Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 20:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Multibooting multiple Windows and Puppy versions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 10:24    Post_subject:  Multibooting multiple Windows and Puppy versions  

I had posted in the Beginners section about a web page I put up on the
subject of multi-booting. Since the page is actually a "how to" I thought
I'd post the url here too as well. The page has been updated with Notes and
a section on booting USB drive on old machines lacking provision for this.
Here's the url: http://home.ptd.net/~artnpeg/

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 16:38    Post_subject:  

great stuff

added link to wiki
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/InstallationIndex

does this work for Vista and Win 7 too?

Twisted Evil

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 18:39    Post_subject:  

Thanks darkcity. I have nothing newer than Win XP here to test on.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9200
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2012, 18:47    Post_subject:  

darkcity wrote:
does this work for Vista and Win 7 too?

No. Those Windows versions use a different boot mechanism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 04:16    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the replies, I've updated the wiki link to reflect the Windows version
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 04:59    Post_subject:  

In my case, I have EasyBCD installed on Windows Vista (I assume Windows 7 would be similar).
I then have Puppy frugal installs with grub on a second hard drive and on booting, I get a selection from the first boot menu of Windows or Linux.
Then if I select Linux, grub with menu boots from the second hard drive and I select a frugal install of Puppy from the grub menu.
I have never been brave enough to try grub-for-dos as I would not want to have to reinstall windows to recover if the mbr of the first drive failed to boot windows.
And EasyBCD is well documented as to how to install a second or more OS without loosing access to booting windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2012, 11:26    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
In my case, I have EasyBCD installed on Windows Vista (I assume Windows 7 would be similar).
I then have Puppy frugal installs with grub on a second hard drive and on booting, I get a selection from the first boot menu of Windows or Linux.
Then if I select Linux, grub with menu boots from the second hard drive and I select a frugal install of Puppy from the grub menu.
I have never been brave enough to try grub-for-dos as I would not want to have to reinstall windows to recover if the mbr of the first drive failed to boot windows.
And EasyBCD is well documented as to how to install a second or more OS without loosing access to booting windows.


On my Ms Vista machine I have it that way too
using Neogrub.

But on my two Win7 Netbooks I most likely made use of
Shinobar's latest version of Grub4dos ??? or is that my poor memory?

How else do them boot. I remember him to encourage me to follow
his instructions and it failed first and he had to give me an code
that made it to work. Here is what my menu.lst says

# menu.lst produced by grb4dosconf
color blue/cyan yellow/blue white/black cyan/black
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy



title lupu-528-005-FF12
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /lupu-528-005-FF12/initrd.gz
kernel /lupu-528-005-FF12/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sda2 psubdir=lupu-528-005-FF12 pfix=fsck
initrd /lupu-528-005-FF12/initrd.gz

and the windows 7 entry back to how that works

# Windows


title Windows Vista (loader)
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
#savedefault
chainloader +1


I trust I must have tested it once to see if that worked
but when I boot I chose between Win and Linux
and then when linux comes up I have all the frugal installs there.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0560s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]