pMusic 6.0.0

Audio editors, music players, video players, burning software, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#1301 Post by Flash »

Pmusic 2.5.4 gives this error when I try to start it from the command line in Precise Puppy. For what it's worth, the sound works fine. In fact, I had to turn it down to watch a YouTube video about the end of the world. :lol:
Attachments
Pmusic3 error in Precise Puppy 5.4.jpg
(135.88 KiB) Downloaded 1545 times

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#1302 Post by 01micko »

Flash

The splash error is to do with pequalizer, which shouldn't be installed in Precise as it wont have the alsaequal or CAPS libraries necessary for the equalizer to function. If I get the motivation I'll compile them for precise to fix that. EDIT: is that a typo.. "2.5.4" ? Also, still looks like you aren't using latest gtkdialog-0.8.2.

-

Sigmund

here is my output:

Code: Select all

# amixer controls
numid=1,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Con Mask'
numid=2,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Pro Mask'
numid=3,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Default'
numid=4,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Switch'
numid=5,iface=PCM,name='ELD',device=3
# amixer controls | grep 'Playback Volume'
#
#EDIT: I just discovered that running amixer controls with no options will only probe the first card, which in my case is the HDMI on my video card. My real first card, the onboard nvidia is disabled in BIOS for simplification, else my USB card would be card 2. As it is now it's card 1 and the HDMI is card 0.

My onboard sound is physically broken so use an USB device.

- Later..

Sigmund, I have some useful info for you. I must run MultipleSoundCardWizard to get sound. It then changes my default card in a newly created file /etc/asound.conf. In this case, amixer must be run with the "-c 1" option to the "controls" command.

This is what is found in /etc/asound.conf

Code: Select all

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
So some routine like this might be needed:

Code: Select all

ASOUNDOPTION=""
if [ -f /etc/asound.conf ];then #see if MultipleSoundCardWizard was used
  CARD=$(head -1 /etc/asound.conf)
  DEFAULTCARD=${CARD##* }
  ASOUNDOPTION="-c $DEFAULTCARD"
fi
VOLUMECONTROL=$(amixer $ASOUNDOPTION controls | grep 'Playback Volume')
My output from above:

Code: Select all

# ASOUNDOPTION=""
# if [ -f /etc/asound.conf ];then #see if MultipleSoundCardWizard was used
>   CARD=$(head -1 /etc/asound.conf)
>   DEFAULTCARD=${CARD##* }
>   ASOUNDOPTION="-c $DEFAULTCARD"
> fi
# VOLUMECONTROL=$(amixer $ASOUNDOPTION controls | grep 'Playback Volume')
# echo $VOLUMECONTROL
numid=2,iface=MIXER,name='PCM Playback Volume'
Last edited by 01micko on Thu 01 Nov 2012, 01:38, edited 2 times in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#1303 Post by Flash »

I did install Pequalizer. It didn't complain about missing libs. :?

Code: Select all

# gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.0 (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011 Thunor

# amixer controls
numid=39,iface=MIXER,name='Master Playback Switch'
numid=38,iface=MIXER,name='Master Playback Volume'
numid=12,iface=MIXER,name='Headphone Playback Switch'
numid=11,iface=MIXER,name='Headphone Playback Volume'
numid=40,iface=MIXER,name='PCM Playback Volume'
numid=21,iface=MIXER,name='Front Mic Boost Volume'
numid=16,iface=MIXER,name='Front Mic Playback Switch'
numid=15,iface=MIXER,name='Front Mic Playback Volume'
numid=2,iface=MIXER,name='Front Playback Switch'
numid=1,iface=MIXER,name='Front Playback Volume'
numid=4,iface=MIXER,name='Surround Playback Switch'
numid=3,iface=MIXER,name='Surround Playback Volume'
numid=7,iface=MIXER,name='Center Playback Switch'
numid=5,iface=MIXER,name='Center Playback Volume'
numid=8,iface=MIXER,name='LFE Playback Switch'
numid=6,iface=MIXER,name='LFE Playback Volume'
numid=18,iface=MIXER,name='Line Playback Switch'
numid=17,iface=MIXER,name='Line Playback Volume'
numid=22,iface=MIXER,name='Capture Switch'
numid=23,iface=MIXER,name='Capture Switch',index=1
numid=24,iface=MIXER,name='Capture Switch',index=2
numid=25,iface=MIXER,name='Capture Volume'
numid=26,iface=MIXER,name='Capture Volume',index=1
numid=27,iface=MIXER,name='Capture Volume',index=2
numid=35,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Default PCM Playback Switch'
numid=31,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Con Mask'
numid=32,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Pro Mask'
numid=33,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Default'
numid=34,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Playback Switch'
numid=37,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Capture Default'
numid=36,iface=MIXER,name='IEC958 Capture Switch'
numid=19,iface=MIXER,name='Auto-Mute Mode'
numid=28,iface=MIXER,name='Input Source'
numid=29,iface=MIXER,name='Input Source',index=1
numid=30,iface=MIXER,name='Input Source',index=2
numid=20,iface=MIXER,name='Rear Mic Boost Volume'
numid=14,iface=MIXER,name='Rear Mic Playback Switch'
numid=13,iface=MIXER,name='Rear Mic Playback Volume'
numid=10,iface=MIXER,name='Side Playback Switch'
numid=9,iface=MIXER,name='Side Playback Volume'
#
Not a problem. I'm running Precise Puppy from a multisession DVD. I just won't save this session when I shut down. :)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#1304 Post by 01micko »

Flash wrote:I did install Pequalizer. It didn't complain about missing libs. :?
It won't unless it's installed through PPM, it is a limitation of petget. also, being a script based program, it won't show the libs are missing, that's why the splash screen with the error.

-

Sigmund,

Maybe a simple dependency check and exit should exist in pequalizer.

@line 25 add

Code: Select all

# dep test
if [ ! -f /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_ctl_equal.so ]
  then echo "missing dependencies" && exit
fi
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#1305 Post by 01micko »

===========================
For Precise Puppy Users
===========================

In an effort to get Pmusic 3 beta and Pequaliser more widely tested I have compiled alsaequal-0.6 in Precise and also gtkdialog-0.8.2 without the vte dependency, gtkdialog-0.8.2 is to be considered "testing" (even though it is the latest stable version) as Barry may or may not upgrade to gtkdialog-0.8.2 and may or may not include the vte dependency (for virtual terminal functions of gtkdialog). There is one more dependency needed, caps, which is a LADSPA plugin

Instructions
  • open PPM and search in the search box for caps_0.4. It will find caps_0.4.2-1. Install it. (see screenshot).
  • download and install the 2 attachments to this post, gtkdialog-0.8.2-i486-NO_VTE-up.pet and alsaequal-0.6-i486-up.pet. You will get a box asking you if you want to link to gtkdialog4. If you don't know click Cancel.
  • Install pmusic-2.9.4 and pequalizer-0.8.0 (these may be updated at a later date) from zigbert's post here
  • delete /root/.pmusic (hidden directory, click the eye icon in rox-filer to expose hidden directories)
  • Start up Pmusic from the menu or by clicking a music file (mp3, ogg, aac, wav and some other formats) and test away. Pequalizer should be already running in the background but you should open it from the Pmusic File menu
Attachments
alsaequal-0.6-i486-up.pet
FOR PRECISE PUPPY ONLY!!! (RetroPrecise is ok)
(12.53 KiB) Downloaded 703 times
gtkdialog-0.8.2-i486-NO_VTE-up.pet
FOR PRECISE PUPPY ONLY!!! (RetroPrecise is ok)
(95.28 KiB) Downloaded 677 times
capture18905.jpg
search the PPM for the caps dependency
(43.09 KiB) Downloaded 1462 times
pmusic+peq-upup.jpg
pmusic and pequalizer tested working in Precise
(40.24 KiB) Downloaded 1409 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1306 Post by zigbert »

01micko wrote:Maybe a simple dependency check and exit should exist in pequalizer.

@line 25 add

Code: Select all

# dep test
if [ ! -f /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_ctl_equal.so ]
  then echo "missing dependencies" && exit
fi
done


Thank you
Sigmund


Download pMusic 3 - Beta here
Last edited by zigbert on Thu 01 Nov 2012, 19:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1307 Post by zigbert »

01micko wrote:Sigmund, I have some useful info for you. I must run MultipleSoundCardWizard to get sound. It then changes my default card in a newly created file /etc/asound.conf. In this case, amixer must be run with the "-c 1" option to the "controls" command.

This is what is found in /etc/asound.conf

Code: Select all

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
So some routine like this might be needed:

Code: Select all

ASOUNDOPTION=""
if [ -f /etc/asound.conf ];then #see if MultipleSoundCardWizard was used
  CARD=$(head -1 /etc/asound.conf)
  DEFAULTCARD=${CARD##* }
  ASOUNDOPTION="-c $DEFAULTCARD"
fi
VOLUMECONTROL=$(amixer $ASOUNDOPTION controls | grep 'Playback Volume')
Good catch. All calls for amixer in func_mixer is using the -c switch, but in func_config it does not.
This is the code I included in func_config to detect speakers for ACTIVE card. Please test in pMusic-2.9.5

Code: Select all

#To find available speakers, we must first detect soundcard number
if [ "$SOUND_DEVICE" = "auto" ]; then
	if [ -f /etc/asound.conf ]; then #see if MultipleSoundCardWizard was used
		TMP=$(head -1 /etc/asound.conf)
		CARD_NR=${TMP##* } 
	else
		TMP="`aplay -l | grep -m 1 -F card`" #grab the first card
		CARD_NR="`echo $TMP | cut -d':' -f1 | cut -d' ' -f2`"
	fi
else
	CARD_NR="`echo $SOUND_DEVICE | cut -d':' -f1 | cut -d' ' -f2`"
fi
export SPEAKERS=`amixer -c $CARD_NR controls | grep 'Playback Volume' | cut -d "'" -f 2 | sed -e "s/ Playback Volume//g" | tr -s ' ' '_' | awk '{print "<item>"$1"</item>"}' | tr -s '_' ' '`


Download pMusic 3 - Beta here
Last edited by zigbert on Thu 01 Nov 2012, 19:33, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1308 Post by zigbert »

Mick
I have updated the beta-post with links to your Precise-stuff.


Thank you
Sigmund


Download pMusic 3 - Beta here
Last edited by zigbert on Thu 01 Nov 2012, 19:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1309 Post by zigbert »

Flash wrote:I did install Pequalizer. It didn't complain about missing libs. :?
I will add dependencies info in the next pet.


Thank you
Sigmund


Download pMusic 3 - Beta here

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1310 Post by zigbert »

pMusic Beta2

All known major bugs are fixed.

Download pMusic 3 - Beta2 here

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

gtkdialog version

#1311 Post by don570 »

It wouldn't be hard to put a gtkdialog version warning in the pinstall.sh
using Thunar's method
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80340

_____________________________________________

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1312 Post by zigbert »

pMusic depends on more than gtkdialog. pmusic --help checks the system...... The dependency check is also available from the Help-menu and by the -D switch.


Sigmund


Download pMusic 3 - Beta2 here

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#1313 Post by don570 »

You have the menu item in the app that does a good job
of checking dependencies but the pinstall.sh script
is the best place to warn an unsuspecting user.

______________________________________________

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#1314 Post by 01micko »

Sigmund

There is a major bug with "preferences" in 2.9.5, it doesn't open. I guess I will see one of these from you ... >>> :oops: <<< ... .. it's a silly syntax error, we all do them sometimes.

The other bug is that the routine to sort out the card needs to run in func_mixer too, else it just runs for the first card. Once I fixed those 2 I could set my card to PCM and the volume control works :) . Oh, I also changed the call from "cut" to "tr" in original lines 23 and 38 becuse I was getting 2 leading spaces before "Mono:" and cut was looking for field 2, which turned up blank, so better to delete and take any number of spaces out of play I guess.

I'll post the diff and also attach the tarball, the forum loses a bit of formatting.

Code: Select all

diff -ru pmusic.orig/func_config pmusic/func_config
--- pmusic.orig/func_config	2012-11-02 11:59:45.739990245 +1000
+++ pmusic/func_config	2012-11-02 01:19:00.000000000 +1000
@@ -17,7 +17,7 @@
 export SOUND_DEVICES="<item>auto</item>`aplay -l | grep -F 'card ' | awk '{print "<item>"$1" "$2" "$3" "$4" "$5" "$6" "$7" "$8" "$9" "$10"</item>"}'`"
 #To find available speakers, we must first detect soundcard number
 CARD_NR="`echo $SOUND_DEVICE | cut -d':' -f1 | cut -d' ' -f2`"
-if [ "$SOUND_DEVICE" = "auto" ]
+if [ "$SOUND_DEVICE" = "auto" ]; then
 	if [ -f /etc/asound.conf ]; then #see if MultipleSoundCardWizard was used
 		TMP=$(head -1 /etc/asound.conf)
 		CARD_NR=${TMP##* } 
diff -ru pmusic.orig/func_mixer pmusic/func_mixer
--- pmusic.orig/func_mixer	2008-01-03 03:19:56.000000000 +1000
+++ pmusic/func_mixer	2012-11-02 12:11:30.579505135 +1000
@@ -2,8 +2,15 @@
 
 [ ! "$SPEAKER" ] && . $HOME/.pmusic/pmusicrc
 #Detect soundcard
-[ "$SOUND_DEVICE" = "auto" ] && SOUND_DEVICE="`aplay -l | grep -m 1 -F card`" #grab the first card
-CARD_NR="`echo $SOUND_DEVICE | cut -d':' -f1 | cut -d' ' -f2`"
+if [ "$SOUND_DEVICE" = "auto" ]; then
+	if [ -f /etc/asound.conf ]; then #see if MultipleSoundCardWizard was used
+		TMP=$(head -1 /etc/asound.conf)
+		CARD_NR=${TMP##* } 
+	else
+		TMP="`aplay -l | grep -m 1 -F card`" #grab the first card
+		CARD_NR="`echo $TMP | cut -d':' -f1 | cut -d' ' -f2`"
+	fi
+fi
 	
 case $1 in
 -mute)
@@ -16,7 +23,7 @@
 	fi
 	;;
 -set_volume)
-	if [ "`amixer -c $CARD_NR get "$SPEAKER" | grep 'Mono:' | cut -d ':' -f 2`" ]; then #mono
+	if [ "`amixer -c $CARD_NR get "$SPEAKER" | grep 'Mono:' | tr -d ' ' |tr -d ':'`" ]; then #mono #2 leading spaces
 		amixer -c $CARD_NR set "$SPEAKER" $VOLUME"%" > /dev/null 2>&1
 	else
 		[ ! "$BALANCE" ] && BALANCE=100 #in case in balance slider is provided in gui
@@ -31,7 +38,7 @@
 	fi
 	;;
 -get_levels)
-	if [ ! "`amixer -c $CARD_NR get "$SPEAKER" | grep 'Mono:' | cut -d ':' -f 2`" ]; then 
+	if [ ! "`amixer -c $CARD_NR get "$SPEAKER" | grep 'Mono:' | tr -d ' ' |tr -d ':'`" ]; then 
 		VOL_L=`amixer -c $CARD_NR get "$SPEAKER" | grep -m1 'Left:' | cut -d '%' -f 1 | cut -d '[' -f 2`
 		VOL_R=`amixer -c $CARD_NR get "$SPEAKER" | grep -m1 'Right:' | cut -d '%' -f 1 | cut -d '[' -f 2`
 		[ $VOL_L = 0 ] && VOL_L=1 #1 to avoid dividing with 0

Another thing, the tray icon is not working in these beta releases.

Oh, one more thing, my fault really, MultipleSoundCardWizard is puppy specific. Other distros may have different formatting of an /etc/asound.conf so maybe the test of head -1 isn't so robust. We'll think on that one eh?

Cheers
Attachments
pmuxic.diff.tar.gz
yeah, intended typo in filename,, :) ..for pmusic-2.9.5 only
(992 Bytes) Downloaded 481 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#1315 Post by Flash »

Sorry I don't have time to do more thorough testing. Here's my latest result after installing the latest Pmusic and Pequalizer .pets:

Code: Select all

# pmusic
mkdir: can't create directory '/root/.pmusic/history_files': File exists
find: File system loop detected; `/root/.usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu' is part of the same file system loop as `/root/.usr/lib'.


grep:  au -: No such file or directory

/usr/local/pmusic/func_player: line 151: [: =: unary operator expected
/usr/local/pmusic/func_player: line 152: [: =: unary operator expected
#
The Pmusic GUI has a funny thing in the middle that looks like a window into something behind it, and it immediately connects with some internet radio station and starts playing heavy metal music. Not good. :lol:
After I turn that off and delete the station from the playlist, Pmusic sulls up and won't show the mp3 files when I navigate to a folder. :(

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1316 Post by zigbert »

01micko wrote:here is a major bug with "preferences" in 2.9.5
>>> :oops: <<<
Worst is that I fixed it, but forgot to upload it again :roll:


Thank you for very great improvements
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1317 Post by zigbert »

Flash
Terminal output: I have similar output at first run. But at second run everything is in place, and I get no outputs - do you?

The 'middle window' is Gtk related and out of my reach. Resize pMusic or show/hide search options, and it's gone. I could make the default size a bit bigger to hide it. The downside would be that pMusic wouldn't fit into a 600x800 screen. Or do anyone have another solution?

You might find the autoplaying of Hoovers irritating, but it is done to quickly introduce new users to the interface. What are the Left/Right pane used for?

I can not reproduce your browsing problems....


Thank you for testing
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1318 Post by zigbert »

pMusic Beta3







Download pMusic 3 - Beta3 here
Last edited by zigbert on Fri 02 Nov 2012, 04:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#1319 Post by 01micko »

Just looking at my diff.. and my comments the "cut" delimiter is the ':' , not space, in any case the tr still works fine, and should anyway I think.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#1320 Post by zigbert »

Mick
The tooltips in pEqualizer is fixed - version 0.8.2

Download pMusic 3 - Beta2 here

Post Reply