Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 14:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 08:20    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:

It's a pity because I do have some spare upload bandwidth at the moment.
Ok, ran this:
Code:
 transmission-create -t udp://tracker.openbittorrent.com:80/announce precise-5.4.iso

It's in the same post.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 08:42    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.4  

Installed Precise Puppy 5.4 on my Athlon 2GHz, 2 MB RAM machine with nvidia GeForce FX 5200 graphics card using my old save file from RC2. Updated perfectly (although I had to change the wallpaper manually).

glxgears with nvidia 172.14.35 driver ca. 3150 fps
sound works
automatic network connection works
Opera 12.02 stand alone and Seamonkey flashplayer work
VirtualBox 4.1.18 works
PPM works

Booted without save file adding nouveau.modeset=0 to kernel line. Loads with vesa driver, desktop fine, but very slow - glxgears 37 fps.

Looking good!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 734
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 08:48    Post subject:  

Updated 01micko's torrent to include many more trackers, which should help a few people get it going - and remember, seed seed seed

Edit: Also added retroprecise non PAE torrent
retroprecise-5.4.iso.torrent.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  retroprecise-5.4.iso.torrent.zip 
Filesize  30.49 KB 
Downloaded  629 Time(s) 
precise-5.4.iso.torrent.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  precise-5.4.iso.torrent.bz2 
Filesize  26.1 KB 
Downloaded  702 Time(s) 

Last edited by p310don on Fri 26 Oct 2012, 17:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1810

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 08:55    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
mavrothal wrote:

It's a pity because I do have some spare upload bandwidth at the moment.
Ok, ran this:
Code:
 transmission-create -t udp://tracker.openbittorrent.com:80/announce precise-5.4.iso

It's in the same post.


Now it works fine.
You may want to get/merge p310don's torrent or just add it to your post.
Torrent clients will just pickup the extra announcers

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 09:00    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
Updated 01micko's torrent to include many more trackers, which should help a few people get it going - and remember, seed seed seed
Changed to zip compression and reuploaded to second post (I'm kinda new at this .. as if it doesn't show Razz )

Main reason is the wiki link (ty Lobster) points to my post and it's getting heavily downloaded.. BTW I'm still seeding Smile .

mavrothal wrote:
You may want to..
1 step ahead Wink (please check)
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 09:06    Post subject:  

5.4: technically rather nice.
It doesn't like SiS video (in common with others) - black screens, struggle to get a VESA picture. But it does like the Cohiba/Wiston/p054g dongle. Doesn't do ISA and says so. Likes Flash, already installed.
Still don't like the wallpaper and icons! C'est la vie.
Where to next - don't think it would take too much to boost Racy from v.g. to pure excellence?Anyone for a slice of Pi?
Like this, don't like that. Do I like FaceTube? No.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 11:00    Post subject:  

Since Precise 5.4 is still giving me black screens sometimes
at bootup on all three of my machines here, I'd appreciate
a check on my CD burning (which I always do low 4X speed).
The MD5 of my puppy_precise_5.4.sfs is:
AE88A8C227D3EA6F68B824EE0BD17BD3

Test machine 1 is a Dell Dimension 2350 with P4 1.8 ghz,
768 meg RAM and Intel video driver

Test machine 2 is a Dell Precision 330, P4 1.7 ghz,
768 meg RAM and video card Nvidia (but Puppy
Personal setting claims it's using Vesa)

Test machine 3 is a IBM Net Vista, P4 2.0 ghz,
512 meg RAM, Intel chipset and video

Windows XP and other puppies run fine on these
PCs.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9263
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 11:04    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
The MD5 of my puppy_precise_5.4.sfs is: E88A8C227D3EA6F68B824EE0BD17BD3

That is correct. Is this happening after you have made a savefile with a working video setup?

Does it happen after hard or soft reboots?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master One

Joined: 23 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 11:34    Post subject:  

Hi there,

I am new to Puppy in search for an alternative to Lubuntu since they dropped non-PAE support with the 12.10 release, because I have an IBM ThinkPad T42p with Pentium M processor.

So I am eagerly awaiting the release with non-PAE kernel, to give Precise Puppy 5.4 a try.

BTW Will there be a 64bit edition of Precise Puppy 5.4? Is that what "Fatdog64" is about?

Greetings from Austria,
Master One
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 12:14    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 ... thanks for responding. Yes, save files are made. In all my
tests I do frugals to hard drive. Video is working ok. The (mostly)
black screens occur after hard reboots (reboot PC). Since the bottom
toolbar still works I can use menu and do a Restart X Server which
fixes the problem for that session (unless the wrong video driver has
been chosen in which case all you get is a completely white screen
or gibberish screen and you can't even get into menu).

The black screens at bootup seem to occur randomly. It's hard
to judge their frequency of occurance since I can't sit here all day
rebooting different test machines in order to do statistics Smile But
very roughly I'd say it happens at least 1 out of 5 hard reboots.
Like flipping coins, sometimes I get streaks of several in a row.
All three of my machines behave the same in this regard.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 12:16    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 ... thanks for responding. Yes, save files are made. In all my
tests I do frugals to hard drive. Video is working ok. The (mostly)
black screens occur after hard reboots (reboot PC). Since the bottom
toolbar still works I can use menu and do a Restart X Server which
fixes the problem for that session (unless the wrong video driver has
been chosen in which case all you get is a completely white screen
or gibberish screen and you can't even get into menu).

The black screens at bootup seem to occur randomly. It's hard
to judge their frequency of occurance since I can't sit here all day
rebooting different test machines in order to do statistics Smile But
very roughly I'd say it happens at least 1 out of 5 hard reboots.
Like flipping coins, sometimes I get streaks of several in a row.
All three of my machines behave the same in this regard.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 12:19    Post subject:  

Quote:
still giving me black screens

- follow my previous strategy: use <puppy pfix=ram, nox vga=nromal screen=800x600>
That means you can always get back to a visual prompt where you can do the xorgwizard, then xwin business with probing, choosing & VESA until you hit a winning combination.
Can't imagine incomers bothering, but the regulars around here know most of these tricks.
If you've got SiS chipsets it might be better advice to give up and settle for Mint! Additionally, don't try multi-booting with 'doze if you're a new lad, it can drive you crazy - cheaper to buy a separate used 80Gb drive from eBay for a few quid. Maybe someone will give you an old HD - that's the big advantage of compact Linux distros, they don't use up much space even when decompressed for a FULL installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1172
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 13:11    Post subject:  

Hi BarryK,

I rarely try new versions of Puppy because Slacko 5.3.1 suits my needs, but with Precise Puppy 5.4 waving a Long Term Support (LTS) tag and with yourself as the author I have tried this Puppy.

It's provided my fastest experience to date when loading SeaMonkey and PPM and I very much like your choice of clean, clear displays and have made no theme or background changes.

Thank you so much for all your development work and earlier Puppies and for Precise Puppy which is intuitive and a real pleasure to use and I'll continue exploring it occasionally.

However, I started using Slacko on your personal recommendation and since 2011 I've added apps and made small tweaks to my entire satisfaction so I'll stick with it.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 824
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 13:19    Post subject: Precise 5.4 working fine, one exception  

Hi Barry K & all,

Manual Frugal Install to computer with:
Processor: 4x AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor
Memory: 3375MB
ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics supporting 1600x900 pixels
RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: VT1708B Analog
SB {HDA ATI SB], device 1: VT1708B Digital

OOTB everything, including Ati Radeon Graphics, working well and able to use all my usual applications and configurations, with one exception. I was able to clear up the occasional indistinct dialogue text by changing from the stark-bluish theme to the Gradient-bluish theme.
The one exception is that I run gimp and expected to be able to use the gimp-2.8.-precise.sfs. When it would not start from the menu, I attempted to start it from the terminal. That reported that it was aborted because of a dbus problem: malformed or misplaced --sorry I don't recall exactly. I don't recall experiencing that in prior versions of precise. 5.4, however, was able to run gimp-2.7.2.sfs. Not sure where I got that from.

@ Master One:
Barry K has indicated his intention to publish a new non-pae version of precise, with instructions for those interested to periodically check his blog. See first post of this thread for link to same. If your unwilling to wait, there are two non-pae versions by Barry K available from http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/test/ and another from oldyeller, I believe to still be available from the link on this thread:http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80473. At least one of them worked well from a USB-Key plugged into my T42. I don't recall which as, about a month ago, I mailed the key to my son who has a T51 (almost the same specs).
If you don't mind a little trip, an easy way to find out which worked is to make arrangements to meet him. He's currently in Munich.
To my knowledge, no one has either built nor indicated an intention to build a 64-bit puplet using ubuntu precise binaries. Fatdog64 is, I believe either a T2 build or built using Slackware binaries. I believe tazoc's Lighthouse64 5.14.2 is, and his planned 5.15 RC1 will be, Slackware constructions.

I, too, would like to see a 64-bit precise. But not for the T42 which I don't believe is able to handle a 64-bit operating system.

mikesLr

p.s. Sorry, I forgot that Jejy69's Mate, using the gnome desktop, is also available: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=79943

Last edited by mikeslr on Tue 23 Oct 2012, 14:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 767
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 23 Oct 2012, 14:01    Post subject:  

Sage said:
Still don't like the wallpaper and icons! C'est la vie.
Where to next - don't think it would take too much


1)Hopefully Jejy69 will do his excellent LXDE makeover.
2)If pemasu also added his very special technical magic to Precise.

We would then have two outstanding Puppy’s.

3)If then another Puppy maestro (who said ttuuxxx) also did a non-pae version.

I strongly suspect virtually everyone would be very happy.

4)Yes - a 64bit version from kirk & jamesbond.

That would really do it.

Anyway - as it is Precise seems good - many thanks BK.

Very best regards - Ray

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1058s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]