Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 04:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Serial Mouse on Wary Puppy 5.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
homingout

Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 15:35    Post subject:  Serial Mouse on Wary Puppy 5.3  

Hi,

thought Wary Puppy be meant as OS for older systems
but could not activate the serial mouse;

feature looks like blocked:
no hardware recognition or even no appropriate driver?

I think, this function should work for productive use;
even Win XP recognizes a serial mouse and allows to use it.

Did I make some mistake in filling in or handling the dialog box:
Puppy Setup -> Change the mouse and keyboard?

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2012, 04:14    Post subject: Serial Mouse on Wary Puppy 5.3  

homingout,

A serial mouse will work in Wary Puppy 5.3... I checked... but you have to set it up manually through xorgwizard. See this thread over here for more information.

Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2012, 06:36    Post subject:  

Xorg does not work with serial mice and usb/ps2 mice together . Unfortunately it is " serial OR usb/ps2 " and not " serial AND usb/ps2 " like windows DirectX .

Other than this, if you use an usb-to-serial adaptor, you need to link the ' /dev/ttyUSB* ' to ' /dev/mouse ' too . The setup-gui is not programmed for such case . the ttyUSB* device might show up using the
Code:
dmesg |grep -i ttyUSB

command from the console .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
homingout

Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2012, 08:40    Post subject: Monsie, Karl Godt helping in 'Serial Mouse topic '  

Hi,

thank you very much for good piece of advice on activating serial
mouse

Puppy 5.3 now runs smoothly on old system (ASUS PA5A-B board, K6)
the PS/2-channel of which is defunct.

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2012, 10:58    Post subject:  

@homingout: hey, just curious, what CPU and RAM setup do you have on that board? I can't find any info on it.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
homingout

Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 14:13    Post subject: starhawk: what CPU and RAM setup  

Hi,

it is ASUS P5A-B Board with AMD-K6-2 CPU (400MHz) and 385 MB RAM;

What surprised me:

downloaded Youtube-Videos run faily well but not Youtube itself, lol.

I use this old system for text collecting purposes mainly or as
authoring tool.

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 14:25    Post subject:  

That must be one slow box! I didn't think Wary 5.3 could even RUN on a 586 CPU (which a K6-II is)!

FWIW, I've got a Pentium II laptop that I'm trying to get a light version of Puppy 4.2.0 (it's called Puplite 5 and it's way awesome) to run on -- it's not really even light enough to tolerably run that.

I have to say I'm extremely impressed.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
homingout

Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 16:13    Post subject: starhawk: Pentium II Laptop  

Hi,

I remember having used SUSE 8 or DSL on such old laptops (230MHz)which were of good quality;
SUSE is gone and DSL(Damn Small Linux)'s applications which
easily and quickly could be downloaded and installed on the fly were
not uptodate then(I used to run Blender, lol).

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2879
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 20:31    Post subject:  

SuSE is still around -- check wikipedia if you don't believe me.

DSL just released a new version (thought they were dead & gone long ago, but I was wrong).

I used to have a big box (more manuals than software) that a college prof gave me probably about five or six years ago... SuSE Professional 7. I got rid of it when I found out that it didn't really support USB very well -- there is no autoprobe, and you have to mount/unmount via command line! Oh my...

Still, I'm impressed that you got Puppy working on that box. If you've any info on the specs of that motherboard, I'd love to hear 'em. I can't get gooooooooooogle to give me squat.

Er, just for the record, 385mb is a very odd RAM size. 3x128mb would be 384mb... next standard size up is no less than 512mb! I know you don't have nice enough integrated graphics to be taking up /that/ much space in there, they didn't have that yet. So I'm a bit puzzled there.

Oh, and BTW, the laptop I'm working with is a Dell Latitude CPi, vintage 1999. It's got 128mb RAM, a 4gb CF "hard drive" in an adapter card, and a 300MHz Pentium II CPU. Nifty feature of these is the modular bay system, which will (given the latest BIOS update) recognize bloody anything you can stick in it. I took apart a 24x CD-ROM module, threw out the antique drive, and stuffed a spare Thinkpad Combo Drive (CD-R/RW & DVD-ROM) inside. Recognizes as exactly what it is --a Combo Drive-- and it works a LOT faster than the old CD-ROM drive that was there before.

Good stuff.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0584s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]