Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 21:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Problem with package manager in Precise Puppy 5.4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
garybullet

Joined: 27 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 11:07    Post subject:  Problem with package manager in Precise Puppy 5.4
Subject description: When I load new program, all font characters change to squares.
 

Hi all,

linux Precice puppy 5.4
Compaq Presario 2100
1gb ram
TENDA USB 150Mbps wireless N "pico" W311MI

I have just Installed linux Precice puppy 5.4, for the third time today.

Every time I try to install any program using puppy package manager, all characters in the dialog boxes change to squares. After rebooting all desktop Icons then change to red triangle warnings with exclamation marks, with the text also turning to squares.

What is happening, and how can I cure it?
Sad
Yours
Bullet
20121027_160104.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  20121027_160104.jpg 
Filesize  936.4 KB 
Downloaded  585 Time(s) 
20121027_160104.jpg
Description  Screen shot
jpg

 Download 
Filename  20121027_160104.jpg 
Filesize  936.4 KB 
Downloaded  547 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3965
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 13:18    Post subject:  

Hi Bullet- and Welcome.

While it's probably to do with your graphics card, I'd like ya to confirm these md5's..

Load your Precise cd. Mount it by clking if not auto-mounted, then open that console on your desktop.

Load this command, adjusting the sr0 bit to suit: find /mnt/sr0 -type f -print0 | xargs -0 md5sum

.. and compare against mine..
Code:
6a7ef1e62191f6f458ddaacdd881772d  /mnt/sr0/boot.cat
78711d0e5b913f585b0bd6f3520c6bce  /mnt/sr0/boot.msg
f20889b4aeb20c9f319b050696257297  /mnt/sr0/help.msg
d1cab7249c516253b22322d0995fa9b9  /mnt/sr0/help2.msg
38b12f839c3104b75bd796bbf29bfe19  /mnt/sr0/initrd.gz
c3f63545e554ce3a81907a5450e3d3ad  /mnt/sr0/isolinux.bin
9901e4383d29d44cc3acc431a227b4b7  /mnt/sr0/isolinux.cfg
cae684a72b7ed93ee12058a4b1074d4b  /mnt/sr0/logo.16
ae88a8c227d3ea6f68b824ee0bd17bd3  /mnt/sr0/puppy_precise_5.4.sfs
fb5b893f08f094d6ba7232fe8f2d813c  /mnt/sr0/README.HTM
6e84e38f94ef613a402f678df9d32cf4  /mnt/sr0/vmlinuz

They all check out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
garybullet

Joined: 27 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 14:23    Post subject: Sreen fault
Subject description: When I load new program, all font characters change to squares.
 

Hi Semme

Tried that command on a different laptop (runing ubuntu 12.4lts) but got

bullet@bullet-Aspire-5534:~$ find /mnt/sr0 -type f -print0 | xargs -0 md5sum
find: ‘/mnt/sr0’: No such file or directory
d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e -

My cd drive is sr0 so tried /dev/ in place of /mnt/

bullet@bullet-Aspire-5534:~$ find /dev/sr0 -type f -print0 | xargs -0 md5sum
d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e -
bullet@bullet-Aspire-5534:~$

Am none the wiser
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3965
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 16:04    Post subject:  

Hmm.. you get what to do?

In Ubuntu, and, assuming auto-mount's available- mount it.

The *mount* cmd'll show whether she's mounted or not with a response much like mine below..

/dev/sr0 on /mnt/sr0 type iso9660 (ro,relatime,iocharset=utf8)

Then: find /media/cdrom -type f -print0 | xargs -0 md5sum

Show me yours, mine are two posts up- compare. I'm fairly confident the above's gonna work..

==

What was your install disk burned with and at what speed?

Cheap media cd's or other- what brand?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 10:09    Post subject: Re: Sreen fault
Subject description: When I load new program, all font characters change to squares.
 

garybullet wrote:
Hi Semme

Tried that command on a different laptop (runing ubuntu 12.4lts) but got

bullet@bullet-Aspire-5534:~$ find /mnt/sr0 -type f -print0 | xargs -0 md5sum
find: ‘/mnt/sr0’: No such file or directory
d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e -

You didn't first mount the drive! Click on its icon on the desktop to mount your CD drive so you can get a directory listing, then try that line again.

P.S. for others following along, there are three zeros in that line, and no uppercase "o" anywhere! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhauff

Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 14:51    Post subject:  

I got the exact same problem on a Compaq Presario CQ60 running precise puppy.
Yesterday i reinstalled to fix it.
Today i installed firefox package ok, then trird to install lm-sensors which had a few dependencies. I don't think it finished, and i lost all desktop icons and fonts in the process. Fonts in the browser and menu still work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3965
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 16:47    Post subject:  

Rhauff- do the files on your disk check out?

Which card have you got there?
Code:
lspci -nn | grep VGA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhauff

Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 18:04    Post subject:  

Well, i"m not sure which files to check out... This is a hard drive install

I can't past the grep output as i can't read the screen on puppy to connect wifi, so I'm typing this on my tablet. VGA controller is NVIDIA GeForce 8200MG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3965
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 20:15    Post subject:  

HD install from cd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhauff

Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 21:07    Post subject:  

I used a usb stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3965
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 21:45    Post subject:  

Well, since I'm not sure whether there's a more recent driver available in your video upgrade wizard, you might be able to help yourself following some of the procedure outlined here. As I'm no authority, it's the best I can offer..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhauff

Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 22:39    Post subject:  

I don't know about the video driver idea, it was displaying fine until the package install.

I tried it on my usb flash install, however, and it installed lm-sensors and dependencies just fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zul

Joined: 05 Nov 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 13 Nov 2012, 06:17    Post subject:  

to fix that bug, just make a symbolic link directory of pango and gdk-pixbuff-20 in /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

#ln -s /usr/lib/pango /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/pango
#ln -s /usr/lib/gdk-pixbuff-2.0 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/gdk-pixbuff-2.0

then reboot and dont forget to change your wallpaper Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 251
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 13:28    Post subject:  

zul wrote:
to fix that bug, just make a symbolic link directory of pango and gdk-pixbuff-20 in /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

#ln -s /usr/lib/pango /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/pango
#ln -s /usr/lib/gdk-pixbuff-2.0 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/gdk-pixbuff-2.0

then reboot and dont forget to change your wallpaper Smile


THANK YOU! Very Happy

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0739s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]