Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 15:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
RAM issues with applications in Puppy Studio -anyone?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Maxei

Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2012, 08:31    Post_subject:  RAM issues with applications in Puppy Studio -anyone?
Sub_title: How much RAM is really needed?
 

Hello, I use Puppy Linux 3.3 RT kernel, from a bootable CD, to run applications like Pianoteq. Recently, I had to use Puppy Linux to open a (windows) program with Wine, called GraphPad. Although it works nice, the use of RAM goes to the roof if Graphpad Prism V makes more complicated calculations (such as duplicate a table and its associated graphs and stats). From then on, the system can hang, almost to the point that I must reboot. I think that GIMP would also will strugle with memory issues...need to check that.

I wanted to test if Puppy studio could handle computing things related to my work. The idea that Puppy Studio running in RAM intrigued me. Do I need "a lot" of RAM? My laptop is a Lenovo G465, with 4 GB RAM and dual core 2.2 Ghz cpu.

I noticed that even the Studio 13.37, where all applications are compiled to the RT kernel, always get all the memory taken; you can see in this video promotion, in the top panel, upper right corner, where the icon for system monitor gets all blue.

http://www.getstudio1337.com/watch-video/

So, how much RAM do you need? Can you use a puppy based linux distro running in RAM for heavy applications? Or this is only for "little" work?

I hope that developers of Puppy studio and Studio 1337 take a close look at it, or give advice on "recommended" amount of RAM. Since only modern boards support above 4 GB, my laptop is not gonna benefit, even if is not old (less than one year.
Ok, Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2012, 15:35    Post_subject:  

Dunno think Puppy Studio became a kind of " Commercial Os " . Check their support . " Announcer " is the USERNAME here now , can't remember his former username .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Announcer


Joined: 03 Jan 2012
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2012, 20:17    Post_subject:  

http://linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9996
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0444s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]