Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 07:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to do a One-Click Installation of Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 7 [105 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
Foxyfrank

Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 11 Apr 2011, 22:10    Post subject: menu.lst entries
Subject description: It may be no mystery to you but...
 

Ok. I well understand that there is a difference between 'root noverify" and "rootnoverify". Looking back I find that I copied that from somebody else that probably didn't know any more about it than I do.
I understand that the "root" command points to where the root is, but what does noverify mean/do?
I understand that kernel points to where the vmlinuz is, but what does pmedia=atahdpsubdir=puppy421nosmp mean/do? Why should I have it there or not have it there?
To me it IS a mystery.
As I said in the beginning, if I had found THIS subject on this list I could have used the system which avoided all of the glitches - probably only to encounter others.

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 11 Apr 2011, 22:46    Post subject: Re: menu.lst entries
Subject description: It may be no mystery to you but...
 

Foxyfrank wrote:
Ok. I well understand that there is a difference between 'root noverify" and "rootnoverify". Looking back I find that I copied that from somebody else that probably didn't know any more about it than I do.
I understand that the "root" command points to where the root is, but what does noverify mean/do?
I understand that kernel points to where the vmlinuz is, but what does pmedia=atahdpsubdir=puppy421nosmp mean/do? Why should I have it there or not have it there?
To me it IS a mystery.
As I said in the beginning, if I had found THIS subject on this list I could have used the system which avoided all of the glitches - probably only to encounter others.

Frank


Grub basics;

http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/4622?page=0,0

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3287
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2011, 18:44    Post subject:  

rcrsn51,
I have to give you a big thanks in making the one-click install script.
I recently was trying to install Puppy 2.16 on an ancient computer as a full install.
I used the universal installer, selected full install, and this was after using Gparted to delete the old fat32 partition, creating an ext2 partition and setting the boot flag.
The install seemed to go ok, and I did not touch grub at all.
But when I tried rebooting, it failed.
I then went back assuming I would have to install Grub.
I did that and then grub complained about not finding /boot/grub/vmlinuz.
When I booted from CD again, I mounted the drive and sure enough, vmlinuz was missing.

I was about to pull my remaining hair out when I found your script.
Also, I should mention that in all the time I have used Puppy, I had never done a full install.
So thank you again for a great install script! Smile Smile Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jola66

Joined: 06 Apr 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2012, 12:35    Post subject: cd install
Subject description: helped guide me
 

Thanks for the info, your advice, as well as others helped me full-install 5.3.1, which is great, cause now i get other challenges.

Like a connection but browser won't take hold, says connection failed, damn!

Thanks to you & the community for all the help/advice. I'll be needing more. -jola66
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OG1958

Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 00:31    Post subject: Not reading USB sticck  

I have tried both methods but Puppy will not read my USB drive. I hate to give up but I am still lost. When I did my installs or attempted them I got a message that no CD was in CD drive. I have two optical drives-one cd/dvd writeable and one combo blue ray/cd/dvd read only.
So I decided to try to make a USB drive with Puppy on it. The USB drive was formatted to FAT32 and it did not work. I tried to format it to FAT16 and that did not work either. As I mentioned before Puppy needs to be set up to install just like any other Ubuntu based distro.
I hate to say it but I am getting frustrated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 08:06    Post subject: Re: Not reading USB sticck  

OG1958 wrote:
I have tried both methods but Puppy will not read my USB drive..

Are you talking about the step where you downloaded the attachment and saved it to your USB drive?

Did you mount the drive by clicking its desktop icon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theos911

Joined: 02 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2012, 21:37    Post subject:  

I grabbed the 5.3 iso and this script and popped them in. The one-click-installer folder should be in the root of the flash drive, Yes? With it in this place, the script begins to run but ends on "Could not find the Puppy files!"

I am running from a flash drive attempting to replace the entire drive with puppy.

Latitude C810 w/4GB SSD

Screenshot:
http://imageshack.us/a/img100/244/screenshothk.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2012, 21:53    Post subject:  

Which 5.3 Puppy are you installing? Wary?

Quote:
I grabbed the 5.3 iso and this script and popped them in.

Please explain. Did you just put the ISO on the flash drive? It needs to be a bootable flash drive based on the target Puppy.

ie. If you want to install Wary to a hard drive, the flash drive must also have Wary installed on it.

Also, if you scroll upwards through the one-click installer's messages, what was at the start of the mount errors?

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Fri 02 Nov 2012, 22:45; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theos911

Joined: 02 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2012, 22:20    Post subject:  

I downloaded the wary-5.3.iso from http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/wary-5.3/ and used unetbootin to put it on the flash drive. I then booted from that flash drive on the latitude without any arguments at the boot prompt. After the xwizard it boots to live and I even have internet! However, when I tried the installer it seemed to go well, but upon reboot without the flash drive it just stayed black. (No Bootloader I presume?) I then tried your script and got the results above.

I have also tried crunchbang, but it doesn't have drivers for the ancient GeForce2Go in the Latitude whereas Wary does. (And neither do most other new distros that I am accustomed to dealing with: Ubuntu, Fedora, Mint, Debian and so on)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2012, 22:42    Post subject:  

Look on the flash drive. What files do you see? Are the core Puppy files in a subfolder?

Go to the folder /etc/rc.d and open the file PUPSTATE. What are the values of the variables PDEV1 and DEV1FS?

I just did a frugal install using a Wary 5.3 flash drive and it worked fine.

Are there already some core Puppy files on the hard drive? Your first attempt using the Puppy Universal Installer may have put them there. If so the one-click-installer will get confused.

You need to use the boot option "puppy pfix=ram". Does Unetbootin let you do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2012, 17:28    Post subject:  

No reply? I would like to fix this problem, but I need some information from you.

[Edit] I have posted a comment about Unetbootin at the top of Page 1. I suspect that it applies to your problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
taladraco

Joined: 03 Nov 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 00:58    Post subject: Thank you!  

This installer just made my evening!

I have been struggling with my little netbook and trying to get Puppy installed to the HD. The HD had been erased before I could install a new OS to it, so I've been booting it from a LiveKey USB drive. I kept trying to use the "install" program that came with the OS, but it kept telling me there was no space. (It's a 4gb HD. Small, but I knew there had to be enough space.)

I was very frustrated until I realised it was, for some reason, trying to install either back to the USB or to my RAM instead of the HD itself. I had followed all of the directions, but I am nowhere close to be a hacker and could not figure out what I was doing wrong.

I used this installer and 5 minutes later, it's properly installed and I no longer need to worry about having the LiveKey.

So thank you! This is awesome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theos911

Joined: 02 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 09:17    Post subject:  

Sorry for the delay and I appreciate the help. I was busy from 7AM-10PM yesterday: We got all the gas lines run for the new house, making it well worth the long day. I should have some time today to try out your suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theos911

Joined: 02 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 23:21    Post subject:  

Your suggestions for unetbootin worked perfectly. After that the script worked as expected and I'm currently slowly learning the differences between Ubuntu/Debian and Puppy. Now all I need to do is get 2D acceleration on this GeForce2Go and I'm set. (Already got Mesa-utils installed)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ChrisOfBristol

Joined: 17 Nov 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 17 Nov 2012, 13:38    Post subject: One-click-installer makes Puppy usable for me  

I spent hours trying to work out how to install Grub and when I succeeded, what to do because there was no /boot directory with the lst file and was about to give up.

Then I found this thread with the one-click installer! I had found the right answer in the first thread I looked at and it worked first time.

Puppy looks like just what I what - it would be nice if it was possible to incorporate the one-click-installer as part of a CD installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 7 [105 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1037s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0343s) ][ GZIP on ]