Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 01:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox official releases
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1798
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2012, 15:44    Post_subject:  

Hm? Do you have the option under the View menu:
View > Toolbars > Tabs on Top

(I'm running 15.0.1, too, and it's there. Smile )

What is the size of your /root/.mozilla/firefox directory? Have you tried emptying the cache?
Also, you might try using an extension to attempt to keep the places database down to more tolerable levels (one hopes), like Vacuum Places Improved.

Edit: Oops, almost forgot. Since you mentioned you reset Firefox, you might also go into the Preferences, Security tab, and check on the "Block reported..." settings. Those tend to create a large (local) listing of blacklisted sites, and can grow to be fairly larger, too. (Though I don't remember what the filenames are, if you want to delete them manually, or whether or not they're removed if you uncheck those two "Block reported..." settings. Embarassed )

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sakamoto

Joined: 30 Jun 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 17 Sep 2012, 22:05    Post_subject:  

Tman wrote:
sakamoto wrote:
I am getting the Forbidden message?


Sorry about that. It is now fixed. I didn't realize that the pet2sfs script I was using, was doing that. I guess I should fix that script now.


Thanks Tman - confirmed working Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 19:32    Post_subject:  

I have uploaded pets and sfs files for Firefox-16.0.1.
I have also moved the download location and grouped all of my generic pets into 1 single folder.
As usual, the download link is on the first post of this thread.

The pets now start with lowercase letters and the sfs files start with uppercase.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3385
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 20:12    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Security issue with first release of Firefox 16
 

IN making new PET packages for Firefox 16, are they the ones that include the security fix discovered after that upgrade was released?
This link http://sociable.co/web/mozilla-urges-users-to-upgrade-firefox-after-security-flaw-found/ explains it further.

I only ask because the article stated that a great number of downloads had been made before the security issue was identified and the upgrade of Firefox 16 patched.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 20:37    Post_subject:  

Hi 8-bit,

Yes, version 16.0.1 fixes that security issue. Here are the release notes

Also, I have re-uploaded the SFS for Firefox-16.0.1
If you downloaded the first SFS and it did not ask you if you wanted to make Firefox the default browser, etc.. on the first run, then that one is defective... sorry for the inconvienence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 16:24    Post_subject:  

Hi Tman
Please tell everyone to download the langpacks for latest Firefox from here and the locale switcher extension from here. I have less time since I changed job, and I can't maintain those downloads at the same pace of the releases. The given links update automatically when a new version of Firefox is released.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon 29 Oct 2012, 21:51    Post_subject:  

vicmz wrote:
Hi Tman
Please tell everyone to download the langpacks for latest Firefox from here and the locale switcher extension from here. I have less time since I changed job, and I can't maintain those downloads at the same pace of the releases. The given links update automatically when a new version of Firefox is released.


Sure vicmz, but I have never installed any language packs for Firefox, so before I post the links on the first post of this thread, please explain where to install these language pack files.. thanks in advance.

I've noticed that Firefox has released version 16.0.2 ... I am feeling a bit lazy today, but I will make updated pet and sfs soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Tue 30 Oct 2012, 16:54    Post_subject:  

Tman wrote:
vicmz wrote:
Hi Tman
Please tell everyone to download the langpacks for latest Firefox from here and the locale switcher extension from here. I have less time since I changed job, and I can't maintain those downloads at the same pace of the releases. The given links update automatically when a new version of Firefox is released.


Sure vicmz, but I have never installed any language packs for Firefox, so before I post the links on the first post of this thread, please explain where to install these language pack files.. thanks in advance.

I've noticed that Firefox has released version 16.0.2 ... I am feeling a bit lazy today, but I will make updated pet and sfs soon.


Both the language packs and the locale_switcher are installed as extensions, something that users can do themselves. Tell them to install the extensions and then activate the desired language by going to Tools > Languages and selecting the language. As you can see in the attached images, there is no need for you to include this feature built in into your PET or SFS. But if you feel like doing it, you can simply include the locale_switcher and the langpacks for the six languages that are more popular in the murga-linux community: Spanish (es-ES), French (fr), German (de), Russian (ru), Chinese (zh-CN, zh-TW, where CN is simplified and TW is traditional), and Japanese (ja).
capture32717.png
 Description   
 Filesize   45.85 KB
 Viewed   1556 Time(s)

capture32717.png

capture31798.png
 Description   
 Filesize   110.35 KB
 Viewed   1539 Time(s)

capture31798.png

capture856.png
 Description   
 Filesize   177.16 KB
 Viewed   1528 Time(s)

capture856.png


_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 19:50    Post_subject:  

Thanks, vicmz. I have placed the needed links on the first post of this thread.

Firefox-16.0.2 pet and sfs have been uploaded. I am growing weary of Firefox's new release cycle..it makes previous versions become out-of-date way too fast.
I would ditch Firefox completely for Opera, if Opera had something similar to the "Downthemall" download accelerator app (available for Firefox), which I use almost every day, when I'm on the Internet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 09:48    Post_subject:  

How about telling how do you compile Firefox and inviting other users to help? I think at least a couple of users would join.
_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 23:46    Post_subject:  

vicmz wrote:
How about telling how do you compile Firefox and inviting other users to help? I think at least a couple of users would join.


There is a thread on how to compile Firefox -> here

But these official releases were not compiled by me. I download the pre-compiled compressed file from Mozilla's website -> here. I did however make custom scripts for it, and placed the main files into unique folder names, in order to get Firefox to work the way I want it to. It doesn't really take me that long, since I use older pets as a template, but since I am doing other things, and not just making pets for firefox, it makes me feel like every time I blink, there's a new firefox release. Well, okay... I'm exaggerating, but I think you get the picture.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 10:28    Post_subject:  

Tman wrote:
it makes me feel like every time I blink, there's a new firefox release. Well, okay... I'm exaggerating, but I think you get the picture.


Take it easy, simply tell everyone you aren't able to compile every single update of Firefox. Behind each user name there is a person who needs to work, eat and sleep. Everyone is aware of the Firefox cycle, many people just use certain versions until a major upgrade is released. Even for less frequent updates it is unrealistic to expect one user to package all new releases. You know, less pressure, more fun. Very Happy

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1778
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2012, 09:55    Post_subject:  

hi tman,

the new script that you are using to start firefox is problematic. for instance if i click a link in pidgin or other program, instead of opening a tab in an already open firefox, the open firefox is killed, and a new instance started!! this can cause loss of pages, emails, downloads in progress etc.

it also makes having more than one instance of firefox open impossible.

thanks for the .pets though Smile

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 21:49    Post_subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi tman,

the new script that you are using to start firefox is problematic. for instance if i click a link in pidgin or other program, instead of opening a tab in an already open firefox, the open firefox is killed, and a new instance started!! this can cause loss of pages, emails, downloads in progress etc.

it also makes having more than one instance of firefox open impossible.

thanks for the .pets though Smile


Thanks for the feedback. By default, you can run multiple instances of Firefox when launching it from the main menu. I have made /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to only allow one instance of Firefox. It contains the following code:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
yaf-splash -bg red -fg white -timeout 2 -text "loading.." &
killall firefox 2>/dev/null
sleep 0.3
exec firefox "$@"


If you want defaultbrowser to allow for more than one instance of firefox, remove the portion that says "killall firefox 2>/dev/null"
However, if Firefox crashes, you will may need to enter killall firefox from the terminal to get it running again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1465
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 05:22    Post_subject:  

Hi Tman

Thanks for these pets and sfs's

Some feedback from trying the pet on LxPup 12.12 which is based on Pemasu's Upup-Precise.....but uses LXDE and PCManFM instead of JWM and rox.

Had to change the category in the desktop file in /usr/share/applications to: WebBrowser
before I could get Firefox to show up in the menu.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0988s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]