Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 16:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.3.3 bug reports and feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 15:10    Post subject: Problem with Battery Tray App - Slacko 5.3.3 - Dell E6420  

The battery icon in the tray is there but it doesn’t show the state of the battery. It’s simply gray. If I click on the battery icon the following is displayed



Slacko 5.3.3 - Dell E6420
Any ideas?

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 16:37    Post subject:  

Hmm.. hello Bill_Gates..

I think one of your former employees submitted that one... [ Rolling Eyes ]

Actually all the info to calculate percentage charge remaining is there. Fortunately, I have played with the code in that app before so *should* be able to patch it.

Thanks for report. (EDIT: try the attached, I'm not sure I had the latest)

-

arslan

I'll attach an updated pequalizer. It's still not exactly perfect but it shouldn't crash after saving presets. Delete /root/.pequalizer or else it wont start!

-

christhi

I think Karl Godt was just attempting to be humourous, though I can't speak for him.

It certainly looks like Fido has a permission issue with time. That will be a woof bug, so I'll attempt to fix it and pass it on upstream. Thanks for report.
power_applet.tar.gz
Description  unpack and put in /root/Startup. overwriting the old one
gz

 Download 
Filename  power_applet.tar.gz 
Filesize  4.55 KB 
Downloaded  378 Time(s) 
pequalizer-0.7.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  pequalizer-0.7.0.pet 
Filesize  4.61 KB 
Downloaded  385 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2012, 19:36    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko and thank you for your quick reply. I downloaded power_applet.tar.gz and expanded it to /root/Startup, overwriting the old one.

Unfortunately, after a reboot, no change. The icon is still gray and unchanged.

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simes

Joined: 29 Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 05:45    Post subject: Fontwizard not working, not saving settings in 5.3.3  

H, I have just moved from Lupu 528 to Slacko 533 and am enjoying the experience. It's a clean, fresh desktop, easy to use and seems faster than Lupu on my old machine. However it's not so easy to look at because the Fontwizard PET isn't working - doesn't save the settings I make (even within the same session) and doesn't seem to do anything. In Lupu, Fontwizard made a big difference to text clarity and I am looking for the same in Slacko. Any ideas please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 582
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 09:00    Post subject: Fontwizard not working, not saving settings in 5.3.3  

Hi simes,

The fontwizard pet does work with 5.3.3 but does not show retained ticks if you re-launch it.

My eyesight is poor and these are my standard tweaks:
Try the following (in order):

1. Select "no shadow" in Rox options (leave the font as you find it for now)

2. In desktop "select global font size" increase by no more than 2 buttons.

3. If using LCD load Fontwizard.pet, run, select all tick boxes then restart X.

4. Back in Rox options pinboard increase font size by one or two points (you may need bold)

5. In desktop/GTK theme chooser increase the font size.
(click on font & increase point size)

6. May need to then tweak 2,4 and 5.

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simes

Joined: 29 Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 09:31    Post subject:  

Thank you ETP. I've done as you suggest and it helps me a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2012, 01:07    Post subject:  

Important announcement in the main post regarding up to date patches.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 18:43    Post subject: Drive Icons  

I am running 533 as a bootable USB, I notice that while I can mount a second USB drive (Other than the one I use to boot Slacko), the icon does not appear on the desktop.

Anyone else notice this? Is there a fix? Could someone test this in the beta version?

thanks

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9367
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 22:45    Post subject: Re: Drive Icons  

tlchost wrote:
I am running 533 as a bootable USB, I notice that while I can mount a second USB drive (Other than the one I use to boot Slacko), the icon does not appear on the desktop.Anyone else notice this?

This works correctly for me.
Quote:
Is there a fix?

Try running the Desktop Drive Icon Manager and doing a Redraw operation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 03:13    Post subject: Re: Drive Icons  

rcrsn51 wrote:
tlchost wrote:
I am running 533 as a bootable USB, I notice that while I can mount a second USB drive (Other than the one I use to boot Slacko), the icon does not appear on the desktop.Anyone else notice this?

This works correctly for me.
Quote:
Is there a fix?

Try running the Desktop Drive Icon Manager and doing a Redraw operation.

Thanks

That seems to work, although you must restart x to have it take.

Also the option to erase and then redraw and realign tick box does not stay ticked, as well as the tick box for autolaunch handler.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1203
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2012, 08:09    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko,

I am staying with Slacko 5.3.1 main (it's stable, fast and ideally suited to my needs and preferences) so I very much appreciate the continuing support with patches for versions 530 to 533 reported under the heading "IMPORTANT" in your opening post on page 1.

Conveniently the columns can be sorted by name, date or size; so may I ask if using

http://mirrors.dotsrc.org/slackware/slackware-13.37/patches/packages/

is an alternative way to download the patches/updates?

My regards

PS I'm sure we all wish you well in your upcoming exams.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 08:36    Post subject: Re: Drive Icons  

tlchost wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
tlchost wrote:
I am running 533 as a bootable USB, I notice that while I can mount a second USB drive (Other than the one I use to boot Slacko), the icon does not appear on the desktop.Anyone else notice this?

This works correctly for me.
Quote:
Is there a fix?

Try running the Desktop Drive Icon Manager and doing a Redraw operation.

Thanks

That seems to work, although you must restart x to have it take.


It seems that I have to restart x after a reboot to get this to work. Other than placing a command to restart x in the startup folder, which would create an endless loop, wthat command can I add to slcko to restart-x
immediately after boot?

Thanks

Also the option to erase and then redraw and realign tick box does not stay ticked, as well as the tick box for autolaunch handler.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 09:39    Post subject:  

Subject: Running xorgwizard changes option settings for synaptics touchpad driver.

This is a bug in xorgwizard that affects Slacko 5.3.3 (and any other Puppy that uses an Xorg X server version 1.9). This won't affect future Slackos or other Puppies that use an Xorg X server version 1.10.0 or newer, or a version older than 1.9.


o To reproduce problem:

1. Assuming that your PC uses the Xorg X server and the synaptics driver, boot Slacko 5.3.3 without a save file and try your touchpad, noticing its speed and acceleration.

2. Menu -> Shutdown -> Exit to prompt

3. Run xorgwizard and make your usual choices.

4. Run xwin and try your touchpad. Notice that the speed and/or acceleration will have changed.


o Background:

In June and August of 2010, the developers at X.org made significant changes to the way that the synaptics touchpad driver handles acceleration. These changes were first released in version 1.3.0 of the synaptics driver on August 31, 2010 (See synaptics-1.3-branch), in the same month that Xorg X server 1.9.0 was released. Because of these changes, the values for the "AccelFactor", "MinSpeed", and "MaxSpeed" options previously specified in xorg.conf for use with earlier versions of the synaptics driver were no longer appropriate. Using those values with the new driver would make the pointer movement noticeably sluggish.

Puppy's xorgwizard-automatic script handles these changes by adjusting the "Synaptics Mouse" section of xorg.conf that it creates according to the version of the Xorg X server being used.

Slacko's /etc/DISTRO_SPECS file defines DISTRO_XORG_AUTO='yes', and the Xorg X server in Slacko 5.3.3 is version 1.9.5. So, when xwin sees that the xorg.conf file needs to be created, and that an Xorg X server version 1.7.0 or newer is to be used, it runs xorgwizard-automatic instead of xorgwizard. So far, this is good.

When xorgwizard-automatic detects a supported touchpad, and sees that an Xorg X server version 1.9.0 or newer is to be used, it creates an "InputDevice" section in xorg.conf for the "Synaptics Mouse", which doesn't load any options for the driver. So the driver uses its default settings. This is also good.


o The problem:

But, if the user decides to run xorgwizard (not xorgwizard-automatic) to choose a different screen resolution or whatever, xorgwizard behaves differently. This is because, when creating the "Synaptics Mouse" section, xorgwizard compares the Xorg X server version to 1.10.0, not 1.9.0 as xorgwizard-automatic does.

When xorgwizard detects a supported touchpad, and sees that an Xorg X server version older than 1.10.0 is used, it creates an "InputDevice" section in xorg.conf for the "Synaptics Mouse", which loads various options for the driver. Some of these settings are very different from the driver's default settings, since they were originally used with older versions of the synaptics driver. The user will likely notice that the pointer moves much more slowly than previously. This is not good.

The fix is simply to change this line in xorgwizard:
Code:
 if vercmp $XORGVER lt 1.10.0;then #110701

to:
Code:
 if vercmp $XORGVER lt 1.9.0; then #110701, 121014

(Having an XOrg X server 1.9.0 or greater is not an absolute guarantee that the synaptics driver is 1.3.0 or greater, or vice versa, but it is highly probable. Of course, there was a brief window in late August of 2010 when someone could have grabbed the latest versions and got the X server 1.9.0 and the old synaptics 1.2.0 driver, but I'm not aware of any Puppies with that unlikely combination.)

Note that if the user ran flsynclient before ever running xorgwizard, didn't adjust the acceleration, but did click Save, the good values will have been saved and should be restored when rebooted. In this case, one might reasonably expect that even if the user later runs xorgwizard, the user would experience a sluggish pointer only briefly until the load-touchpad-settings script ran and restored the good settings.

Unfortunately, that is not the case. Although the good settings are restored, the actual speed and/or acceleration of the touchpad are not the same as they were when first booted. Without digging deeply into the source code, my best guess is that one or more internal values are now calculated when the driver first starts, based on the speed and acceleration values at that time, and those internal values don't get recalculated when MinSpeed, MaxSpeed, and AccelFactor values later get reset. That's just a guess at what's happening, but whatever is happening, the bottom line is that if you change the values that are used when the driver is first loaded, values loaded later will cause different behavior than the same values did previously.

Let me clarify. Although the values saved by flsynclient (that previously worked well before the user ran xorgwizard) will result in different behavior after the user runs xorgwizard, it may be possible for the user to then use flsynclient again and achieve acceptable (but not ideal) behavior by changing the MinSpeed and Max Speed values. And, if saved, those new values will continue to work on future restarts of X, unless the synaptics options in xorg.cong are changed again (as would happen if the user ran xorgwizard-automatic again).

Unfortunately, any attempt to adjust the acceleration with flsynclient will probably result in less acceleration than desired. This is because flsynclient was designed for the older versions of the synaptics driver, which used smaller values for "AccelFactor". The limit in flsynclient is 0.01, but a typical value for use with the new driver (when using a Synaptics touchpad) is 0.04. (If the value is already above flsynclient's 0.01 limit, flsynclient will save that value OK, but any attempt to change the value will result in a value of 0.01 or less.) If a user runs into this problem, it can be fixed with synclient, like so:
Code:
synclient AccelFactor=0.04


(If one has time for such things, one can observe some of the confusing behavior of the new synaptics driver by setting the MinSpeed option in xorg.conf to any value other than one. (To see this, the /root/.flSynclient file, if any, will need to be temporarily removed or hidden to prevent the values from being overwritten by load-touchpad-settings after restarting X.) After X is restarted, synclient -l will list the current values. Confusingly, the values that were given in xorg.conf for MinSpeed and MaxSpeed will have been changed by the driver. They have been multiplied by the reciprocal of MinSpeed. (Looking at the source code, I see that MinSpeed isn't actually multiplied by its reciprocal, but is simply set to one, which is of course the same result.) Is this any way to design a user-friendly interface? Smile)


o Not a problem, but while we are in the neighborhood:

As a side note, the following line that appears in three places in both xorgwizard and xorgwizard-automatic is now unnecessary:
Code:
   Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"

I believe it was used with Linux 2.4 kernels. The line that follows it sets the "auto-dev" protocol, which automatically sets a /dev/input/event* device when used with 2.6 and newer kernels.

So recent Xorg X servers (including Xorg 1.9.5 in Slacko) mostly ignore the Option "Device" "/dev/psaux" line. But for some reason the Xorg 1.11.0 X server is confused by this line, if it finds it in xorg.conf, and will fail. But this is NOT a problem for any Puppy, since neither xorgwizard nor xorgwizard-automatic put that line in xorg.conf when an Xorg X server 1.10.0 or newer is to be used. So no change to Puppy needs to be made for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 19:42    Post subject:  

Bravo npierce!

Nice post and a link in the main post has been added directed to your post.

Thanks.

----------------------------------

I have developed a simple updates manager to complement the posted patches repo.

See main post

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 07:17    Post subject:  

Great work npierce.

I have noticed the behaviour and used flsynclient to sort myself out. Now I know why it happens. You must have spent a lot of time researching and checking code.

Thanks for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 11 [160 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1166s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]