Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 15:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Tips to keep the Save file in the green
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 07:34    Post subject:  

Thanks Jasper. I will use that app on my Root directory to see if there is a culprit taking up gobs of space and post back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1068

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 07:34    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
A thought has occurred here. Is it possible to put the browser cache completely in RAM in such a way that way it it doesn't burden the save file but flushes itself completely when Puppy is switched off?

I might be wrong, but isn't /tmp kept in RAM?
This one could be an option, too: simple GUI ramdisk script

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1122
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 09:35    Post subject:  

Hi SFR,

Firstly, thank you very much for your excellent LargeFileFinder pet.

Then. thank you for your link just above re /mnt/ramdisk, however I don't fully understand how the ramdisk works.

I can download files to it and copy (or move) folders and filies to it and I understand they will be lost on a ramdisk unmount or a full reboot/exit.

My Linux Portable version of QtWeb browser and all its subsidiary files are stored in a folder I named QtWeb. It was easy to copy the QtWeb folder to /mnt/ramdisk and then run QtWeb from within it, but htop showed normal RAM usage - i.e. there was no saving of "standard" RAM.

My attempt to save "standard" RAM by running QtWeb portable from /mnt/ramdisk seems to be an experiment far beyond the realms of probable success. However. if you have time to hint how the /mnt/ramdisk might best be used (in addition to your cache type suggestion) that would be much appreciated.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1068

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 10:49    Post subject:  

Hey Jasper.

Hmm, I don't really know why htop doesn't want to include ramdisk in its RAM stats...perhaps because it's seen as a filesystem, not a part of actual RAM..?
To see actual size and usage of the ramdisk, I use:
Code:
df /mnt/ramdisk

Also:
Code:
free

seems to be more accurate than htop.

As for usage hints for ramdisk, it's hard to me to think of anything more than saving space on a savefile/disk by putting temporary files into it...but, for example, such a ramdisk could be useful for operations that need a lot of disk reads/writes.
Using RAM would be a lot faster in such cases...

PS. I'm glad you like LFF - thanks! &
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6433
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 16:55    Post subject:  

I recommend treesize.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2012, 20:53    Post subject:  

Here is my latest update. I had to go back to using Ubuntu 12.04 because my save file which is now a little more than 4GB in size is still showing red. When I go to find out what is taking up all the space I find files and folders totalIng wrong 160MB. Shouldn't that leave me over 3GB of free savefile space?

Is there a way I can create a partition on my HD and make that my save file? I could make it 15 to 30GB in size. This way my savefile will always show green instead of red and without all the warnings to free up space or increase the size of the save file.

There is a reason I always seem to go back to Puppy Linux. I love the simplicity, speed and the look and feel of it. If I can get this savefile issue resolved once and for all without having to do a full install of puppy and staying with a frugal install, I will be beyond happy!!

Thanks again for all the help. I have another issue regarding puppy that I think I will put in another thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2012, 09:02    Post subject:  

I decided to do a full install of Puppy Linux 5.2.8 on my Dell 4500S because it was driving me crazy always having to adjust the save file and make symlinks from the Root directory to an area outside the Root directory. I tried cleaning up my Root directory but I was still getting orange or red indicators instead of green.

So now with a full install I don't have to worry about that anymore. Too bad because I liked the flexibilty of having a Savefile but didn't want to constantly keep an eye on my root directory and move stuff around to free up space in the savefile even though I wasn't using up that much space. Still don't understand that if I have a save file of let's say 512MB and I am getting red indicators only using up about 130-160MB, where is the difference going?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1513

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 04:39    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
A thought has occurred here. Is it possible to put the browser cache completely in RAM in such a way that way it it doesn't burden the save file but flushes itself completely when Puppy is switched off?

I might be wrong, but isn't /tmp kept in RAM?
This one could be an option, too: simple GUI ramdisk script

Greetings!


Thanks, I'll look into it.

Cheers,

CP .

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Slacko 5.9.3, Puppy EmSee v2.2, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy Boxpup 4.31, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 06:29    Post subject:  

@ Colonel Panic
Would setting the browser's cache to zero be a solution for you?

cheers
proebler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 1.4146s ][ Queries: 12 (1.3533s) ][ GZIP on ]