Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 00:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
kooliepup


Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Victoria, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 24 Oct 2012, 22:35    Post subject:  

Blammo2525 wrote:

Thanks. I opted for boot-run to memory via cd and save session to USB. It's cool but IMNSHO the installer is complete idiocy.
I like the setup and may alter a few things and re-do it with remastersys. The package manager is a bit of a farce as well.


I won't make comment on the installer and package manager, but I have often wished I could use Remastersys on Puppy, the same as I do on Buntu.
It has never been such a big deal as to bother restructuring Puppy, or creating a convoluted script so as to use it, but if you do, and would like to share with us an easy way to do it, you will have at least one fan. Smile

Keep in touch.

_________________
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3468
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 00:07    Post subject:  

peebee :

Many thanks for the Frisbee and Broadcom43 fixes
for the Dell Studio XPS.

I modified my comments.

Regards....Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3468
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 00:11    Post subject:  

peebee :

Many thanks for the Frisbee and Broadcom43 fixes
for the Dell Studio XPS.

I modified my comments.

Regards....Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 04:21    Post subject: gettext line in filemnt  

I noticed one line without gettext in /usr/sbin/filemnt. It's line 93 and it should be something like this:
Code:
pupmessage -bg '#FF8080' "`eval_gettext \"Sorry \\\$imgFile is already mounted and in-use by Puppy
on \\\$MNTDIMG_MNT_PT from \\\$MNTDIMG\"`"    #120220
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LoboGrande

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 04:56    Post subject: Iron 22 and Chromium problems  

Old my not quite ancient machine(P4/478/3.4ghz/Asus mobo) Iron 22 won't open Shock Wave Flash and Chromium won't open at all in PP 5.4.

Everything in SeaMonkey is actually working right out of the box for once. I haven't tested FF-16.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 05:01    Post subject:  

I plan to use this code. is it okay?

title Puppy Linux Precise
kernel (hd0,1)/Precise/vmlinuz PMEDIA=satahd PDEV1=sda2 psubdir=Precise pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,1)/Precise/initrd.gz

Edit well it booted and SeaMonkey do Flash
without need of install. Have not checked version.

One big problem for noobs that have small Netbook
and want to use bigger external screen is that the
set up says it has 1024 x 768 but the picture program
still display in 1024 x 600. So I will try to find grandr
or to install that one? To fix it?

Edit after install of Grandr and doing also set up change
of resolution. It fails. I guess I have to manually edit the file?

I don't trust that a noob feel for doing such?

What else to test?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1544
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 07:14    Post subject: Re: Iron 22 and Chromium problems  

LoboGrande wrote:
Old my not quite ancient machine(P4/478/3.4ghz/Asus mobo) Iron 22 won't open Shock Wave Flash and Chromium won't open at all in PP 5.4.

Everything in SeaMonkey is actually working right out of the box for once. I haven't tested FF-16.


Which version of Chromium??

Try:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=659962#659962

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 07:54    Post subject:  

Added torrent file for retroprecise-5.4 NON PAE. See second post of the topic. I'll seed for awhile.

NOTE: Barry states this is "unofficial"..

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 09:36    Post subject:  

Tests so far of retroprecise 5.4 are positive concerning the 'mostly
black screen' problem I've experienced testing the PAE version.

Tests done on my Dell 2350 having P4 1.8 ghz cpu and 768 meg
RAM. Frugal install of retro and after 15 "hard" or machine reboots I
so far see no black screens at all. There is no way I could reboot
this many times using PAE version without seeing quite a number
of black screens at startup.

I have two more similar but different PCs here to test on as I
described in a earlier post. l'll test retro 5.4 on them later doing
at least 10 hard reboots on each.

My offer still stands to test a modified PAE version as well.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9356
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 09:41    Post subject:  

The PDF problem discussed here is still present. Or do other users not see it? As a work-around, install the attached version from Slacko. It also reverts the libpoppler library. Please provide feedback.
epdfview_precise_revert-0.1.8.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  epdfview_precise_revert-0.1.8.pet 
Filesize  979.79 KB 
Downloaded  535 Time(s) 

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Thu 25 Oct 2012, 10:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 10:13    Post subject:  

Don't have a machine with own server nor torrent running at present. The ibiblio d/l is nearly finished after 3+ hours on my fastish ~20Mbps connection! Guessing that it will be the retro version and Racy, along with Slacko (of course) and Carolina that're receiving most attention and may well continue to do so. Regular Precise in PAE livery isn't doing at all bad, though, even on older machines once the black screen feature is worked around on SiS and co. All it needs is icon switching and wallpaper reloading... (shall I translate for those humorless doggies around here?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 670

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 10:22    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.4  

Problems with loading savefile light-encrypted ext2: no backdrop-image, the same error of slacko 5.3.1. I tried the same console command:

gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache

but I lost all the installations. Is it recoverable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 579
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 10:40    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.4  

Sage wrote:
Don't have a machine with own server nor torrent running at present. The ibiblio d/l is nearly finished after 3+ hours on my fastish ~20Mbps connection!

HI Sage,
I hate to see someone suffering. Assuming you have not emigrated Smile NLUUG is a lot
faster if you live in the UK (GB). It took me about 4/5 minutes to D/L 5.4.
My connection typically syncs at around 16245kbps. I do note however that sometimes
you can start to get a slow D/L from NLUUG. If you do just abort and try again.

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.4/

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 12:26    Post subject:  

Many thanks, ETP. I was fairly quick off the mark this morning so assumed it hadn't reached nluug at that time. Also rather busy and had to pop out, so left it running - this occasion it wasn't an issue. Just thought we should record it, esp. as BK has had problems with ibiblio in recent days.
It's up and running now OK. Getting this strange no (PS/2) mouse action recently and that helpful Tab toggled message doesn't help. Only way to get the mouse running up the clock is to reboot. Odd because this is on a liveCD. What possible effect can a reboot have when nothing is saved?! It doesn't occur with other distros, just a few Puppies???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1153

PostPosted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 13:53    Post subject:  

Fresh frugal install by AFI (Automated Frugal Installer, by RSH) on FAT32 format USB drive. Session file (.2fs) made by PupsaveConfig 2.4.4 by shinobar (to be able to choose whether to save or not).

Computer
Processor Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.66GHz
Family, model, stepping 15, 4, 9 (Pentium 4)
Memory 1025MB (68MB used)

Display
Resolution 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Mesa DRI Intel(R) 865G x86/MMX/SSE2

Multimedia
Audio Adapter ICH4 - Intel ICH5


Installed Opera 12.02 (DEB from official web site). Dependency check says these libraries are missing:
libcairo-gobject.so.2
libgdk-3.so.0
libgtk-3.so.0
libkdecore.so.5
libkdeui.so.5
libkio.so.5
libQtCore.so.4
libQtGui.so.4

However, Opera is running fine, the absence of these libraries is noticed only when I install Opera themes (the window remains maximized and I have to right-click on the taskbar then choose resize instead of clicking and holding a corner).

Installing Fotoxx, either existing PET from Lucid repo or DEB from Ubuntu repo, it complains that the Exif Tool is missing. Tried Image-ExifTool-8.71-i486.pet and ExifTool-8.66.pet from Puppy repo/Forum (don't remember), and libimage-exiftool-perl_8.60-2_all.deb from Ubuntu repo, the latter is recognised by Fotoxx from Ubuntu repo (although it isn't listed as required dependency when installing from PPM, a warning appears when Fotoxx is launched stating that libimage-exiftool-perl_8.60-2_all.deb is needed), and none of them are detected by Fotoxx from Lucid repo.

Java and Wine SFS from Lucid repo work fine.
precise600x450.png
 Description   
 Filesize   169.4 KB
 Viewed   2178 Time(s)

precise600x450.png


_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1021s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]