Slacko 5.4 - FINAL 2 Dec 2012

News, happenings
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#161 Post by 01micko »

**I think** the attached pet should fix homebank, please let me know

EDIT: I checked on a clean install, it does :)
Attachments
homebank-icons-1.fix.pet
(52.87 KiB) Downloaded 331 times
Last edited by 01micko on Fri 14 Sep 2012, 11:44, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#162 Post by 01micko »

rcrsn51 wrote:At the risk of beating this little exercise to death, I tried "psubdir=/". It worked! It picked the files at the root of the partition before looking in subfolders.

Which makes sense, except that psubdir doesn't usually need a leading slash.
I guess that is like when your current working dir is '/' pwd shows / but if you chnge to /root you typ "cd root".

BTW, here's my menu.lst from Mageia on one of my laptops, uses legacy grub, supports UUID.

Code: Select all

timeout 10
color black/cyan yellow/cyan
gfxmenu (hd0,4)/boot/gfxmenu
default 0

title linux
kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux root=UUID=2f6fb5b4-ce4d-45a4-9439-26af299a0d7f  splash quiet resume=UUID=9d0e347e-ef49-4a84-a88b-c7ba5620ab2e
initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd.img

title failsafe
kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=failsafe root=UUID=2f6fb5b4-ce4d-45a4-9439-26af299a0d7f  failsafe
initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd.img

title windows
root (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

legacy grub and UUID

#163 Post by shinobar »

01micko wrote:BTW, here's my menu.lst from Mageia on one of my laptops, uses legacy grub, supports UUID.

title linux
kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=linux root=UUID=2f6fb5b4-ce4d-45a4-9439-26af299a0d7f splash quiet resume=UUID=9d0e347e-ef49-4a84-a88b-c7ba5620ab2e
initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd.img
It does not mean the legacy grub supports UUID, but means the linux supports UUID.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#164 Post by 01micko »

Thanks for the info shino

In that menu.lst I added:

Code: Select all

title slacko
rootnotify (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz
initrd (hd0,5)/initrd.gz
Boot starts up fine but fails when xwin is run. I edited the kernel line at the boot with pfix=ram and it booted fine. I then made a savefile and rebooted, fine again. Must be machine specific. It fails on my desktop, works on my fastest laptop, didn't try any others yet.

Here's contents of /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE

Code: Select all

# cat /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
PUPMODE=12
PDEV1='sda6'
DEV1FS='ext4'
PUPSFS='sda6,ext4,/puppy_slacko_5.3.5.3.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sda6,ext4,/slackosave-zz.4fs'
PMEDIA=''
#ATADRIVES is all internal ide/pata/sata drives, excluding optical, excluding usb...
ATADRIVES='sda '
#ATAOPTICALDRIVES is list of non-usb optical drives...
ATAOPTICALDRIVES='sr0 '
#these directories are unionfs/aufs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_rw'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the slackosave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
#Partition no. override on boot drive to which session is (or will be) saved...
PSAVEMARK=''
PSUBDIR=''
Attachments
capture16326.png
(30.19 KiB) Downloaded 1023 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#165 Post by 01micko »

For anyone who wants to play with filesystems, btrfs is already a module in this Slacko beta.

Code: Select all

# find /lib -name btrfs*
/lib/modules/3.2.28-4g/initrd/kernel/fs/btrfs
/lib/modules/3.2.28-4g/initrd/kernel/fs/btrfs/btrfs.ko
/lib/modules/3.2.28-4g/kernel/fs/btrfs
# modprobe btrfs
More about btrfs <--
https://btrfs.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Main_Page
http://snarfu.com/slackware/slackware-btrfs-encryption/
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/btrfs
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Btrfs

Barry is introducing support at the userland level:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02992

and in the kernel:

Code: Select all

CONFIG_BTRFS_FS=m
CONFIG_BTRFS_FS_POSIX_ACL=y
NB: all you need is btrfs-progs from the slackware repo and it becomes supported in gparted. (BTW, I just compiled gparted-13.1 thinking that's why it didn't have support :oops: , anyway gparted gets an oops-update 8) )
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#166 Post by James C »

Purely for informational purposes.......

Code: Select all

# glmark.sh
Let the test run or press ESC to abort. 
It will take a couple of minutes
width 400  height 400  depth 24  0
===================================================
    GLMark 08
===================================================
Enter screen width:  Enter screen height: Enter screen bpp:    Enter '1' for fullscreen '0' for windowed: ===================================================
    OpenGL Information
    GL_VENDOR:     Nouveau
    GL_RENDERER:   Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE
    GL_VERSION:    1.2 Mesa 8.0.4
===================================================
/usr/sbin/glmark.sh: line 35: 22833 Done                    echo "$W $H $D $param"
     22834 Segmentation fault      | ./glmark
# 

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#167 Post by 01micko »

Oh well James.. I guess the code base for that app is a bit flakey :lol: . Not much chop as a benchmark!

-----------------------------------

Here's umplayer , patched for Youtube which apparently broke on 14/09/2012 (09/14/2012 US)

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/pet_pac ... d-i686.pet

REQUIRES qt (see a few pages back)
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

gcmartin

Boot logic issues with multiple bootmanagers in most PUPs

#168 Post by gcmartin »

This post is about Boot logic issues
I would agree with anyone about whether the issue of "standard" boot-logic in Puppy should be aired in this thread....BUT, it is shared here.

One of the problems this thread presents is whether its collaboration will produce results that Barry would entertain.

One result I remember was accomplished by @Shinobar several years ago when he produced his Puppy distro "QuickSET". When this Puppy distro was booted, he introduced
  1. booting directly to desktop,
  2. an Initial user tool for system tailoring, and
  3. a GRUB4DOS boot manager
....all from a simple CD boot.

At the time, there were several evolutionary startup system strategies introduced with his approach. Two of those strategies has tremendous adoption across the spectrum of Puppy distro development as is almost universally used by most of the mainstream developers.

One that remains is a kinda interesting startup feature. Here's why:
  • When one does a BootManager install using all Puppies from the Menu, it installs GRUB4DOS. Also, there is another PUP tool that makes use of GRUB4DOS as well.
GRUB4DOS offers some advantages, but, there is a disconnect between what we get from an initial ISO (syslinux) versus GRUB4DOS used thereafter in the system.

Since these are 2 different products, maybe its time for Barry and the community to consider "Which should be the 2012-2013 Bootmanager?" In other words, would the community benefit from just using one of these, versus,having to understand or have knowledge of 2/both of these 2 different tools and their individual behavior.s.

This would simplify community support to a single approach and provide consistency when reviewing operations and addressing usability and implementation issues. Since GRUB4DOS is proliferated within PUPPY after initial system boot, maybe, the initial system boot as @Shinobar demonstrated couple years ago should be the bootmanager which is not only available after system boot, but, maybe it also should replace the current bootmanager (syslinux) as well.

Then, when bootmanager issues are addressed and help is provided, it will work the same whether booting from ISO or booting after initial Puppy use.

I've always wondered about whether there are inhibitors to adopting a single GRUB4DOS tool's use. It merely appears that this would.could be something which is done at the WOOF level for all Puppy distro development. And, I am not sure if @Shinobar could offer an approach he used with his Quickset distro.

Here to help

futwerk
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat 07 May 2011, 22:04

#169 Post by futwerk »

a few backgrounds.
Attachments
pupse7,3r3.jpg
http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
(20.29 KiB) Downloaded 1391 times
pupse7,3r2.jpg
http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
(8 KiB) Downloaded 1451 times
pupse7,3r1.jpg
http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
(7.65 KiB) Downloaded 1400 times

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

#170 Post by tlchost »

Will there be a PAE version as a final? I'd be happy to test one here...
My system has a 2TB drive and 16 gigs of memory....very few puppies recognize both the drive and all the memory.

I run bootable USB systems

Thom

turf
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon 21 Mar 2011, 19:20

#171 Post by turf »

installed inkscape .48.1 spup.pet but it didn't work on this beta.

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#172 Post by darkcity »

turf wrote:installed inkscape .48.1 spup.pet but it didn't work on this beta.
Hi turf, can you provide more information-
Do you get any error messages if you run it from terminal? Did it work on 5.3.1 or 5.3.3?

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#173 Post by 01micko »

gcmartin

At the moment I don't have time to deviate much from the woof template. Any booting issues will be documented in the release notes.

-

futwerk

Nice as usual, thanks. :)

-

tlchost

Yes, a PAE version will be offered, but differing to Barry's approach with precise, I have the exact same kernel config for both releases, and the builds will be identical except for kernel, so in this testing stage PAE is a perk that will come soon.

-

turf

Thanks for the report. Inkscape will be recompiled for release. Many (nearly all) underlying libraries have been upgraded. As darkcity said, try from commandline. Often symlinking to the library that is said to be missing (when run from command) can cure the problem.

-
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

Jades
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat 07 Aug 2010, 22:07
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.
Contact:

#174 Post by Jades »

tlchost wrote:Will there be a PAE version as a final? I'd be happy to test one here...
My system has a 2TB drive and 16 gigs of memory....very few puppies recognize both the drive and all the memory.
16GB of RAM?! That's more than the total hard drive space I had in my old PIII 450! In its final configuration it had 13 Computer Industry Gigabytes, one hard drive with 10GB and one with 3.2GB.

Out of curiosity, do you have a specific purpose for that much RAM or is it more a case of building the highest-specced machine you can?

Before the drive went a little Pete Tong, I'm pretty sure I could see all 1.5TB of the Western Digital SATA unit in Merlin when using both Lupu 528 005 and Slacko 533. Never got anywhere near filling it. Probably just as well really!
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 [url=http://tinyurl.com/dy66kh8]HardInfo Report[/url]
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

#175 Post by tlchost »

Jades wrote:
tlchost wrote:Will there be a PAE version as a final? I'd be happy to test one here...
My system has a 2TB drive and 16 gigs of memory....very few puppies recognize both the drive and all the memory.
Out of curiosity, do you have a specific purpose for that much RAM or is it more a case of building the highest-specced machine you can?
I no longer build computers.....i'd rather pay a bit more and have a warranty. Looked at an ad from one of the larger computer hardware places....their kit offering with less ram and a smaller hard drive than mine was 30 per cent more than I paid.

I believe Puppy Devs need to consider that a lot of folks will purchase a copmputer with large drives and lots of memory....if they try a puppy that does not see the large hard drive and/or the large memory, they may be put off.

I think another consideration might be 64 bit hardware versus 32 bit...

I regret not taking notes...but a significant number of puppies did not see my hard ddrive and/or the memory....Slacho does, and it also works on my Acer laptop...so I'm a happy camper.

Looking forward to the new Slacko.

Thom

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

new gtkdialog

#176 Post by sszindian »

Can the new gtkdialog-0.8.2 be installed in Slacko without hurting anything? And might it correct the weather icons in pwidgets?

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

gcmartin

#177 Post by gcmartin »

There is much to be said about what occurred in 2006 to date. And, for many of us who have assist persons in purchases over the past 2 years, it has become obvious of the direction of the PC industry, overall.

No one of us should concern ourselves with drawing attention in a negative fashion to any user who comes our way in trying to use Puppy Linux on newer PCs.

This community and BarryK has provide all of us with distros which take advantage of ALL RAM (the technology those distro address has been in 32bit PCs since 1995) on your PCs ... whether that is a 256MB PC or a 64GB PC, 32bit PUPs will run.

Puppy provides the advantage in that once it loads it makes the remaining RAM not used by the running OS available to the system as a part of its filesystem. This is the primary reason our PUPs are so fast. Its tied to how it takes advantage of ALL RAM no matter how much you have.

SLACKO is just one of the 32bit PUPs that makes a PUP capable of taking advantage of all the RAM on your system for beneficial uses.

And, no one of us should be ashame to describe the PC platforms we have in efforts to request assistance in addressing chipset/hardware understanding.

I have been running "FATSLACKO" for several months without issue and it is using all RAM for my system's use and benefit.

FATSLACKO loads, then runnings using about 130MB (seen in Hardinfo) to support local and LAN needs on a PC with a 16GB USB split to provide a SWAP area. I have also tested that distro and found that it also is twice as fast in providing NAS functions than my Network attached NAS units.

Hard to argue with the benefits from the reports provided by the systems. All this from a system that I have NOT installed any addtional PPM packages because it delivers a "FULL" desktop experience with top-of-the-line office suite, OOTB. This affords me an OOTB experience equivalent to MS and Apple via a DVD. WoW! :D

I am so very proud of the opportunity to be a part of this Forum and its community.

Keep up the good work for all of us....everyone.
P.S. This thread covers some of what has been found in Puppy distro advances

Here to help

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#178 Post by James C »

Slackware 14 is released.............

http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=07475

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#179 Post by 01micko »

James C wrote:Slackware 14 is released.............

http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=07475
Yep 8)

Just have to wait until Salix catches up before I can do a build. It takes them quite a few hours to run their dependency scripts, then they have to rename the repos and such.

Then it will be a month or so before Slacky.eu catches up! They sure are casual those fellas! It was the same when 13.37 was released.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#180 Post by Q5sys »

subscribed.
I didnt expect Micko to be on this so fast... this might make it onto my netbook which is need of a fresh install. :)

Post Reply