Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 20:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
LAN printing to XP printer - SOLVED!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 11:07    Post subject:  

wimpy wrote:
Update: I installed the printer and it now shows up on the text editors.

Excellent. It's hard to know what caused the previous corruption. So as you add more packages into your install, you should check that the text editors still correctly list the printers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 11:24    Post subject:  

Does this mean that I should abandon my frugal install completely? I'll do as you suggest - the packages I have added in the frugal install which are not in the "clean" one are Thunderbird, flashplayer 10.3, an Nvidia driver package and pwidgets. i'll add them one by one to the "clean" and see what difference they make. I did have wine in the frugal install but I uninstalled that today. along with debbi and the cups wrapper. It made no difference. Is there a way to uninstall CUPS and reinstall it in the frugal (if it is CUPS that is broken).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 11:36    Post subject:  

wimpy wrote:
Does this mean that I should abandon my frugal install completely?.....Is there a way to uninstall CUPS and reinstall it in the frugal (if it is CUPS that is broken).

Trying to repair this situation is almost impossible. You would be better off deleting your current save file and starting again.

Are you still booting with "puppy pfix=ram"? If so, mount the partition that contains the save file and delete it.

Do a shut-down and create a new save file. If you are lucky, all the stuff you have installed in your temporary session should be saved into it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 12:02    Post subject:  

I've now put all the additional packages in the frugal install on to the "clean" and the "clean" is still OK. The only difference, now that I remember, is that at some time during the frugal I was told that my personal storage was getting low and I opted to increase it.
I've not been using pfix=ram but I have been saving the "clean" sfs to a 16GB USB stick. I'm not sure how to continue if I want to keep to a frugal install. If I copied the "clean" sfs over the old frugal one on the HD would that be as good?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 12:37    Post subject:  

wimpy wrote:
If I copied the "clean" sfs over the old frugal one on the HD would that be as good?

It should be, but it's risky to copy a save file while it's in use. Boot using "puppy pfix=ram" and do the copy.

BTW, "sfs" is the extension of the main Puppy file. Your save file will be "2fs" or "3fs".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 12:59    Post subject:  

Yes, I did mean 2fs not sfs I'll rename the one on the HD to something else. I'm still not sure whether the problem lies with the 2fs files or other files on the HD. If it's just the 2fs file then replacing it would be OK. Is it possible that the problem lies with other files on the HD?
I tried copying the "clean" 2fs to the HD after a pfix-ram but it made no difference. I'm not sure I copied it to the right location - puppy diidn't seem to have any 2fs on the HD and I copied it to /root. On boot it says that it is copying /puppy528/lupusave.2fs.

Last edited by wimpy on Sun 04 Nov 2012, 13:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9261
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 13:23    Post subject:  

If something goes wrong with a frugal install, the problem must be in the save file. The core Puppy files never change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2012, 13:30    Post subject:  

I found the folder on the HD and using pfix=ram made the swap. I now have a frugal installation where the printing works off a WinXP controlled printer. I can't thank you enough for your patience, expertise and help. I really am most grateful. I'll mark this thread as "Solved"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0576s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]