Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 15:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Precise Puppy RC2, October 20, 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 27 of 59 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 05:32    Post_subject:  

LateAdopter wrote:
Hello 01micko

if you do:

Code:
export vblank_mode=0
glxgears

Then glxgears does not run synchronised to the display and you get a proper number
Code:
# export vblank_mode=0
# glxgears
ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
8085 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1616.936 FPS
8093 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1618.583 FPS
8098 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1619.581 FPS


Thanks Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
LoboGrande

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 05:44    Post_subject: No Desktop  

Hello folks, I've tried several of the Precise Puppy Beta's and none seem to load the desktop. I get a black screen and an mouse arrow but no taskbar and it won't respond to keyboard rebooting from the Live CD.

P4 3.4 ghz/socket 478 with 4gb of DDR Ram
Asus P4S800DX mobo
NVidia GeForce 7350 PCIe Video card.

Works fine with Wary 5, Akita, Lucid Puppy 5.2.5, .8, .9
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 05:45    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Dell desktop
Pentium 4 processor
Nvidia nv37gl Quadro video card
precise5271-nopae frugal

Boots to desktop
Some desktop program icons missing or half visible
no items visible in menus
Some program icons in taskbar, but not all
The icons/entry's that should be showing in menu and taskbar. You can put mouse pointer at the location where they should be and left click will run the program that should have an icon/entry at that location.

Seems to be using Nouveau graphic driver.
Will not get to desktop if you select Vesa driver with Xorgwizard.


I wonder if it makes any difference choosing 24-bit rather than 16-bit color depth. Earlier JWM versions have had a problem in this area, I think the main trouble was with 16-bit.

Edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf, change the "16" in two places to "24".


It is more likely to be a nouveau issue in bigpup's case I believe. The symptoms are near identical to drblock2's (incidentally, it's with his help I came up with the nouveau_unload script in slacko development). I reckon the only way around this is to have it written in the release notes because nouveau has advanced well in recent times and it would be a shame to leave it out. Xorgwizard is *supposed* to work with it, I haven't tested this in Precise. At a guess nouveau would support 95% of nvidias quite well. Works fine on my 4 cards ranging from an old vanta to an 8300GS.

Those having trouble with nouveau (ie nvidia cards) could try puppy pfix=ram nouveau.modeset=0 at CD boot or on the kernel line.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 165
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 05:54    Post_subject:  

Hello Billtoo

According to Xorg your RV530 is supported by the r300g driver which has gallium 3D built-in

But in this puppy /usr/lib/dri/r300_dri.so is missing, while r600_dri.so is there.

I expect you could get it from the Ubuntu repo. Then it should work.

There is some r300 firmware already but I don't know whether it is complete.

A search of the Ubuntu repo for r300 would show you.

I expect r100 and r200 stuff also needs to be added to this puppy for other cards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 06:11    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Blog announcement, 5.2.73:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02976


Straight to desktop - working Cool
Trying to download xaralx with package manager (I also tried unsucessfully with 5.2.71) . . . The ppm is very slow (I almost gave up) but I now have xaralx . . . hooray Very Happy

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 06:26    Post_subject:  

DISTRO_VERSION=5.2.71

-OpenGL-
Vendor : Nouveau
Renderer : Mesa DRI nv05 x86/MMX/SSE2
Version : 1.2 Mesa 8.0.3
Direct Rendering : Yes

# export vblank_mode=0
# glxgears
ATTENTION: default value of option vblank_mode overridden by environment.
1063 frames in 5.0 seconds = 212.472 FPS
1068 frames in 5.0 seconds = 213.501 FPS
1090 frames in 5.0 seconds = 217.871 FPS
1088 frames in 5.0 seconds = 217.562 FPS
# report-video
Precise Puppy, version 5.2.71 on Thu 30 Aug 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
NVIDIA Corporation NV6 [Vanta/Vanta LT] (rev 15)
oem: NVidia
product: Riva TNT Chip Rev B1

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1360x768 pixels (359x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 16 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz

-----------------------------------------------------------

That's better performance than the nvidia-73 proprietary driver, although the card was in a different machine testing an old wary at that time.

------------------------------------------------------------

I have just compiled the nv driver and am about to test on this machine.

------------------------------------------------------------

Mixed success with nv
While it does work I couldn't get my desired resolution without manual intervention, however, mine is an obscure monitor with 1360x768 res, norm is 1366x768. Nouveau_unload worked as expected and rebooted to a vesa desktop. xorgwizard wouldn't select nv so I deleted xorg.conf and ran xorgwizard-automatic from the prompt.

# report-video
Precise Puppy, version 5.2.71 on Thu 30 Aug 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
NVIDIA Corporation NV6 [Vanta/Vanta LT] (rev 15)
oem: NVidia
product: Riva TNT Chip Rev B1

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nv

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1360x768 pixels (342x191 millimeters)
depth of root window: 16 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz


Here's nv compiled, --prefix=/usr --enable-xaa. Obviously no mesa counterpart so will use swrast.
xf86-video-nv-i486-precise.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xf86-video-nv-i486-precise.pet 
Filesize  90.26 KB 
Downloaded  132 Time(s) 
xf86_DEV-video-nv-i486-precise.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xf86_DEV-video-nv-i486-precise.pet 
Filesize  892 Bytes 
Downloaded  130 Time(s) 
xf86_DOC-video-nv-i486-precise.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xf86_DOC-video-nv-i486-precise.pet 
Filesize  3.43 KB 
Downloaded  127 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mories

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 06:51    Post_subject: 5,2,73 vs 5.2.72 on Mobility Radeon HD 5430 Series  

Same as 01micko, I find no difference between 5.2.73 and 5.2.72.
My report-video in both cases.
--------------------------------------
Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Manhattan [Mobility Radeon HD 5430 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: PARK 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1366x768 pixels (361x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
--------------------------------------------


As Barry, I prefer 5.2.73 because it's more "like" ubuntu-precise and only 2.4 M bigger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
feelsub

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 07:01    Post_subject:  

Precise beta3 on core5, 4gb ram

Seeems promising, but:

Bug: Gimp 2.8.x or LibreOffice installs correctly, but at run I get a :
Opening '/root/%U' failed: No such file or directory

Unfortunately, in PPM no simple image editor ( rotate, lossless crop, compress)
No : Picasa, gThumb, F-Spot, Gimp 2.8.2 (but 2.6.x and fails to run)
http://www.linuxplanet.com/linuxplanet/tutorials/7152/1

http://techcityinc.com/2009/03/23/10-best-image-viewers-for-linux/

I also regret the absence in PPM of Chrome 21.x
I didn't check about availabilty &run of photorec6.14, skype, openshot 1.4.x, mediatagger.

I would also head for ffmpeg 0.11 latest build ( has fixes for synch issues - some I reported - before official 0.11.2) as supports more codecs including wma lossless.

Thanks

In the meantime I revert to lupulibre528.005-2
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1465
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 07:11    Post_subject: kernel sources for nopae kernel?  

Hi Barry
Do you have a version of kernel sources for the non-pae kernel?
I've looked on your kernel pages and there isn't one there....
I've tried to compile a driver and it won't load due to a symbol mismatch which suggests that different kernel sources are needed.
Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
linux28

Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 07:30    Post_subject:  

Winetricks couldn't use Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2130
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 07:52    Post_subject: Precise Puppy beta4, August 30, 2012
Sub_title: beta4 5.2.7.3
 

Manual frugal install to a 4gb flash drive.

Precise Puppy, version 5.2.73 on Thu 30 Aug 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV530 [Radeon X1600]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RV530 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: radeon

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 16 planes

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
298 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.436 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.883 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.890 FPS

Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+
Memory 1554MB (90MB used)
Operating System Unknown distribution
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Thu 30 Aug 2012 07:32:42 AM EDT
OpenGL
Vendor X.Org R300 Project
Renderer Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530
Version 2.1 Mesa 8.0.2
Direct Rendering Yes

Hardware acceleration is working now, google earth and nexuiz run
great.

Thanks, Precise Puppy is working well now.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   72.23 KB
 Viewed   831 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2130
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 07:57    Post_subject:  

LateAdopter wrote:
Hello Billtoo

According to Xorg your RV530 is supported by the r300g driver which has gallium 3D built-in

But in this puppy /usr/lib/dri/r300_dri.so is missing, while r600_dri.so is there.

I expect you could get it from the Ubuntu repo. Then it should work.

There is some r300 firmware already but I don't know whether it is complete.

A search of the Ubuntu repo for r300 would show you.

I expect r100 and r200 stuff also needs to be added to this puppy for other cards.


Thanks, Barry has added the r300_dri.so to version 5.2.7.3 and it is working well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2130
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 09:09    Post_subject: Precise Puppy beta4, August 30, 2012
Sub_title: version 5.2.73
 

Manual frugal install to an 8gb flash drive.

Precise Puppy, version 5.2.73 on Thu 30 Aug 2012

Chip description:
2.0 VGA compatible controller
Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 1Cool
oem: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: intel

X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 16 planes

Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz
Memory 6087MB (102MB used)
Operating System Unknown distribution
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Thu 30 Aug 2012 08:37:54 AM EDT

OpenGL
Vendor Tungsten Graphics, Inc
Renderer Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Desktop x86/MMX/SSE2
Version 2.1 Mesa 8.0.2
Direct Rendering Yes

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
302 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.317 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.999 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.000 FPS

Google Earth etc are working great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1703

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 09:33    Post_subject:  

feelsub wrote:

Unfortunately, in PPM no simple image editor ( rotate, lossless crop, compress)
....


Download and activate the ubuntu-universe repo that is not included in 5.2.7x. Has most of these.
BTW you may want to inactivate one of the activated repos since PPM has trouble handling more than 5.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 165
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 10:52    Post_subject: Merging Precise-Updates  

I failed the intelligence test on merging precise-updates in the Package Manager

When doing an update it asks whether you want to merge and says Enter to decline. But I couldn't work out what to do to accept.

I ended up with separate databases for the updates.

The trouble is that, if you want to install from the update, the package manager only offers local files and not the repo.

Any suggestion as to how I accept merging the databases?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 59 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 57, 58, 59 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1156s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0178s) ][ GZIP on ]