Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 19:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
xdialog and pupget
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
jus407

Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Posts: 177
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jul 2006, 15:51    Post subject:  xdialog and pupget  

ok i was trying to install some prgrams using pupget and i guess while deleting files off of the puppy version for a barebones version i deleted a file for xdialog becasue a menu comes up everytime i try to open pupget i can open dotpup fine but just not pupget? whats wrong?
the box that pops up is info on xdialog its not an error message it just has the xdialog info (who made it website commands for xdialog etc. etc.) how to fix? this is causeing me interfierence with my barebones version and making me mad. and yes xdialog shows that its installed but how can i install it again just to be sure?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
tybris

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 13:14    Post subject:  

I somehow seem to be getting the exact same thing after I remastered my Puppy CD to include devx_202.sfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 13:25    Post subject:  

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pupget_packages-1/xdialog-2.1.1.tar.gz

It is only 1 binary and documentation.
It might be an issuse with the bash, upgrade to 3.1:
http://htb65.de/puppylinux/puppy-releases/2.01/service-packs/Bash-3.1.pup

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tybris

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 14:57    Post subject:  

Installing the Bash 3.1 dotpup did the trick. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tybris

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 15:39    Post subject:  

Ok, apparently it didn't quite do the trick. There seems to be a problem with parameters. Bash 3.1 made the pupget script work because the installed-packages list is no longer empty. If I try the remasterpup2 script I still get the screen described in OP and the error message: "Xdialog: incorrect number of parameters in list !". I already tried upgrading and downgrading Xdialog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 15:47    Post subject:  

tybris

There might be another issue.

Pupget may work buggy, when Gtk throws error-messages, as Xdialog uses the error-channel to give back parameters.

This can happen when
1.) your locale makes problems
2.) you use an erratic Gtk-theme.

To find out the reason:
1.) if there is a file
/root/.gtkrc
delete it.

2.) run in a consolewindow:
export LANG=C
pupget

Does that fix the problems?
If yes, we might bugfix pupget taking care of these issues.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tybris

Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 16:08    Post subject:  

No change yet. I don't think the pupget script is the cause, I get it with the remaster- and universal installer script too.

This is the full error output of pupget. The other two have something similar:

Code:

/usr/sbin/pupget: line 645:  3752 Terminated              xmessage -center -bg "orange" -title "PupGet" -buttons "" "Processing, please wait..."
Xdialog: missing list parameters !
Xdialog v2.1.0 by Thierry Godefroy <xdialog@free.fr> (v1.0 was
written by Alfred at Cyberone Internet <alfred@cyberone.com.au>).
Xdialog home page available at: http://xdialog.dyns.net/

Usage: Xdialog [<common options>] [<transient options>] <box option> ...

Common options:
  --wmclass <name>
  --rc-file <gtkrc filename>
  --backtitle <backtitle>
  --title <title>
  --allow-close | --no-close
  --screen-center | --under-mouse | --auto-placement
  --center | --right | --left | --fill
  --no-wrap | --wrap
  --cr-wrap | --no-cr-wrap
  --stderr | --stdout
  --separator <character> | --separate-output
  --buttons-style default|icon|text

Transient options:
  --fixed-font
  --password (may be repeated 2 or 3 times before --2inputsbox or --3inputsbox)
  --editable
  --time-stamp | --date-stamp
  --reverse
  --keep-colors
  --interval <timeout>
  --no-tags
  --item-help (if used, the {...} parameters are needed in menus/lists widgets)
  --default-item <tag>
  --icon <xpm filename>
  --no-ok
  --no-cancel
  --no-buttons
  --default-no
  --wizard
  --help <help>
  --print <printer> (1)
  --check <label> [<status>]
  --ok-label <label>
  --cancel-label <label>
  --beep
  --beep-after
  --begin <Yorg> <Xorg>
  --ignore-eof
  --smooth

Box options:
  --yesno   <text> <height> <width>
  --msgbox   <text> <height> <width>
  --infobox   <text> <height> <width> [<timeout>]
  --gauge   <text> <height> <width> [<percent>]
  --progress   <text> <height> <width> [<maxdots> [[-]<msglen>]]
  --inputbox   <text> <height> <width> [<init>]
  --2inputsbox   <text> <height> <width> <label1> <init1> <label2> <init2>
  --3inputsbox   <text> <height> <width> <label1> <init1> <label2> <init2> <label3> <init3>
  --combobox   <text> <height> <width> <item1> ... <itemN>
  --rangebox   <text> <height> <width> <min value> <max value> [<default value>]
  --2rangesbox   <text> <height> <width> <label1> <min1> <max1> <def1> <label2> <min2> <max2> <def2>
  --3rangesbox   <text> <height> <width> <label1> <min1> <max1> <def1> ... <label3> <min3> <max3> <def3>
  --spinbox   <text> <height> <width> <min value> <max value> <default value> <label>
  --2spinsbox   <text> <height> <width> <min1> <max1> <def1> <label1> <min2> <max2> <def2> <label2>
  --3spinsbox   <text> <height> <width> <min1> <max1> <def1> <label1> ... <min3> <max3> <def3> <label3>
  --textbox   <file> <height> <width>
  --editbox   <file> <height> <width>
  --tailbox   <file> <height> <width>
  --logbox   <file> <height> <width>
  --menubox   <text> <height> <width> <menu height> <tag1> <item1> {<help1>}...
  --checklist   <text> <height> <width> <list height> <tag1> <item1> <status1> {<help1>}...
  --radiolist   <text> <height> <width> <list height> <tag1> <item1> <status1> {<help1>}...
  --buildlist   <text> <height> <width> <list height> <tag1> <item1> <status1> {<help1>}...
  --treeview   <text> <height> <width> <list height> <tag1> <item1> <status1> <item_depth1> {<help1>}...
  --fselect   <file> <height> <width>
  --dselect   <directory> <height> <width>
  --colorsel   <text> <height> <width>
  --fontsel   <font name> <height> <width>
  --calendar   <text> <height> <width> [<day> <month> <year>]
  --timebox   <text> <height> <width> [<hours> <minutes> <seconds>]

Special options:
  --version      (prints version number to stderr and exits).
  --print-version   (same as above in a cdialog-compatible way).
  --print-maxsize   (prints maximum menu size in characters and exits).

Note that <height> and <width> are in characters and may be replaced by a single
XSIZExYSIZE[+/-XORG+/-YORG] parameter (like the one passed in the -geometry option
of X) which will represent the size of the Xdialog window in pixels. Specifying
a size of 0 0 (or 0x0) will auto-size Xdialog, while a size of -1 -1 (or -1x-1)
will maximize it.

(1) This Xdialog binary compiled with: lpr -P<printer>
    as the print command. If <printer> is "" (an empty string), the -P
    option is not used.



Everything from line 3 also appears in an Xwindow with an OK button and a Print button. Pressing Ok terminates the script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 17:18    Post subject:  

the problem seems to be line 650 in /usr/sbin/pupget

Code:
echo 'RETTAGS="`Xdialog --title "PupGet package manager" --left --stdout --separator " "  --item-help --icon "/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/packaging96.xpm" --no-cancel --buildlist "Add or remove packages that will be in Puppy. For any packages that you choose to add,\nyou can choose whether to download the pkgs from the Internet or obtain them locally.\nHover mouse pointer over a package for further info. Packages are in groups:\nCore groups: CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, GTK1CORE, GTK2CORE, TCLCORE, QT3CORE, MMCORE\nAppl groups: CONSAPPS, [MM]XLIBAPPS, [MM]GTK1APPS, [MM]GTK2APPS, [MM]TCLAPPS, [MM]QT3APPS\nExample1: MMGTK2APPS pkg requires all CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, GTK2CORE, MMCORE pkgs installed.\nExample2: QT3APPS package requires all CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, QT3CORE pkgs installed.\nAny extra required pkg specified like this, for Gxine pkg: MMGTK2APPS +xine-1.0 900K\nNote: Only packages not in the live-CD are listed below. The official live-CD has most\nof the CORE groups installed. For the complete list, see /root/.packages/packages.txt." 780x540+0+0 0 \' >> /tmp/pkgdialog



Ah yes, that shows a problem, try this:

Code:
echo 'RETTAGS="`Xdialog --title \"PupGet package manager\" --left --stdout --separator \" \"  --item-help --icon \"/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/packaging96.xpm\" --no-cancel --buildlist \"Add or remove packages that will be in Puppy. For any packages that you choose to add,\nyou can choose whether to download the pkgs from the Internet or obtain them locally.\nHover mouse pointer over a package for further info. Packages are in groups:\nCore groups: CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, GTK1CORE, GTK2CORE, TCLCORE, QT3CORE, MMCORE\nAppl groups: CONSAPPS, [MM]XLIBAPPS, [MM]GTK1APPS, [MM]GTK2APPS, [MM]TCLAPPS, [MM]QT3APPS\nExample1: MMGTK2APPS pkg requires all CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, GTK2CORE, MMCORE pkgs installed.\nExample2: QT3APPS package requires all CONSCORE, XLIBCORE, QT3CORE pkgs installed.\nAny extra required pkg specified like this, for Gxine pkg: MMGTK2APPS +xine-1.0 900K\nNote: Only packages not in the live-CD are listed below. The official live-CD has most\nof the CORE groups installed. For the complete list, see /root/.packages/packages.txt.\" 780x540+0+0 0 \' >> /tmp/pkgdialog


I think that the remasterscript somehow did not use the new bash.
The command:
bash --version
should report:
GNU bash, version 3.1.0(1)-release (i486-pc-linux-gnu)

So we repair pupget instead.
by replacing some
"
with
\"

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 21:43    Post subject:  

Mark, I don't think the last two back-slashes are needed.
I reported this problem in my News blog. Unfortunately, stuff like
"text "text" text"
needs the embedded quotes to be back-slashed:
"text \"text\" text"
Even when we have:
echo 'text "text "text" text" text'
-- the single quotes mean echo as-is, so it shouldn't matter what goes between
-- I consider this to be a bug in 3.1.

It's another headache, it means that all the scripts in pup 2.10 are going to have
to be thoroughly tested.

I'm cheesed off because I've also found that the latest Xdialog v2.2.1 has broken a
couple of my scripts. Mutter, grumble...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 21:58    Post subject:  

Code:
needs the embedded quotes to be back-slashed:
 "text \"text\" text"


Yes, this is a "must" in wxBasic, Perl and PHP, so I wonder that your scripts did not use this convention in the past.
I would think it was more a bug, if older shells accepted the un-backslashed quotes Wink

Don't grumble, you do such great work Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2006, 22:00    Post subject:  

I think the last two backslashes are needed, because the closing Quote comes two lines later.
652
Code:
echo ' `"' >> /tmp/pkgdialog

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0895s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]