Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 23:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Trying to install Puppy with 128 MB of RAM
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
ravenxau

Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 18:43    Post_subject:  

[quote="saintless"]Instead of Swap partition you can use Swap file:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SwapFile

I used this method and puppy runs fine on my machine which only has 64meg of ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ravenxau

Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 18:48    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
.

I do not intend to use Dillo any time soon. (I'd consider giving it a second chance if the devs added support for flash and other, similarly modern things.) I will look at other browsers that are fairly full-featured but lightweight (QtWeb comes to mind), but Dillo is one browser that I will not use at this time.

-


no flash, etc.... is dillo's greatest strength - it runs great on low spec systems - if flash is required just try an appropriate version of seamonkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ravenxau

Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 18:49    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:

On the browser front, can anyone recommend a lightweight browser that is NOT Dillo and has most of the features of, eg, Chrome? I don't fancy running actual Chrome/ium on this craptop! Flash and the ability to display modern webpages in modern ways is a requirement. "Looks good" is a nice bonus. Lack of memory leaks (Hi, Firefox!) is a nicer bonus.


Opera, perhaps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 18:56    Post_subject:  

Try Classic Pup 2.14X
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42553
ttuuxxx likes to tweak programs down to the smallest possible usable size.
He keeps it updated.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2941
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 19:18    Post_subject:  

I've literally never had ClassicPup be faster than --or even as fast as-- Puplite5. The only two I've found which do run faster are TurboPup and (so far, on the CPi only) Akita.

That said, I'll try it, just for the sake of arguing. I cannot imagine that this will be a successful test -- if it works fast enough even to be usable, I will be extremely amazed.

EDIT: just realized it's 8pm here and I haven't had my dinner yet. Dinner first, puppy later. Sorry, guys, but I need food!

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 20:25    Post_subject:  

QtWeb has much to commend it, certainly in terms of load and rendering speed where, like Dillo, it is lightning fast on my 14 year old desktop running Slacko 5.3.1.

However. the download is 13MB v 0.7MB for Dillo 2.2 (an eighteenfold, though probably unimportant increase), but my total RAM usage has increased to 107MB v 51MB for Dillo.

starhawk now adds speed as a new requirement - I have no idea what the effect would be if I had only 128MB of RAM and a 384MB Swap partition, but perhaps he, or anyone, would care to test QtWeb v Dillo and report back.

I use SeaMonkey mostly because it suits my needs best, but Dillo and QtWeb render some three times faster. they also load from scratch about four times faster (which is unimportant because I have plenty of RAM and all browsers load immediately from being minimised in my tray).

PS I just closed the QtWeb bookmarks side bar and total RAM usage went down from 107MB (per the screenshot) to 95MB and that seems, to me, to be more than peculiar.
QtWeb.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.5 KB
 Viewed   401 Time(s)

QtWeb.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2941
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 21:58    Post_subject:  

ClassicPup results are in...

Not faster than Akita, possibly a little slower. Still no audio.

Dustbin time. At least all I wasted was a CD-R and some time.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 22:13    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
ClassicPup results are in...

Not faster than Akita, possibly a little slower. Still no audio.

Dustbin time. At least all I wasted was a CD-R and some time.


Get a cd-rw. Razz

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2941
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 22:25    Post_subject:  

Only place that has optical media locally is the almighty Wal*Mart.

They don't SELL -RW discs there. Only -R.

Crying or Very sad

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2530
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 14:44    Post_subject:
Sub_title: How do I make a swap partition?
 

Code:
mkswap


or

Code:
cfdisk


Keep on trying Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 15:06    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
ClassicPup results are in...

Not faster than Akita, possibly a little slower. Still no audio.

Dustbin time. At least all I wasted was a CD-R and some time.

I said try it. Every computer reacts, to different versions of Puppy, in their own way. Sound issues can usually be fixed with a little setting tweaking.
Your topic title is "Trying to install Puppy with 128 MB of RAM".
Now you want that and the fastest operating system out there.
That would be a Linux version that works only in commands at a Linux "Command prompt" and uses programs that are very simple in operation.
With program added features comes bloat.
Quote:
The result of adding new features to a program
or system to the point where the benefit of the new features
is outweighed by the extra resources consumed ({RAM}, disk
space or performance) and complexity of use. Software bloat
is an instance of Parkinson's Law: resource requirements
expand to consume the resources available. Causes of software
bloat include {second-system effect} and {creeping
featuritis}. Commonly cited examples include Unix's "{ls}(1)"
command, the {X Window System}, {BSD}, {Missed'em-five},
{OS/2} and any {Microsoft} product.

and any {Microsoft} product.
I like that statement!! Shocked Laughing
creeping featuritis
That's a good one too Laughing Cool Shocked Wink

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 15:33    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Dustbin time. At least all I wasted was a CD-R and some time.

Give it to a needy Windows user.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2941
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 18:45    Post_subject:  

The /original/ title of this thread, was more descriptive of what I actually wanted addressed. Re-read the first post and you'll see there are three questions. IIRC only one had to do with swap -- and that question has long been answered. The original title was something along the lines of "three questions regarding the infernal dell" -- I assume when I start talking along those lines, people know I'm mouthing off at this particular CPi. I've only made somewhere around a dozen plus threads on it Shocked

Flash seems to like retitling my posts, on the premise that people will actually read more than that before replying. The fallacy is that even he apparently didn't read the whole first post -- hence why the title is almost completely inaccurate. This is unfortunately not the first time this has happened. I think Flash is either a skimmer or a speed-reader who has not perfected his technique yet -- but then again, I could be wrong. I can't look over his shoulder -- he's half the country away in Arizona (I'm in NC) and my eyesight's not that great Wink

So should I persist with an incorrect but mod-assigned title and deal with the assumptions of people who jump right in having read only the title and maybe a few posts, or do I re-title it myself the way it should be -- and risk mod-wrath and possibly a ban?

You tell me.

EDIT: I was wrong. Two questions of the three deal with swap. I'll repeat all three here for clarity's sake since I tend to be a bit of a windbag.

(1) Full install of Puplite5 on an ext3 f/s partition does not seem to function. It only mounts "read-only" even though it's not supposed to and, upon attempting to boot, errors out almost instantly. Why does this happen?
(2) Is it safe to put swap on flash-based media such as a CF card? [SOLVED -- the answer is "yes".]
(3) Versions of Puppy roughly 511 and earlier have a bug in Gparted that prevents swap space from being correctly created. Any attempt results in an unusable unoccupied partition with an "unknown filesystem". Why is this?

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11121
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 21:34    Post_subject:  

I read enough of the first post to see that you asked three questions. That's bad form in a forum like this, as it "braids" the resulting thread, making it hard for anyone to follow - either someone who's trying to help or someone who's looking for an answer. It's better to make each thread about only one subject. So I picked the question in your first post that seemed dominant and made the subject line about that.



P.S. By the way you do know that you can edit your posts, including their subject lines? When thinking up a subject line, consider that people might misunderstand it. Remember, they don't know what you know. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2941
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 18 Sep 2012, 22:08    Post_subject:  

OK, since you're the expert...

Which of these three would have been the best option?
(1) Make one thread about the three issues, in the Beginners Help section.
(2) Make THREE threads, each with a different issue, in the Beginners Help section.
(3) Make THREE threads, and place them in other sections of the forum (please specify locations).
(4) Other, please specify.

You tell me and I'll try to remember for next time. What I wanted to do, was make things a little easier for you by not cluttering up the place with umpteen billions of threads. I've had more than a few regarding this craptop, and I didn't want to increase that threadcount by much -- there's a fine line between "asking a couple questions" and "spamming the forum".

...and I'm fully aware of the ability to edit my own titles. I just didn't want to edit /your/ edit and tick you off even more. Last thing I ever want is a ban. Been there (on another forum), done that -- and it wasn't pretty. Bans cut me off from people I like.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0898s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]