=C1173000
Then STACK with a whole lot of Stack addresses ( I assume)
Then a statement
CALL TRACE which produces a Continuous 6 column readout that never stops.
the format of these addreses are the same as the Stack ones mentioned above and look like [<LC0108C34>]
Have you any other suggestions of where to go to now.
Many thanks Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2005, 04:30    Post subject:  

This sounds like a real bios issue.

Just to check, the pupxide file has no extension on it, does it? It's just pupxide?

Can you post what system this is? How much memory?

Anyway, try taking out the pci=biosirq addition and replace it with acpi=off and see if it boots.

If this does not work, try turing off PNP OS in the bios. It is usually in the bios setup under PNP configuration.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Trev

Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2005, 04:52    Post subject:  

hi again Danleff
Thanks for you reply
I took out the pci= and replaced it with acpi-off but this still did not work.
There does not seem to be a way in the bios to turn off the PNP os.
The file pupxide has no extension. That part must be working ok as the bootup goes through the loading VMLINUZ & IMAGE.GZ OK

Below is the computer info as stated by Bellarc it is an Asus Tek PI-P55TPN4 computer with 96Mg Ram
In addition to shown below it also has a linux partition and a swap partition. The bootup went as far as stated in my first post.
Hope this is helpful
Many thanks
Trev

Operating System System Model
Windows 98 SE (build 4.10.2222) No details available
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
120 megahertz Intel Pentium Board: AsusTek
BIOS: Award Software 4.50PG 08/10/95
Drives Memory Modules c,d
4.33 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
2.93 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

MATSHITA CD-ROM CR-585
Generic floppy disk drive (3.5")

KINGMAX USB Flash Disk (130 MB) -- drive 3, rev 2.00
QUANTUM FIREBALLP KX [Hard drive] (4.33 GB) -- drive 0, rev A1S. 96 Megabytes Installed Memory
Local Drive Volumes

c: (on drive 0) 4.11 GB 2.90 GB free
d: (on drive 0) 214 MB 30 MB free
Network Drives
None detected
Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
No details available
None detected
Controllers Display
Standard Floppy Disk Controller
Intel 82371FB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
UStorage Device [Controller]
UStorage Drive [Controller] S3 Inc. Trio32/64 PCI [Display adapter]
Default Monitor
Bus Adapters Multimedia
NEC USB Open Host Controller (2x)
PCI USB 2.0 Host Controller
USB 2.0 Root Hub Device Sound Blaster Pro or compatible
Wave Device for Voice Modem (2x)
Communications Other Devices
E56K V90 Modem
E56K V90 Modem #2 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
Standard Serial Mouse
USB Root Hub (2x)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2005, 05:44    Post subject:  

Look at the main bios screen for

PNP and PCI setup.

Under PNP OS, change the value to "no."
Back to top
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2005, 05:48    Post subject:  

Oops! That was me.

Look at the main bios screen for

PNP and PCI setup.

Under PNP OS, change the value to "no."

Save the changes (F10) and allow a reboot.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Trev

Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2005, 04:37    Post subject:  

Hi Danleff
I have been trying all kinds of bios settings but without any luck.
There is no way of altering the PNP OS yes or no within this bios.
I understand what you ment as I have altered this settin on other computers in the past.
Just to recap below are the last 8 lines after loading Linuz and image.gz into memory and before the bootup fails

Puppy is now running in tgmpfs ramdisk, mounted on /
Adding swap: 7992k swap-space (priority -1)
SCSI subsystem drives revision: 1.00
usb.c: registered new driver usbdevfs
usb.c: registered new driver hub
PCI: No IRQ known for interupt pin C of device 00:0a.2. Please try using pci=biosirq.
hcd.c: Hound HC with no IRQ Check BIOS/PCI 00:0a.2. setup!
usb.c: deregistering driver usbdefs.

I would be pleased of any other suggestions
Very many thanks Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2005, 17:41    Post subject:  

Sorry about that. I thought that I was looking at your users manual. I looked again!

Try;

linux pci=biosirq noapic

If that does not work, try again with:

linux pci=biosirq noapic acpi=off

Are there any USB ports on this system? If so, what, if anything are connected to them?

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Trev

Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2005, 03:05    Post subject:  

Hi again
I have tried both of your suggestions but it made no difference to the boot up remains as stated above.
Yes there are some USB 2.0 ports. I have tried loading Puppy via a flash drive. It loaded VMLINUZ & IMAGE.GZ from the flash drive with the file pupxusb and all loaded ok but stoped at the same point as stated above.
Normally during my trials there has been nothing plugged into the USB ports
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2005, 05:17    Post subject:  

Ahh...so you have an add-on PCI USB 2.0 card, as there are no onboard USB slots on the motherboard?

If this is the case, have you tried to manually assign an irq for the PCI slot that the USB card is connected to in the PNP and PCI Setup in the bios? This is assuming that all the PCI slots were set to "auto" until now. Then try it with the pci=biosirq addition.

This is a difficult problem that I don't now how to fix. Maybe Barry or someone else has an idea.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Trev

Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jul 2005, 02:44    Post subject:  

Hi Danleff
Thanks for that. You have certainly pointed to the reason.
So to proove your theory I removed the USB add-on card and low and behold it booted into Puppy and shows the Seagull window and other icons.. The mouse (serial) is not working for some reason. but it works OK with windows 98.

This is an edit. Since writing the above I think it is not just the mouse that locks up but the whole sytem as the keyboard no longer works either. So have to switch off to close down

The other thing is, that I do need to get it working with the USB card in.
In the bios PNP/PCI setup there are settings for the 4 PCI slots and the choices are Auto or 14/15 or 1. Do you think this is what I should try
Many thanks for all your replies so far
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jul 2005, 04:39    Post subject:  

Sure, you can giver it a try. Use irq 14 or 15. The reason for this is that the higher irq number should avoid any conflicts with other hardware assigned an irq. Of course, if you have this board maxed out with a bunch of ISA cards, then you may run into a conflict.

Just make sure that you pick the correct PCI slot to change the value for. I would try slot 3. Stay away from slot 4 (the last), as this is a special slot for legacy Asus PCI cards. Try slot 3, or one slot away from the 1st PCI slot, which I assume you have a PCI video card inserted in.

In terms of the serial mouse, did you pick "serial" as the mouse on boot when Puppy asked you what type of mouse that you had?

And the serial mouse is attached to the 1st onboard serial port? Not an add-on serial adapter?

If you run into problems and know how to use the device manager in Win 98, then you can view the irq assignments and make changes, if needed inthe bios.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Trev

Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 52
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jul 2005, 01:20    Post subject:  

Hi again
To answer your questions in order.
I have tried using irq 14/15 but does not work
The board has 4 pci slots. slot1 = video the others were empty except for the USB add-on card which i have tried in slots 2 and 3

I did pick serial mouse on original boot.
Serial mouse is connected to Com1

When booting without the USB card in, I don't think the mouse is the problem now as the whole screen boots up with the seagull and icons, but then not only is the mouse locked but so is the keyboard.

I have checked the assignment of irq in windows and one slot uses irq10 and the other slot I tried used irq12. But there is no way in the bios to select the irq number.
It looks like I would need to somehow assign the IRQ via the Autoexec.bat on the floppy while booting. But I have no idea whether this is even possible.
Look forward to any comments.
Trev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jul 2005, 05:06    Post subject:  

This is a real problem for this motherboard. I had one of these a while back. A real puzzler. What i did notice is that there is a jumper on your motherboard to disable auto irq and allow manually setting the irq for the com ports. These boards are very limited in allowing changes over and above the default number of irq settings and add-on cards.

Just how to set them all is the question.

I wish I still had it, so I could try this out.

If you are persistent, keep trying!

Hopefully you don't wear out the floppy trying all the changes!

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0698s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]