Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 12:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Greek Polytonic Keyboard Layout Bug on Slacko 5.3.3?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
paokman


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Athens / Geneva

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2012, 03:22    Post subject:  Greek Polytonic Keyboard Layout Bug on Slacko 5.3.3?  

I have a Slacko Puppy 5.3.3 save. I went to Setup / Mouse/Keyboard Wizard / Advanced Xorg Keyboard Configuration / Layouts / Add / Greek
and

Layout Variants / Polytonic

and used the alt+shift combination to switch between English US and Greek Polytonic.

Everything works, but, supposedly, when you push shift+either ; or ' and, after that, a vowel you are supposed to get psile or daseia, but that doesn't appear, although I have the proper fonts. The funny thing is that all the other accents (ᾶάὰ) and signs (ᾳ) appear normally.

Can you think of any solution to this problem? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Burunduk

Joined: 21 Aug 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 00:54    Post subject:  

This is yet another problem with the outdated symbol files in Puppy.

Try to edit the /etc/X11/xkb/symbols/pc/gr file in the Ubuntu way:

Code:
117,118c117,118
<     key <AC10> { [   dead_acute,      dead_horn   ] };
<     key <AC11> { [   dead_grave,      dead_ogonek   ] };
---
>     key <AC10> { [   dead_acute,      dead_psili   ] };
>     key <AC11> { [   dead_grave,      dead_dasia   ] };

(i.e. replace horn with psili and ogonek with dasia.)

Then choose a different layout variant, apply the changes and choose the polytonic layout once again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paokman


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Athens / Geneva

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 08:50    Post subject:    

I just did what you said and it works fine! Thank you!

ἀἁἄἃᾶἆ etc.

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1893s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1407s) ][ GZIP on ]