Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 14:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Internet connected but unable to download/browse
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 02:06    Post_subject:  Internet connected but unable to download/browse
Sub_title: Puppy 5.2.8
 

Hi
I am new to Linux. Just to avoid WINDOWS started using LINUX in my decade old P-II, 128mb RAM machine. Main purpose Internet browsing.
Before starting I have gone through Discussion Forum. Installed PUPPY LINUX 5.2.8 in NTFS partition, booting through Live CD.
Now the main problem is UNABLE TO CONNECT INTERNET.
I am using BSNL broadband in Semens modem which is working fine in the same computer under WINDOWS.
Network has been configured successfully in eth0.
Internet connected through Roaring Penguine PPPOE after setup. PPPOE status showing “Link is up & running on interface pppo.
But when trying to download & install any browser, pop up displaying “UNABLE TO DOWNLOAD PLEASE CONNECT TO INTERNET”.
Please help.

Rajesh Nayak
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 03:29    Post_subject:  

I assume you have done a frugal install to the NTFS partition and use the live CD to boot, because you have not installed a boot loader.
With 128MB of memory make a save file before you try to do any configuring or program installs.

When running Internet Connection Wizard, setup using the Network Wizard. Are you choosing auto DHCP?
network config.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   56.33 KB
 Viewed   466 Time(s)

network config.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 04:07    Post_subject:  

Hi
Save file created during first shut down & auto DHCP done during network setup.

Rajesh Nayak
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11121
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 08:37    Post_subject:  

Rajesh, doesn't Puppy 5.2.8 come with a browser installed? (Look in Menu -> Internet for it.) Most Puppys come with SeaMonkey as the default browser. The reason I ask is, what happens if you try to use the browser your Puppy came with?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 11:11    Post_subject:  

Hi
In 5.2.8, when I try to download any browser it say" UNABLE TO DOWNLOAD, CONNECT TO INTERNET" and 5.3.3 skymonkey browser say "UNABLE TO CONNECT INTERNET" . Though the PPPOE status say connected.

Rajesh Nayak
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 12:17    Post_subject:  

From the list here, which modem do you have?
http://calcuttatelephones.com/dataoneinstall/menu.html
Maybe a setting in the modems config that is blocking connection. Internal firewall or device block. Look for something like allow all devices.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Fri 24 Aug 2012, 18:45    Post_subject:  

To troubleshoot network connectivity problems, please run the "ipinfo" tool from the console or the System->System Status and Config->IpInfo network information.

This will give all the information you need to diagnose the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 02:38    Post_subject: INTERNET  

Please check IP INFO screen shoot
ip info INTERFACES.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   77.98 KB
 Viewed   214 Time(s)

ip info INTERFACES.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 02:40    Post_subject:  

Please check DSN screen shoot
ip info DNS.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.43 KB
 Viewed   208 Time(s)

ip info DNS.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 02:43    Post_subject:  

Please check ip info statistics
ip info STATISTICS.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   70.08 KB
 Viewed   190 Time(s)

ip info STATISTICS.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 02:47    Post_subject:  

PPPOE link up status screen shoot during connection.
PPPOE STATUS.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.79 KB
 Viewed   195 Time(s)

PPPOE STATUS.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 02:49    Post_subject:  

Download ERROR screen shoot.
DOWNLOAD ERROR.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   168.85 KB
 Viewed   197 Time(s)

DOWNLOAD ERROR.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 02:54    Post_subject:  

Screen shoot of PPPOE when stop command given.
pppoe STOP STATUS.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.15 KB
 Viewed   210 Time(s)

pppoe  STOP STATUS.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rajeshnayak

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2012, 02:57    Post_subject: INTERNET  

Hi,
screen shoot of IPINFO uploaded. Please check and help me solve the problem.

Rajesh Nayak
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 01:52    Post_subject:  

there is another program you can try.
menu>Internet>Frisbee Network Manager install.
This will give you the network manager Frisbee to try to connect.
It seems to work better on some equipment.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0732s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]