Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 21:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Built-in microphone not working
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 05:26    Post subject:  Built-in microphone not working  

Hi, long time I haven't come here. This time I installed puppystudio3.3 (based on lucid) on a benqjoybook laptop. The built-in microphone is staying deaf while working under windows.
The sound card is this:



Quote:
Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller
VENDOR: 8086 DEVICE: 266e KERNEL MODULE: snd_intel8x0


and alsa mixer desn't let me control the volume on the mic in the inputs, see picture.

http://rapidshare.com/files/2163774213/sound.png

What should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 10:31    Post subject:  

Hi

Some questions to help diagnosis:

Have you test an external mic if possible?

What is the model of the benq joybook?

What the command arecord -l return?

---

Also there is a test procedure here-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=620070#620070

Twisted Evil

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 11:19    Post subject:  

Hi! So I tried a external webcam mic with no sucess, zero sound.

Model of the laptop is benq joybook S53W.

The command gives

Quote:
# arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH6]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 1: Intel ICH - MIC ADC [Intel ICH6 - MIC ADC]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 2: Intel ICH - MIC2 ADC [Intel ICH6 - MIC2 ADC]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 3: Intel ICH - ADC2 [Intel ICH6 - ADC2]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Modem [Intel ICH6 Modem], device 0: Intel ICH - Modem [Intel ICH6 Modem - Modem]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


As for the test procedure, as you can see on the picture I cannot increase volume for the mic input.. Also the out.wav is silent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 16:26    Post subject:  

A couple of thoughts,

A) looks like the Conexant chip should use the snd-hda-intel module not snd-intel8x0 ?

What is the contents of /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf and /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf ?

If you are using the snd-hda-intel module, some threads suggest adding a 'model' options line to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

options snd-hda-intel model=laptop
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1609411.html

or
options snd-hda-intel model=auto enable=yes

----

B) pup studio 3.3 is quite old, a newer kernel or ALSA might help. Maybe test Slacko 5.3.1 / 5.3.3 and see if you have any joy?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 22:44    Post subject:  

Here's the contents of

alsa.conf

Quote:

alias char-major-14-* soundcore
alias char-major-116-* snd
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
options sb io=0x220 irq=7 dma=1 dma16=5 mpu_io=0x330


and alsa-base.conf

Quote:
# autoloader aliases
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-0
install sound-slot-1 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-1
install sound-slot-2 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-2
install sound-slot-3 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-3
install sound-slot-4 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-4
install sound-slot-5 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-5
install sound-slot-6 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-6
install sound-slot-7 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-7

# Cause optional modules to be loaded above generic modules
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-ioctl32 ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }
#
# Workaround at bug #499695 (reverted in Ubuntu see LP #319505)
install snd-pcm /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-pcm $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-pcm-oss ; : ; }
install snd-mixer /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-mixer $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-mixer-oss ; : ; }
install snd-seq /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-seq $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-oss ; : ; }
#
install snd-rawmidi /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-rawmidi $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; : ; }
# Cause optional modules to be loaded above sound card driver modules
install snd-emu10k1 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-emu10k1 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-emu10k1-synth ; }
install snd-via82xx /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-via82xx $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }

# Load saa7134-alsa instead of saa7134 (which gets dragged in by it anyway)
install saa7134 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install saa7134 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist saa7134-alsa ; : ; }
# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options bt87x index=-2
options cx88_alsa index=-2
options saa7134-alsa index=-2
options snd-atiixp-modem index=-2
options snd-intel8x0m index=-2
options snd-via82xx-modem index=-2
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
options snd-usb-us122l index=-2
options snd-usb-usx2y index=-2
options snd-usb-caiaq index=-2
# Ubuntu #62691, enable MPU for snd-cmipci
options snd-cmipci mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
# Keep snd-pcsp from being loaded as first soundcard
options snd-pcsp index=-2


This snd-hda-intel I should use, is it a pet package or a line to insert?

I'm using puppy studio because of the low latency kernel and the fact that music software is already installed. I tried slacko just before but installing ardour, hydrogen and such was not easy for me..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2012, 07:18    Post subject:  

its a couple of lines to add to the end of /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf

Code:

#sound module
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel


---

If you still get sound output, try the mic input. If you get no sound at all remove the lines, we will need to try something else.

---

growler solved a similar problem here-
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=656154#656154

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2012, 22:33    Post subject:  

Ok, I tried all the configurations you gave me and in the links for alsa.conf and alsa-base.conf but it's no changing anything: there's sound output but nothing in internal and external mics, and the alsamixer still looks like the picture I've already posted:
http://rapidshare.com/files/2163774213/sound.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1285
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 03:21    Post subject:  

This was a Debian Wheezy fix I posted for my internal mic on my eeepc.

I can't say it will fix your SlackO Puppy problem Edit: opps I meant puppystudio3.3 . Just giving out info is all I am doing. Maybe one of the 2 threads will help. Maybe not.

http://antix.freeforums.org/eeepc-900-microphone-debian-wheezy-fix-antix-11-t3433.html

Older fix I posted also for another mic problem in MacPup years ago.

http://hardkap.net/forums/topic/macpup-foxy-3-asus-eee-900-full-install-skype
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 04:31    Post subject:  

Thank you Roky, I tried your posts but no difference. On my pc, the file asound.conf is located in /etc, I have a directory called /var/lib/alsa/ but it's empty, is it normal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 05:19    Post subject:  

jojonouvo wrote:
Ok, I tried all the configurations you gave me and in the links for alsa.conf and alsa-base.conf but it's no changing anything: there's sound output but nothing in internal and external mics, and the alsamixer still looks like the picture I've already posted:
http://rapidshare.com/files/2163774213/sound.png


goods news you still get sound with module snd-hda-intel, thats what I wanted to check.

with the lines you added to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
Code:
#sound module
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel


now add another line
Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=laptop


and reboot

if that doesnt work try replacing that line with

Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=auto enable=1

or

Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=auto enable=1 index=0 position_fix=1


sorry but I dont know if one of these will work, but its what I would try.

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 05:51    Post subject:  

Hi, I've tried the 3 different lines but no change: still sound output but no mic input. I also installed the alsa1.0.24.pet with still no change and removed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 06:15    Post subject:  

is it possible to test mic input on Slacko, just to test, in case its the kernel?
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 08:18    Post subject:  

Sure! I don't know much about kernels though.
Do I have to use a slacko live CD or is there another way to test?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 08:27    Post subject:  

Your screen shot of the AlsaMixer capture screen shows only the first eight capture controls. What other controls show when you use your right-arrow key to move beyond the "Capture" control?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2012, 08:53    Post subject:  

Hello Pierce here are the last ones:
[url]
https://rapidshare.com/#!download|9p10|562132466|screen.png|776|1280|768
[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0868s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]