Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 18:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
How about a .pet of Artha thesaurus / dictionary?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2338
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 22 Nov 2009, 01:25    Post subject: xclip -> thesaurus  

That works really well, thanks. I forgot about xclip; I used that (or maybe xsel) myself a year or so ago in something I was working on (foksyfeyer - a screen reader+espeak configured assembly of console apps for Puppy).
_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Sun 22 Nov 2009, 09:44    Post subject:  

Now I'm a little lost.

How do I connect your original command of:

<Key mask="A" key="t">exec:gaiksaurus</Key>

to your nifty script?

Apologies for my hard-of-thinking,
Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2338
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 22 Nov 2009, 11:12    Post subject:  

First you create an executable shell script called thesaurus using the new code provided by technosaurus.

Then you put that shell script in /usr/local/bin

then you use:

<Key mask="A" key="t">exec:thesaurus</Key>

[instead of exec:gaiksaurus]

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Sun 22 Nov 2009, 12:47    Post subject:  

Many thanks. I will give this a whirl.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Sun 22 Nov 2009, 21:56    Post subject:  

I made a pet here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=49249

It can also do text to speech and google search from the clipboard

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 777
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Nov 2009, 20:31    Post subject: Artha works fine in dPup 482beta4
Subject description: Thanks sikpuppy & mcewanw
 

Thank you sikpuppy for creating the Artha pet, and thank you mcewanw for bringing it to my attention.

Though still in beta, gposil's dpup482 is stable and may be the fastest puplet I've used. Abiword 2.80, its default wordprocessor, doesn't have a thesaurus. Intending to ask gposil about it, I accidentally clicked new topic, and mcewanw, replying, called Artha to my attention. As I indicated in my response to his reply, I'm reporting, after installation, that Artha runs fine under dpup.

A couple of questions, however. Sikpuppy's first message was

"You[b] may [/b] need to do this first:Click" {Emphasis mine} which when done opens to:
"Type about:config in the URL box.
Enter: general.useragent.extra.seamonkey in the filter box.
Double click on the entry.
Change the entry in the popup box to Firefox.
Have fun!"

As I mentioned, on my system Artha runs fine without it, i.e., opens, works, stays in memory, is called up with Alt-Ctl-w. I assume the instructions were to customize Seamonkey or Firefox. What are they supposed to do? and when are they needed? By not doing that, am I missing out on some functionality?

As mentioned, Artha stays resident in memory. Is there some way to turn it off, other than thru pprocess?

Thanks,

Mikeslr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Mon 23 Nov 2009, 21:02    Post subject: Re: Artha works fine in dPup 482beta4
Subject description: Thanks sikpuppy & mcewanw
 

mikeslr wrote:
Thank you sikpuppy for creating the Artha pet, and thank you mcewanw for bringing it to my attention.

Though still in beta, gposil's dpup482 is stable and may be the fastest puplet I've used. Abiword 2.80, its default wordprocessor, doesn't have a thesaurus. Intending to ask gposil about it, I accidentally clicked new topic, and mcewanw, replying, called Artha to my attention. As I indicated in my response to his reply, I'm reporting, after installation, that Artha runs fine under dpup.

A couple of questions, however. Sikpuppy's first message was

"You[b] may [/b] need to do this first:Click" {Emphasis mine} which when done opens to:
"Type about:config in the URL box.
Enter: general.useragent.extra.seamonkey in the filter box.
Double click on the entry.
Change the entry in the popup box to Firefox.
Have fun!"

As I mentioned, on my system Artha runs fine without it, i.e., opens, works, stays in memory, is called up with Alt-Ctl-w. I assume the instructions were to customize Seamonkey or Firefox. What are they supposed to do? and when are they needed? By not doing that, am I missing out on some functionality?

As mentioned, Artha stays resident in memory. Is there some way to turn it off, other than thru pprocess?

Thanks,

Mikeslr

That's to get the browser to connect properly to the SKydrive upload site, it has nothing to do with Artha. Skydrive doesn't accept Seamonkey as a browser so to download any of my files you need to change that setting.

All it does is pretend Seamonkey is Firefox for the purposes of connecting to sites that are pedantic about that sort of thing.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 777
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 18:45    Post subject: How to turn-off Artha?
Subject description: It stays resident in memory
 

Hi sikpuppy:

Thanks for the response to my previous question. As I mentioned, Artha stays resident in memory unless pprocess is call up and Artha is terminated using it. Both my Desktop and my Laptop have 1 Gig or more of Ram, so for me the memory usage isn't particularly important. However, others with less robust systems may wonder if there was a more elegant way to remove it from memory. If not, perhaps you may consider including that option in the future.

[p.s. I posted the same question on Launchpad-Artha. I'll advise if I get a response.]

Thanks again,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2338
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 25 Nov 2009, 00:09    Post subject: Re: How to turn-off Artha?
Subject description: It stays resident in memory
 

mikeslr wrote:
However, others with less robust systems may wonder if there was a more elegant way to remove it from memory.


Just the usual way for apps that stay resident on the tray/taskbar: you right click the icon and select "Quit". At least that is how it works in JWM (Puppy 4.3.1).

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saima122

Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 09:39    Post subject:  

u can also find urdu to eng dictionary from here....

english to urdu dictionary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Fri 28 May 2010, 17:20    Post subject:  

I saw that a new version of artha was recently released, but after learning that it used wordnet, I instead hacked together this little one-liner:

here are my first attempts in case they are useful
Code:
wget -q -O - http://wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn?s=$1 |sed "s/<li>/\n<li>/g" | sed "s/<\/ul>/\n/g" |grep "<li>" >/tmp/word.html && defaulthtmlviewer /tmp/word.html

#or this to view as a tailbox

wget -q -O - http://wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn?s=$1 |sed "s/<li>/\n<li>/g" | sed "s/<\/ul>/\n/g" |grep "<li>" |sed "s/<[^>]*>//g" |Xdialog --tailbox - 0 0

#or defaulttextviewer
wget -q -O - http://wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn?s=$1 |sed "s/<li>/\n<li>/g" | sed "s/<\/ul>/\n/g" |grep "<li>" |sed "s/<[^>]*>//g" |sed "s/S: //g" >/tmp/word.txt && defaulttextviewer /tmp/word.txt


but then I remembered my gaiksaurus script

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ ! $1 ];then
MYWORD=`xclip -o`
else
MYWORD=$@
fi
gaiksaurus $MYWORD


but sometimes the clipboard has something you don't wan't so I settled on this (you can paste into the dialog)

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ ! $1 ];then
MYWORD=`Xdialog --stdout --title "Psaurus" --inputbox "Enter a word to look up." 0 0`
else
MYWORD=$@
fi
wget -q -O - http://wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn?s=$MYWORD |sed "s/<li>/\n<li>/g" | sed "s/<\/ul>/\n/g" |grep "<li>" |sed "s/<[^>]*>//g" |sed "s/S: //g" >/tmp/word.txt && defaulttextviewer /tmp/word.txt

(it is up to you if you want to turn on word wrap in your text viewer)

and I went ahead and made a command line version since all I had to do was change Xdialog to dialog and delete from the ">" on

(to get a navigable page instead of just text in psaurus change the last line to defaulthtmlviewer http://wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn?s=$MYWORD)

... anyhow here is a pet package (sorry no menu entry)
psaurus.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.79 KB
 Viewed   1173 Time(s)

psaurus.png

Psaurus-0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Psaurus-0.1.pet 
Filesize  620 Bytes 
Downloaded  514 Time(s) 

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 777
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 12:48    Post subject: Artha thesaurus --works great in 2012 Pups  

Hi all,
Just wanted to mention that this build still works great in the latest Slacko, Precise, OV-Precise, and Exprimo.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 17:27    Post subject:  

Wordnet 3.1 was published without announcement a month or 2 ago. I wrote the beginnings of a script to parse the dictionary into C code (not complete, but the idea was to be able to build it as a fast, single portable static executable). Is there any desire for such a beast? ... I totally forgot about Psaurus; does it need any updates?
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
6502coder

Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 19:18    Post subject: Re: Artha thesaurus --works great in 2012 Pups  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi all,
Just wanted to mention that this build still works great in the latest Slacko, Precise, OV-Precise, and Exprimo.

mikesLr


Thanks for the tip! Just added this pet to my Wary 5.1.4.1 setup.


Wary 5.1.4.1 frugal
300 Mhz Pentium II laptop
96 Meg memory
Dual-boot with Win98
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11032
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Oct 2012, 22:52    Post subject:  

Technosaurus, having only just now seen this thread and tried out the Artha .pet (in Racy 5.3), I'm impressed. Could your version of Wordnet make it work even better?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0916s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]