Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 23:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko wouldn't shutdown so I transferred the Save file
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3452
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 08 Sep 2012, 04:54    Post subject:  Slacko wouldn't shutdown so I transferred the Save file
Subject description: Save file transfered from USB to another USB (slacko 5.3.3 installed on)
 

Slacko 5.3.2.4 does not shut down so i have made that :
Save file transfered from USB to another USB (slacko 5.3.3 installed on)

And using the save file with the Slacko USB 5.3.3 ( Slacko 5.3.3 updates the save file 5.3.2.4 to 5.3.3 when loading it) all is OK.

Firstly i thought pendrive EMTEC was bad. I was wrong (Pub !)

Last edited by Pelo on Sat 08 Nov 2014, 04:27; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4468
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 08 Sep 2012, 11:58    Post subject: Re: Slacko 5.3.2.4 does not shut down
Subject description: Save file transfered from USB to another USB (slako 5.3.3 installed on)
 

Pelo wrote:
Slacko 5.3.2.4 does not shut down so i have made that :
Save file transfered from USB to another USB (slacko 5.3.3 installed on)

And using the save file with the Slacko USB 5.3.3 ( Slacko 5.3.3 updates the save file 5.3.2.4 to 5.3.3 when loading it) all is OK.

This bug appears now more and more often.


Hi, Pélo.

Thanks for your report. It's good to know.

About:
> This bug appears now more and more often.
That is sad indeed...

Best regards.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 08 Sep 2012, 12:45    Post subject: Re: Slacko 5.3.2.4 does not shut down
Subject description: Save file transfered from USB to another USB (slako 5.3.3 installed on)
 

musher0 wrote:
Pelo wrote:
Slacko 5.3.2.4 does not shut down so i have made that :
Save file transfered from USB to another USB (slacko 5.3.3 installed on)

And using the save file with the Slacko USB 5.3.3 ( Slacko 5.3.3 updates the save file 5.3.2.4 to 5.3.3 when loading it) all is OK.

This bug appears now more and more often.


Hi, Pélo.

Thanks for your report. It's good to know.

About:
> This bug appears now more and more often.
That is sad indeed...

Best regards.


read here about recent fixes to rc.shutdown :
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02633
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02697
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02789
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02831

Slacko is woof2 latest normally so should have the embedded fixes .

My current Dell won't reboot with kernels later=2.6.37.x so I stick with 2.6.30.x .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3452
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 08 Nov 2014, 04:33    Post subject: wmpoweroff wmreboot wmexit  

#killall X #default is SIGTERM.
#sleep 1 #v1.0.7
#exec killall -9 X #v1.0.7 make sure X is killed.
Activate lines by removing # (wmpoweroff wmreboot wmexit) is it the solution ?

_________________
Puppy, buitin power in Paris Eiffel tower
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 15 Dec 2014, 13:00    Post subject:  

There is a problem if the user runs xwin fvwm from the prompt !

xwin scripts writes fvwm to /etc/windowmanager .

.xinitrc in $HOME runs as last attempt some windowmanager, the
creator decides to be default ( usually jwm ) .

IF IF IF exec which $CURRENTWM fails !!

and CURRENTWM is the entry in /etc/windowmanager .

But when exec jwm as last line of .xinitrc, /etc/windowmanager does not get updated .

But all /usr/bin/wm* scripts read /etc/windowmanager too
and kill the entry in /etc/windowmanager .

But the /etc/windowmanager is not running , but the last fallback without updating /etc/windowmanger .

IF IF IF the /etc/windowmanager would be running, everzthing would be fine and .xinitrc finishing and thus xinit also .

xinit finishes also if X is killed .

PROBLEM PROBLEM PROBLEM : windowmanager entry in /etc/windowmanger is NOT running and killall $CURRENTWM does nothing
except producing error messages in /tmp/xerrs.log
like killall fvwm : No process killed ..

The fallback windowmanager (jwm) is still running and nothing happens .

.xinitrc needs some fixes to write the wm into /etc/windowmanager
it actually starts if the wm is not same as the entry in /etc/windowmanager

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4468
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 15 Dec 2014, 14:24    Post subject:  

Hello, all.

I know it is only partially on subject, but I'd like to report this, FWIW.

After running a few hours, Slacko-6.0b also has a problem if you go back
to the main console with Ctrl-Alt-Backspace. If you try to run htop from
there, htop doesn't show up, Slacko seems to freeze, with gibberish in the
1st line of the console.

Then, you can't do anything, what you type (such as F10 to get out of
htop, or xwin jwm to get back to X) doesn't show, and the Return key
only moves the cursor to the top and bottom left corners of the console.
You have to hit the reboot button on the computer to get out of there.

Best regards.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0627s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]