Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 10:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Got one mute Puppy here -- Compaq SR2173WM (Solved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2012, 00:19    Post subject:  Got one mute Puppy here -- Compaq SR2173WM (Solved)
Subject description: YAY SOLVED and i am an idiot for not looking in the BIOS...
 

Well, I want to put puppy on a nice machine, try one more time to get Mom onboard with Linux.

One problem: sound doesn't work. Onboard chip is an ALC888 courtesy of Realtek, Puppy refuses to detect it. Version doesn't matter -- I've tried Slacko 533, Racy NOP 522, and Puplite5 (the wary kernel one). This is when running initial boot (pfix=ram) from CD. I'd like to get this fixed BEFORE I run the Universal Installer, thanks.

This thread didn't help, either --> http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=640276#640276

I was stupid enough to want to put in a graphics card, and it looks like the sound is trying to pipe through that for some bizarre reason. Won't budge, either.

System specs:
AMD Athlon64 somethingorother+ (I don't remember!)
2gb DDR2 RAM (original 2x512 + aftermarket 1x1024)
160gb IDE hard drive (aftermarket downgrade, I stupidly sold the old drive, which was SATA)
ATi X600SE 128mb PCIe GFX card (Dell OEM to boot!)

That card has two DVI ports (one with a DVI->VGA adapter on it) which apparently Puppy thinks are HDMI and can therefore transmit audio as well as video. Hmm Confused wonder where it got that bloody idea, since it doesn't effing work.

Ideas, folks?

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz

Last edited by starhawk on Sat 15 Sep 2012, 15:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2012, 21:12    Post subject:  

Settled on Slacko 533. Installed to HDD. I can change that later if I have to...

Tried to install the Realtek driver. Of course it didn't work. Coughed up a lung to boot. Anyone care to clean the carpet after that one?

...er, does anyone anywhere have a *.pet for this thing's driver? I've used wellminded and it didn't turn up anything...

Crying or Very sad

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2012, 12:53    Post subject:  

A *.pet or assistance with compiling would be greatly appreciated here.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10927
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2012, 16:14    Post subject:  

I don't know anything about compiling or making .pets, but I can suggest that you try taking out the audio card and see if the sound works then. That would perhaps tell us something.

One step at a time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2012, 16:51    Post subject:  

There are two audio devices apparently in this system, neither a dedicated card.

One is the Realtek ALC888 on the motherboard (which is what /should/ be working and is not) and the other is apparently the graphics card of all things.

Yeah, I don't get it either.

The unfortunate bit is that the internal graphics are actually far worse than even the particularly low-power outdated card that I stuck in there. That's /why/ I stuck it in there. I can take it out if I don't mind being limited to YouTube's bottom-quality option for my video watching. I do mind that, so it stays for now.

...if only I had a PCI-Express video card with dedicated VGA instead of having to use a converter... ah, but they probably didn't make those...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10927
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2012, 23:00    Post subject:  

I meant take the card out by way of an experiment to see if the sound would work without it, not leave it out for good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 00:48    Post subject:  

I might do that.

...I'm pretty sure that ALSA won't change its config just from adding/removing hardware, but I'd like to have that verified...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10927
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 01:06    Post subject:  

Well, for a proper test you should boot from a Puppy CD with the "puppy pfix=ram" boot option. The Puppy CD then loads into RAM as a pristine Puppy as if you had nothing installed in your computer. Just one of the many advantages of Puppy. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 01:29    Post subject: Got one mute Puppy here -- Compaq SR2173WM  

Hi starhawk,

See the last post in this thread by Dave_G because it looks like he was trying to configure the same audio hardware on one of his systems. You could send him a PM to see if he can help you out or not. Also, I thought I saw a thread where someone had success with setting up this particular audio chip on Puppy 4.3 but I seem to have lost the reference in my searches Embarassed Anyway, if I remember correctly, Dave_G has run or does run Puppy 4.3 so again, it might be very worth your while to contact him.

Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10927
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 08:52    Post subject:  

If Dave did get his audio working, give him a dope slap for not mentioning that fact in his thread. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3355
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 10:11    Post subject:
Subject description: Solution?
 

I just found a post on another forum that may help.
It is at http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ubuntu-linux/100864-realtek-hd-audio-alc888.html
The poster that got the sound card working installed Wine and ran the Windows driver for the card installed and afterward, the sound card worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 11:48    Post subject:  

@Monsie: I'll send Dave a PM.

@8-Bit: wine is not an acceptable solution this time. I've never figured out how to use it, and I'm not about to start.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 526
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 14:06    Post subject: Got one mute Puppy here -- Compaq SR2173WM  

Hi starhawk
All this help and not fixed yet ! Smile
Quote:
ATi X600SE 128mb PCIe GFX card (Dell OEM to boot!)
That card has two DVI ports (one with a DVI->VGA adapter on it) which apparently Puppy thinks are HDMI and can therefore transmit audio as well as video. Hmm wonder where it got that bloody idea, since it doesn't effing work.

A few questions:

1. I have Googled images of this card & they do not match your descrption in that they only show one DVI socket plus a Video S socket. Are you certain about the model number?

2. What cards are listed if you press F6 in alsa mixer?

3. What happens if you disable the onboard sound in the BIOS?

4. Alsa can assume that anything with a sound chip such as a voice modem or TV tuner is a sound card.
What other PCI cards are present?

With regard to the level of help & speed of response on this forum you have to remember that some of us are so old that it takes us a while to get going. Laughing

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 14:54    Post subject:  

Unfinished business: have not PM'd dave yet.

@ETP: The card is a Dell OEM model of a Foxconn card. It is DELL part number 109-A26030-01. There once was a thread on my other forum, but it appears to have vanished into the mists of time.

I'll have to post you a photo, as apparently I've got an odd variant that is full-height with a second DVI port. (Or I got the part # wrong some time back.)

ALSA only recognizes the graphics card.

I don't know if the onboard sound has been disabled in BIOS. I'll check that.

The only other card in this system is a wireless NIC.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2755
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 15:13    Post subject:  

BIOS was set to "Auto". You can guess what that really means Embarassed

Changed the setting to "Enable". ALSA still doesn't see it, BUT BUT BUT the multiple-soundcard wizard does.

...so it works now!

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0741s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]