Saluki

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
elroy

#3581 Post by elroy »

The lastest news on Carolina Linux.

User avatar
rg66
Posts: 1158
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 05:53
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

#3582 Post by rg66 »

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

if [ -f /root/.acpid_on ] ; then 
	acpid
	which acpitool
	if [[ $? != 0 ]] ;then
		exit 
	fi
	
	acpitool -a |grep off-line
	if [[ $? == 0 ]] ; then
	       /etc/acpi/powersave.sh
	else
		/etc/acpi/turbo.sh
	fi
	exec ppower
fi
[/b]

In this way, if using a laptop and you boot while using battery power, it'll use powersave by default. In any other case, it'll use turbo at all times.
Once you finish building the new adrive and create a new ISO, you can create a frugal or a live CD/DVD with it, and as long as you boot with AC power, the default power setting mode will always be turbo.
Hmmm, that's the same as the original file except turbo instead of performance, but it still loads powersave on both of my desktops for some strange reason.

I am using a custom Saluki built with the custom builder, I'll have to try the original and see if it loads performance.

Edit:

Ok, even the original Saluki 023 defaults to powersave. It seems to think I'm on battery for some reason.

elroy

#3583 Post by elroy »

Well, if you want to live dangerously and ensure turbo is always started, you could edit 9acpid to be the following:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

/etc/acpi/turbo.sh
exec ppower
[/b]

In this way, even if you start with battery power, turbo mode will be used.

User avatar
rg66
Posts: 1158
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 05:53
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

#3584 Post by rg66 »

elroy wrote:Well, if you want to live dangerously and ensure turbo is always started, you could edit 9acpid to be the following:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

/etc/acpi/turbo.sh
exec ppower
[/b]

In this way, even if you start with battery power, turbo mode will be used.
I use it only on my desktop so I might just do that. Turbo even sounds cool, I could call it SalukiTurbo!

Thanks for the help, but I still find it strange that ACPI thinks it's on battery. If I open power-tools, ACPID is enabled and is set to performance.

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#3585 Post by mavrothal »

elroy wrote:Hi darkcity,
great news that you are continuing Saluki in the form of Carolina. Are there any plans to use a bug/feature tracker? This is something I think would move Puppy forward and help retain improvements from release to release?

BTW I've added your 'corner' to the PuppySite list
I mentioned this to Geoffrey this morning, that we should start some kind of bug-tracking list. I think that would be a great idea. Hopefully we can implement something on that front.
You might want to use googlecode and/or github or even sourceforge and keep track of the development process in association with bugs. Makes life easier both for developers and contributors.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

anikin
Posts: 994
Joined: Thu 10 May 2012, 06:16

#3586 Post by anikin »

elroy wrote:Hi r866,

Check this link out. It deals with precisely that subject
CPU scaling mod - Load previously used power mode at startup

cheers
Works great on my eeepc!
This tweak is a must have on any note/netbook and I think it deserves to be placed in the howto section of this forum.
Thank you, elroy!

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

I think my puppy pin is corrupt

#3587 Post by Pete22 »

I lost my icons off the desktop. The programs are still listed at:

/root/desktop.

I know there is a fix, but I can't seem to find it on the forum, and I can't remember how to do it.
Would someone steer me in the right direction, please?


Thanks,
Pete

PS
I am glad that Carolina is coming. I am really looking forward to it. :D

elroy

#3588 Post by elroy »

Hey Pete22, see if this helps.

open a terminal and enter the following:

Code: Select all

killall -HUP xfdesktop & xfdesktop --reload &
[/b]

LucioCarreras
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 14 Sep 2012, 20:15

Sayonara

#3589 Post by LucioCarreras »

@Geoffrey

New final version of Sayonara 0.3 has been released.
Every known bug has been fixed. Thanks for patience :)

Cheers,

Lucio

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

Re: Sayonara

#3590 Post by Geoffrey »

LucioCarreras wrote:@Geoffrey

New final version of Sayonara 0.3 has been released.
Every known bug has been fixed. Thanks for patience :)

Cheers,

Lucio
Lucio,

I compiled and tested it, it works, but there are things that make it unusable as a default audio player, elroy ran a few test on it.
elroy wrote:*Sayonara lacks the ability to load media from the command-line; hence there is no way for it to play
media unless Sayonara is first opened and then manually loaded via the menu, or if a playlist has been
chosen to load from startup in the preferences. Without this ability, there is no way to handle the
audio mime-types.
If you could fix these issues, it could be used as the default player.

Geoffrey.
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

yerc1
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 02:40

Re: Carolina Linux

#3591 Post by yerc1 »

elroy wrote:As promised by Geoffrey, here are some of the details of the upcoming beta release of Carolina-001
I would be so grateful if the kernel driver for ENE card reader is included.
My original request is in the Saluki website http://saluki-linux.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=28.

Thanks in advance for Carolina.

User avatar
Pete22
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri 08 May 2009, 22:59
Location: Utah, USA

Missing Icons and Carolina

#3592 Post by Pete22 »

Thanks for answering elroy.

I did what you suggested about the missing Icons. It did not work :(
I'll just wait and put Carolina on this computer when it comes out.

I really like the friendly looking puppy image on the Carolina desktop.
I mess up my savefiles on a regular basis. It would be great if Carolina
had a good backup system, to save me from myself. :wink:

Will Carolina help large programs auto symlink themselves outside the savefile?
Will the packages for Saluki work in Carolina?

Thanks for all the good work you guys are doing.

Pete :)

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

Re: Missing Icons and Carolina

#3593 Post by tlchost »

Pete22 wrote: I mess up my savefiles on a regular basis.
I know it's extra work...and not automated...but I copy my know good save file to another file name/lcoation befor I add any thing/ make any changes.

Run bootable usb and have three different save files on the usb....the base system, the last known working save file and one that use for tests. Makes life simple when I mess up(which I do a lot).

Thom

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#3594 Post by don570 »

I compiled the latest mhwaveedit for saluki.
Saluki has no libsamplerate so a special compile is needed.

________________________________________________
Attachments
mhwaveedit-saluki-1.4.22.pet
application to install
(186.83 KiB) Downloaded 226 times
mhwaveedit-saluki_NLS-1.4.22.pet
foreign locales
(180.23 KiB) Downloaded 247 times

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#3595 Post by Geoffrey »

don570 wrote:I compiled the latest mhwaveedit for saluki.
Saluki has no libsamplerate so a special compile is needed.

________________________________________________
Thanks don570,

That's what I use when editing audio files, I'll give a test, though there is a libsamplerate-0.1.7-i486.pet and the dev libsamplerate_DEV-0.1.7-i486.pet in the PPM
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

elroy

Re: Missing Icons and Carolina

#3596 Post by elroy »

Pete22 wrote: Will the packages for Saluki work in Carolina?
Yes. Saluki packages will work on Carolina.
Pete22 wrote:Will Carolina help large programs auto symlink themselves outside the savefile?
This feature probably won't make it into the first beta-release, but it is something that we'll look into going forward.

User avatar
rg66
Posts: 1158
Joined: Mon 23 Jul 2012, 05:53
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

Audacious

#3597 Post by rg66 »

I installed Audaciuos 3.2.3 from the Saluki repo and there is no mp3 support. Is there a way to enable this, or is there another Audacious pet that will play mp3's in Saluki 0.2.3?

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#3598 Post by don570 »

That's what I use when editing audio files, I'll give a test, though
there is a libsamplerate-0.1.7-i486.pet and the dev libsamplerate_DEV-
0.1.7-i486.pet in the PPM

I've been using mhwaveedit without libsamplerate for the past few days
and I don't see any difference.

I have read THIS PAGE

and it appears that libsamplerate is used for high quality conversion
of the sample rate for instance from 11025 to 44100 khz

Professionals might need this feature but for the rest of us
the simple conversion algorithms work fine.

_____________________________________

elroy

Carolina Linux Update

#3599 Post by elroy »

The latest update on Carolina Linux is available for those that are interested.

User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

Re: Audacious

#3600 Post by OscarTalks »

rg66 wrote:I installed Audacious 3.2.3 from the Saluki repo and there is no mp3 support. Is there a way to enable this, or is there another Audacious pet that will play mp3's in Saluki 0.2.3?
Maybe try installing ffmpeg from the wary5 repo in Saluki PPM.

By the way, if you like your audio player to have playlists in tabs like Audacious, have you tried Deadbeef?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79351

Edit: Just did a quick test, Saluki 021, booted RAM only, installed Audacious and Audacious-plugins 3.2.3, tried an mp3 stream but says no decoder found, ffmpeg doesn't seem to help. Plays in Xnoise or Deadbeef.
Oscar in England
Image

Post Reply