Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 06:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
5.3.3 unhappy shut down?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Thu 27 Sep 2012, 20:43    Post_subject:  5.3.3 unhappy shut down?  

I'm using 5.3.3 in a flash drive on a hda-less laptop. Internet is via LAN port.
after I select shut down, it saves the session, then hangs with the below msg:

puppyCC835 login: root (automatic login)
login [22711]: root login on 'tty1'
#

nb i might have confused some capitals.
my only shut down is to hold the off button until it dies.
surely there's some fix?
pleese?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 15:18    Post_subject:  

I also have had Puppy hang on selecting SHUTDOWN from the menu.
To continue the shutdown, I have found that it will finish the shutdown if I do an ALT-CTRL-Backspace key combination.
So it sounds like the xwin manager is not being shut down properly and the key combination manually does that step to allow the shutdown to continue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 16:39    Post_subject:  

Some Puppies have a bug where the attempt to kill processes using a partition leads to kill the shutdown process(es) (rc.shutdown, poweroff | reboot) themselves . This leads to this situation . Better unmount everything before poweroff . Another attempt might be replacing
Code:
 fuser -m -k "$ONESTRAY"

with
Code:
busybox fuser -m -k "$ONESTRAY"

in /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 20:08    Post_subject: unhappy shutdown  

lines 548-550 contain slightly different text, but seem to match the idea. Do I just edit the text in this file or go further, and which line should I change pls, as at least 2 contain similar statements, & I'm a noob. thx, btw is 551 "if"?
What is meanining of "do not use fuser if network share mount"? How do I tell if this is the case?

I do wish ppl would use English, where possible, rather than Geekese, which seems to have too many variant dialects for good understanding. C++ is not that hard, until ppl start their own dialects. Then understanding for beginners becomes too difficult, I fear it's often deliberate to force payment for service, which is an immoral backdoor act, that the customer should have been warned of before he got the product.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Les Kerf

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 20:59    Post_subject: Re: unhappy shutdown  

boof wrote:
... the customer should have been warned of before he got the product.


Satisfaction guaranteed or your money CHEERFULLY refunded... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 21:22    Post_subject: cont.  

thx.
Cannot unmount sda-it's in use!

further, I ammended line 500 with "busybox" --no change after several restarts.
dis a short power button press, got something like:

#acpid: action exited on signal 15
acpid: 1 total rule matched
acpid: procfs completed event "button/power events-matched
0000..000080 00000..0001"
acpid:executing action etc/acpi/acpi-actions/poweroff.sh
slacko puppy is now shutting down.


which, of course, it doesn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 00:17    Post_subject: kont.  

after inserting testing and removing code in above file to be sure of network shutdown, with no cure, I now have the last line reading :

Login [2898]:............................
for which I can't find a reference.
I'm wondering if my mouse [touchpad on Dell Inspiron 600m] is causing probs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5388
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 14:41    Post_subject:  

Try this:

Try boot option

acpi=off
or
acpi=force

At boot screen hit F2 key
enter option
Puppy acpi=off
or
puppy acpi=force

If it works:
You can also add
acpi=off
or
acpi=force

to the end of the initrd line in syslinux config on the flash drive.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 20:27    Post_subject:  

acpi=off makes no difference
acpi=force not recognized.

version is 5.3.3-4g[?]

thx for persisting, I hope we get it eventually. What else are you likely to need to know? nb there is a very fast orange msg at the end of some text after I select shutdown. I have no way of freezing my screen or capturing it. it is followed by the msg that the computer is shutting down,then saving session to sda.

if remote access will help diagnose this, I'm willing. pls advise availability & how after 2pm gmt+8 time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 20:43    Post_subject:  

Then it might be that your are running frugal with "Save to entire partition" . Try "Save to a save file" instead . There are several remarks atm that this does not shutdown correctly . I personally have never used an installation to USB flash with "Save to entire partition" mode .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 15:39    Post_subject:  

how do I tell if it's frugal? there's no advisor saying what is saving, though it does take some time [4GB Verbatim USB 2.0] Was installed as superfloppy.where do I make that change, pls?
further, when attempting to install other addons etc nothing works-testing url's show recursion disabled! download not possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 02:08    Post_subject:  

I think ur right. there's no save-file on the flashdrive. Do I just re-install, or do I try to correct it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 03:45    Post_subject:  

did reinstall-all shutdown fixed. I was saving to partition sda,rather than a file. is much faster now, too. thx all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0643s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]