Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 03:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Lxde or xfce
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
cjtron

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 11:00    Post_subject:  Lxde or xfce  

how to make lxde or xfce after installing the pet boot up/work/replace the darn icewm/fluxbox that i dont want ...
It wont replace or startup the new environment manager I installed... I must be missing something I have to configure in the rc.xml file to make the new De start ???? Pleeese hlep me .... please Smile

on puppy I tried this and my friend made it work back in 2011 he installed lxde and kde even xfce on both his puppy linux boxes....

When I went to my email to retrieve his guide and compiled my own De for puppy and saluky and even using the guide on here how to compile
All is good and compiles and installs ALWAYS BUT I can never get the DE start up ....
There is no instruction in his guides nor in compiling guides i looked through as to what TO DO after its installed to make the new De work after reboot instead of the old one...

Basically making the installed De replace the old... HOW!!??

Would a kind soul help me out ?guide Me my Friends !
what to do after its installed ...
I can never start it up...
I must be missing something

I never did think it would be easy but wouldnt anticipate that Id have to do anything else to start it up after install.... hmm....
Im still new to all this and all blah blah blah related to linux so yeah... NOOB is me


Thanks !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 11:24    Post_subject:  

Have you tried to restart X after installing the .pet/s?

Hit ctrl+alt+backspace and then type xwin lxde or xwin xfce into console and enter.

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2994
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 11:49    Post_subject:  

Save yourself the trouble of compiling all that mess.

LXDE Puppy --> http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79810

XFCE Puppy --> http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80010

Note that XFCE is not terribly less demanding than GNOME in terms of system resources. I hope you have a good computer!

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5253
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 14:10    Post_subject:  

What version of Puppy are you using?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cjtron

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 01:40    Post_subject:  

RSH wrote:
Have you tried to restart X after installing the .pet/s?

Hit ctrl+alt+backspace and then type xwin lxde or xwin xfce into console and enter..


Thank you, I might have to try that first! ill report back if it didnt work....
By the way., This will even launch it when I reboot ( i mean automatically?)
if its the latter... that would blow to always have to reboot x after pc restart...

Starhawk,
I tried that lxde puppy and it was awesome and as light as a desktop can be! Love it but the only reason I wanted to try to do it myself is for compiling learning and how to myself as at first I didnt trust the publisher with that puplet.. I thought it was some random puplet..

Seems like alot ppl actually tested that lxde pup eh!?So is clean...?

Anyways,
This is for Bigpup, I am on version 5.3.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 12:29    Post_subject:
Sub_title: wm switching
 

@cjtron

Almost always you'll get the last wm switched to (it's saved in /etc/windowmanager file) when you re-X (or reboot if you save the session). Sometimes the 2nd part of the cmd might be different (like fluxbox as opposed to startfluxbox or adding a -session suffix), if the cmd doesn't fly /root/.xinitrc usually has a fallback at the end so you get something like the default wm (jwm in most cases).

heh, jejy69's efforts are hardly random (but yeah, in regard to following the precise beta it can be odd as precise progresses..)

By the way, good idea to state family as well as version number (ie slacko 5.3.3 if that's your pup)

Good luck compiling (always a learning experience)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0558s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]