Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 05:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Dpup Wheezy. Woof-CE built debian wheezy 7.2 packages used
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 46 [690 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 753
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 08:40    Post subject:  

Trying Wheezy 3.5.2.1 on my old desktop.

Also finding that internet does not auto connect but it will work if I use Network Wizard to configure manually.

This machine has no ethernet port so I use a USB to ethernet converter which auto connects and works on other puppies.

I am not sure where I should look for clues as to what the problem is. I will play with it for a bit and maybe something will come to me.

I will test Wheezy on my other computers later.

Edit - Even once it is configured, if I right-click on the network icon in the tray it does strange things. The menu flashes up and then the DHCP progress bar from Network Wizard and the connection is lost again. Menu stays on screen if I hold down the right-click mouse button.

Also, boot manager sfs loader does not want to load the devx. Load-on-the-fly seems to have worked though.

libavcodec (from ffmpeg) headers and DEV libs not included?

_________________
Oscar in England


Last edited by OscarTalks on Thu 30 Aug 2012, 11:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1469
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 11:00    Post subject: Re: networking autoconnect  

majorfoo via PM wrote:
As previously stated, most puppies i try out auto connect to internet on bootup from live cd. Again most, not all.
Thanks, majorfoo, for the diag file. I see you have 2 ethernet cards but no wireless.

pupscan listing:
    DESCRIPTION: Ethernet controller: ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100
    VENDOR: 1317 DEVICE: 0985
    KERNEL MODULE: tulip

    DESCRIPTION: Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82562EZ 10/100 Ethernet Controller
    VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 1050
    KERNEL MODULE: e100
ifconfig shows no ethernet connections.

bootsysinit.log:
    cheching if interface eth0 is alive...
    . . .
    interface eth0 does not seem to be plugged in... skipping
    configuring network interface eth1
    interface eth1 has not been configured... skipping

System message log:
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.warn kernel: [ 0.122824] pci 0000:01:08.0: Firmware left e100 interrupts enabled; disabling
    . . .
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.info kernel: [ 78.743035] e100: Intel(R) PRO/100 Network Driver, 3.5.24-k2-NAPI
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.info kernel: [ 78.743041] e100: Copyright(c) 1999-2006 Intel Corporation
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.info kernel: [ 78.793791] e100 0000:01:08.0: eth0: addr 0xfe5ff000, irq 9, MAC addr 00:0f:fe:30:99:f8
    . . .
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.info kernel: [ 79.701093] tulip: Linux Tulip driver version 1.1.15-NAPI (Feb 27, 2007)
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.info kernel: [ 79.701743] tulip: tulip_init_one: Enabled WOL support for AN983B
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.info kernel: [ 79.702081] tulip0: MII transceiver #1 config 1000 status 786d advertising 05e1
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.info kernel: [ 79.714887] net eth1: ADMtek Comet rev 17 at MMIO 0xfe5efc00, 00:1e:e5:d8:a8:37, IRQ 17
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.debug kernel: [ 79.984742] tulip 0000:01:02.0: eth1: tulip_stop_rxtx() failed (CSR5 0xfc06c012 CSR6 0xff970111)
    Aug 30 08:28:11 puppypc5946 user.debug kernel: [ 80.175822] tulip 0000:01:02.0: eth1: tulip_stop_rxtx() failed (CSR5 0xfc06c012 CSR6 0xff970111)

preference.log:
    17:28:05.313 8023 tulip - Retained (tulip:dmfe)

This tells me that tulip (eth1) was delayed by 1 second before loading. Otherwise, the new module loader script did nothing special. So, the e100 (eth0) device was unaffected by my fix/experiment. I hope the above message log will be meaningful to someone.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 13:00    Post subject:  

Thanks rerwin. No insight so far. Could the new udev from debian give hiccups...Can it be something in the kernel...I really dont know. I might test with Barry`s older udev also. Hit and run research. I hate it but I dont have explanation yet.
I am bit busy next 4-5 days. There is again big canoe race and I will be on the safe boat saturday and sunday whole day and will be exhausted after that. Then I have again some projects which takes my time. But I will read murga-forum now...and then....then I should have more time again.

Barry Kauler`s latest woof version of PPM is badly broken. It has his new dependency checking mechanish which causes hanging. If you have whole day time to install one package, then you might call it working.
It didnt work for me at all and it seems 01micko has serious problems with it in latest Precise Puppies. I had to use older version in this Dpup Wheezy version. I am sure Barry has noticed the feedback already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 14:04    Post subject:  

pemasu:

Did a usb install.
No issue with internet connection. Found my wl driver and connected no problem.
No issue with mplayer working perfectly.

Issues:
It failed to save changes to save file
On shutdown:
It tells me it is saving changes.
On bootup:
Each time I boot it tells me that next boot will be faster so any icons I have put on the desktop disappear.

No response to desktop icons write,calc,email, chat and no menu entry either.
No response to desktop icon play but works from menu.

Keep up the good work.
irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 14:22    Post subject: cups
Subject description: version
 

Hi pemasu,
trying to use my langpack here which has support for cups 1.3.1, 1.4.8 and 1.5.4 (downloaded from cups)
But here is
Quote:
# cups-config --version
1.5.3
#
and cups is english only.
http://www.cups.org/software.php does NOT have 1.5.3
I am a bit helpless now Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 14:31    Post subject: Re: networking autoconnect  

rerwin wrote:
majorfoo via PM wrote:
As previously stated, most puppies i try out auto connect to internet on bootup from live cd. Again most, not all.
Thanks, majorfoo, for the diag file. I see you have 2 ethernet cards but no wireless.
Richard


I removed card for eth1 and am now using eth0, which is on the motherboard.
Now boots to desktop with internet auto connected.

This solves my problem. Thanks for your assistance..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 15:04    Post subject:  

L18L. Here is the straight link to debian wheezy cups packages. I created working cups from them.
http://packages.debian.org/wheezy/cups
I usually remove excessive folders from /usr/share/locale...they take space and also from /usr/share/doc. It might explain that only english is found.

EDIT. Here is the CUPS_NLS pet for 1.5.3 as attachment. Would it help you ?
cups_NLS.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cups_NLS.pet 
Filesize  792.83 KB 
Downloaded  218 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 16:00    Post subject:  

Quote:
libavcodec (from ffmpeg) headers and DEV libs not included?

Oops. It seems that woof didnt process the package. I seem to have wrongly created package name.
I am just checking now that next time woof processes it.
I cant upload it here, because the pet size exceeds the limits of forum allowed ones, 3.9 Mb.
Thank you of the report.
Yep...now woof processes it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3645
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 18:37    Post subject:  

This alpha distro has the same problem that Barry Precise had with Quickset-FirstRUN. Barry's latest version ...72 has fixed so that it now has the correct one when CD boots.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2012, 18:48    Post subject:  

Wheezy 3.5.2.1 on my old P4 test box. Sound,internet and display all working and correct on initial boot.

# report-video
Dpup Wheezy, version 3.5.2.1 on Thu 30 Aug 2012

Chip description:
2.0 VGA compatible controller
Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
oem: Intel(r)865G Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)865G Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: intel

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 16 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory : 512MB (147MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 30 Aug 2012 05:46:43 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel ICH5

-Version-
Kernel : Linux 3.5.2-dpup (i686)
Compiled : #1 SMP Mon Aug 20 20:32:41 AST 2012
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.13 (stable)
Default C Compiler : Unknown
Distribution : Unknown distribution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2481
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 31 Aug 2012, 09:22    Post subject: CUPS
Subject description: NLS
 

pemasu, thanks for reply.
My problem with version 1.5.3. or 1.5.4 is solved: I am using just 1.5
the CUPS way of localization is very special.....
http://www.cups.org/documentation.php/doc-1.5/translation.html wrote:
Start by downloading the CUPS source code from www.cups.org. After you extract the files from the source archive, you will want to copy the following files and directories:

desktop/cups.desktop - the GNOME/KDE desktop file pointing to the CUPS web interface
doc/index.html - the web interface home page
locale/cups.pot - the message catalog
templates/*.tmpl - the web interface template files

With the exception of the message catalogs and desktop file, localization files are placed in subdirectories under the doc and templates using the locale name.

The only needed are doc/index.html and the templates.
pemasu wrote:
L18L. Here is the straight link to debian wheezy cups packages. I created working cups from them.
http://packages.debian.org/wheezy/cups
I usually remove excessive folders from /usr/share/locale...they take space and also from /usr/share/doc. It might explain that only english is found.

EDIT. Here is the CUPS_NLS pet for 1.5.3 as attachment. Would it help you ?

Yes and no.
Yes: it is making clear that cups nls is not easy!
No: It does not display localized pages.

http://packages.debian.org/wheezy/i386/cups/filelist does NOT list
/usr/share/doc/cups/index.html (-->localhost:631)

cups_<ll>.po is not needed I think.

The templates/<language>/*.tmpl are working (a localized browser is required), see screenshot
CUPS_NLS-1.5.png
 Description   localized using templates/de/*
 Filesize   38.28 KB
 Viewed   1300 Time(s)

CUPS_NLS-1.5.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1777
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 31 Aug 2012, 12:56    Post subject:  

pemasu - good news, I've sorted out all build failures, so I was able to rebuild all my distro's package against Debian Wheezy.

I also re-packaged them as PET and uploaded everything here.

I think the repository has everything needed to achieve a bootable, 64-bit dpup, except a kernel. I guess it's time to compile a Puppy-style kernel and give Woof a try Wink

EDIT: I'm currently recompiling Barry's 3.2.28 for x86_64, with more drivers and less patches. A Woof attempt will follow Wink

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 31 Aug 2012, 16:57    Post subject:  Wheezy 3.5.2.1  

Using pupsave created by 3.5.2 which updated fine. Everything appears to work, even your Bibletime will now operate from the Desktop file.

The problem I reported earlier with 3.5.2 about getnvidia.pet still exists. It appears to work fine, however, choosing the driver and typing xwin does not get a desktop, same with probe. Had to go back and update another save file using the nouveau driver. I was also unable to install the new NVIDIA driver manually. Sad

I'm really looking forward to the 64 bit Wheezy version that you and Iguleder are working on.

Thanks,
Jim Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep 2012, 01:17    Post subject:  

Wheezy 3.5.2.1 live pfix=ram on another old test box. Sound and internet working on initial boot..........totally incorrect screen resolution that refuses to change.upon any exit from X, X refuses to restart.

# report-video
Dpup Wheezy, version 3.5.2.1 on Sun 2 Sep 2012

Chip description:
00
12.0 VGA compatible controller
NVIDIA Corporation C68 [GeForce 7050 PV / nForce 630a] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP67 - mcp68-01 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1280x960 pixels (338x253 millimeters)
depth of root window: 16 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#
Should be 1024x768 .... old crt monitor. For what it's worth, no problem on this box with nouveau in the latest Slacko beta.

-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
Memory : 903MB (153MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 02 Sep 2012 05:14:08 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x960 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

Now to try Precise...... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 753
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2012, 05:51    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu

Have been using Wheezy 3.5.2.1 for the last few days on both my 10yr old Acer laptop and a 2yr old Emachines E732 laptop.

Astonishingly fast on the E732 which has 2gb ram and an i3 proc.

Equally surprised at how fast it is on the low spec Acer too, very low resource usage and running temp too. Using the Acer now.

Just using as is for the moment and no obvious problems yet.

Thanks for this very nicely setup Puppy - should appeal to a very wide user base.

Hope you and family are well - very best regards Ray

_________________
Acer 243LC laptop. 384mb ram. 2.5Ghz Celeron proc. 30gb hdd. Asus 701SD. 512mb ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 46 [690 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1081s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0155s) ][ GZIP on ]