Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 20:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.3.4.12 with 3.4.2 kernel.
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 86 of 89 [1330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89 Next
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 818
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sun 21 Oct 2012, 17:05    Post subject: Gprated problem in 5.X.3.4.12  

Hi pemasu,

rcrsn51 mentioned this before:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=658532#658532
While attempting to create a bootable USB-Key frugal install of Exprimo 5.X.3.4.12, I called up gparted intending to reformat the Key. Gparted 0.7.0 in Exprimo 5.X.3.4.12 with 3.4.2 kernel did not recognize the partition table on a Fat32 USB-Key created using some other OS (Don't recall which). Lupu 5.28 does, and Exprimo is able to browse the folders on that Key. Reformatting using either Lupu or the latest Slacko did not create a partition table recognized by Exprimo, and without such table, Exprimo's Gparted could do nothing with it. Precise recognized the table. So did Exprimo 5.X.3..6.2.1 with kernel 3.6.2. Formatting using Exprimo 5.X.3.6.2.2 also produced a partition table unrecognized by Exprimo 5.X.3.4.12.
Another piece of the puzzle: After formatting using 5.X.3.6.2.1, I switched back to 3.4.12 and attempted to install Grub4Dos. Although, while using 3.6.2.1's gparted, I had set the flag to "boot," 3.4.12's Grub4Dos reported that the no flag had been set or it couldn't find it, or something.. Switching back to 3.6.3.1, I had no problem installing Grub4Dos to the Key and creating a bootable Puppy.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1020
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2012, 02:44    Post subject: redundant network connection at startup ?  

Hi Pemasu,
this happens on 5.X.3.4.12 as and 5.X.3.6.2 as well:

my PC is connected with one or two others on an internal ethernet network;

This happened once that the ethernet connection went broken for any reason - this happened using FF14, 15, and now 16.0.1.

Restarting X did not help to get the ethernet connection again.

I would have found a solution whitout need to reboot.
So, as i did not know what to do, i did as on puppies 412, 420 etc..., i went into menu and activated the good-old-manual-internet-connection-wizard.

Using SNS, I finanly got an ethernet connection again ... but before that, exprimo seemed to perform several trials to get the ethernet (i.e. eth0) again:
- there were displayed several times the splash withe/blue-dog-head telling «eth0 is down»;and then nothing more.
- running Simple Network Settings reports that there is no erh0 connection ;
- aftrwds running there DHCP helps to get the internet connection again;

Now when rebooting, i got two times displayed the splash withe/blue-dog-head telling two times one after the other
- «Recquiring IP adress for eth0»
and afterwards, two times again
- «IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xx acquired for eth0» (note: xxx.xxx.xxx.xx is one of my IP adesses)

So Exprimo now looks as if it has two network connection search running parallel;

Now, i left whit the question: «how to get back the eth0 when broken without rebooting?» and without using SNS?

Thanks for any help

Cheers,
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2012, 09:41    Post subject:  

Charlie6. You have 2 dhcpcd running...that is the reason. It behaves as it should when you use SNS without disabling Frisbee first.
If you dont disable Frisbee and you use SNS....you should have 2 parallel dhcpcd running.

You should use first Menu > Network > Frisbee enable-disable manager and disable Frisbee with it and reboot. There is some connections still alive if you dont reboot.
....Or suffer the conflicting 2 dhpcd connections...which probably does not do good for connections. Very Happy

About those losing network connections....I cant say anything reasonable/sensible atm.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 114
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2012, 14:06    Post subject: boundary in rox
Subject description: to select a file or folder with keyboard in rox filer
 

hi pemasu,
i'm very like the aurora2 gtktheme. it's look like apple, great. Smile. But when I open rox filer, then i want to select a file by keyboard, i have difficult to choose where's the file i select.
i just discovered a way to show the box bounding a file/folder when we select that in rox filer.
there is in /root/.gtkrc.mine, i add a small gtk script and i put a "select.png" in midi-icons. i make it to a pet file.
after install this pet, please select a gtktheme and then apply.
go to rox filer, now we can see that.
thanks in advance
focusrox.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  focusrox.pet 
Filesize  1.1 KB 
Downloaded  531 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 22 Oct 2012, 16:53    Post subject:  

Thanks recobayu. select.png will be added to the next release surely.
Thank you ! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1020
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 02:12    Post subject:  

Hi Pemasu,
Quote:
About those losing network connections....

what to do then when network/internet connection has been lost ...? and also whitout need to reboot?

Btw, i disabled Frisbee ...thanks for your reply ...i was not aware of that menu entry ... nor that Frisbee is used for network connection neither ... so thanks for the lesson Smile !
Now there is only one blue-white-dog-telling-«IP...acquired on eth0»

Cheers, Charlie
ps: i did not find the name of the icon of blue-white-dog-telling ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 73
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 09:33    Post subject: gecko media player always crashing  

I'm still using dpup exprimo 3.2.14.2, but media player plugin is crashing all the time.
Maybe that's because it's version 1.0.6.b1?
I want to upgrade it to 1.0.6, but that's a tar.gz file.
I downloaded it, but how do i get that into firefox and working?
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 12:46    Post subject:  

Bruno. Sorry. I have jumped to the 1.0.7b version staight. To get gnome-mplayer and gecko-mediaplayer to compile. You need first gmtk-dev of that version. I have them for those versions I have compiled. Then you compile gnome-mplayer and gecko-mediaplayer from those ....tar.gz source packages.

So....the package you found is for compiling, it is source package. How to compile....it is another story and there is whole compiling thread dedicated in this forum....I dont repeat info found there....here.

But if you want that latest version.....I can upload them to the exprimo repo. I dont upload all the inbuild stuff...which changes frequently....like gnome-mplayer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 73
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 04:25    Post subject: mplayer  

Oh thanks pemasu
Yes compiling is too complicated for me, I'm just a user of puppy, I don't know anything about compiling Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 10:35    Post subject: Re: redundant network connection at startup ?  

charlie6 wrote:
This happened once that the ethernet connection went broken for any reason - this happened using FF14, 15, and now 16.0.1.

Restarting X did not help to get the ethernet connection again.

I would have found a solution whitout need to reboot.

If something goes amiss with my ethernet connection, I open a terminal and kill the current dhcpcd and then start a new one:

dhcpcd -k
dhcpcd


It works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1020
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2012, 16:53    Post subject: Re: redundant network connection at startup ?  

Hi Shep,
Shep wrote:
charlie6 wrote:
... ethernet connection went broken for any reason... would have found a solution whitout need to reboot.

If something goes amiss with my ethernet connection, I open a terminal and kill the current dhcpcd and then start a new one:

dhcpcd -k
dhcpcd


It works for me

Thanks a lot ! That's what i needed Smile
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuph


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 128
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 10:00    Post subject:  

pemasu and all

xset-ssm2: a xset screensaver written with BaCon 1.0 build 26
OS: Puppy Linux Dpup Exprimo 3.4.2 .12, using devx_squeeze.
Laptop i686 1GHz 512Mb. Executable is for i386 and above.

After I had a better understanding of how to use the xset screensaver (see my previous post), I wrote a BASH script to correctly handle it. Next I wanted to create a GUI.

I went for BaCon. Not only did I write the dialog with BaCon but also all other handling of xset.

I also wanted to write a help file to inform the user of how the program works, but then I realized that there is nothing better than a graphical representation of what the program is doing. Run the program to see what I mean.

The executable is in C and should run immediately.

The attached file contains:

- Icons: these reside in the same directory as the executable.
- The executable.
- The .bac source file.

Put the executable and icons in a directory of your choice and run it.

The program writes some default values to xset and creates settings file /root/.xsetsaved. After that, these settings can be retrieved, changed and saved again for a next boot. Any changes are on-the-fly and effective immediately, unless canceled.

I'm by no means an experienced programmer and a newby to BaCon (as I am to Puppy). My code is not very clean and efficient. I'm learning along the way. Nevertheless I wanted to share this program and am curious to hear if it works on your system. Maybe I missed something…

Note 1: the program assumes that /root/.xset.sh is present at boot and executed by pupx. Is that true for all Puppies? If /root/.xset.sh is not present, it will be generated.

Note2: xset knows two screensaver modes, regular screensaver mode and DPMS (power saving or Energy Star) mode. The first blanks the screen with or without a simple animation. The latter has three submodes of which I only use the "off" mode, while skipping "standby" and "suspend" mode. Originally, screensaver- and DPMS mode work in parallel. In my program, DPMS mode follows screensaver mode, time wise.

I look forward to any comments.
xset-ssm-2.tar.gz
Description  Update. Copy the icons to /usr/share/pixmaps.
gz

 Download 
Filename  xset-ssm-2.tar.gz 
Filesize  47.63 KB 
Downloaded  477 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4386
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2012, 23:09    Post subject: Audio distortion analyzer  

Anyone using a native Linux/Puppy audio distortion analyzer?

Can you share a little about the contrast with a hardware device e.g. a HP 339a or an Amber 3501, please?

Thanks!

David

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 05:51    Post subject:  

Here's an SFS for Iron-22.0.1250.0.Stable-for-Lucid that works for Exprimo.

DELETED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 13:22    Post subject:  

Rebuilt in Exprimo....it's 7M smaller and has a menu.

http://jpeters.net/apps/Iron-22.0.1250.0.Stable.sfs

193d299cc81b8e8d2a74ee15d1306021 Iron-22.0.1250.0.Stable.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 86 of 89 [1330 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1146s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0258s) ][ GZIP on ]