Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 06:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Slacko 5.4 - FINAL 2 Dec 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 35 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 20:31    Post subject:  

Richard

It's been awhile since I looked at the code, but I am aware that there is no service script. To be honest I didn't thoroughly go through the code at all, I mainly just got rid of the pupcowsay or whatever it was and used gtkdialog-splash. As far as I can remember everything was dealt with in the Startup folder.

I will review my package though, it's quite old. Also, note the package I use in Slacko is "frisbee_special".

Thanks

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2012, 22:47    Post subject:  

Beta 4 is out!

As promised there are delta for 4g and PAE from beta 3 which was declared a non-starter. No delta for firefox as there was no beta 3 uploaded for that.
Wireless in all 3 is working on a variety of cards that I have.

See main post

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 00:32    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Beta 4 is out!
See main post


Boy,,, you are prolific! Very Happy
Updated 5.3.6.5 to 5.3.7.1 (FF non PAE). No (wired) network, no interface or module to be found! No sound, no kernel modules other than the ones loaded in the init. Reboot, same thing.
Run "depmod -a" and reboot, Bingo! Wink
You might need to look at your kernel/rc.sysinit

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 00:44    Post subject:  

Sorry if I am asking the obivious, but which iso for FF with PAE ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 01:24    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
01micko wrote:
Beta 4 is out!
See main post


Boy,,, you are prolific! Very Happy

Exams are over Smile

I'm kinda glad the stupid iwconfig bug was there because it gave me the chance to get opera-12.10 out there. It only takes 30 minutes to reproduce the 3 versions. The worst part is the upload on my crappy bandwidth! (330kbps v .. 100kbps ^)
mavrothal wrote:
Updated 5.3.6.5 to 5.3.7.1 (FF non PAE). No (wired) network, no interface or module to be found! No sound, no kernel modules other than the ones loaded in the init. Reboot, same thing.
Run "depmod -a" and reboot, Bingo! Wink
You might need to look at your kernel/rc.sysinit
Hmmm... I did 2 updates on flash drives, 1 ext3 and 1 FAT and both only needed a reboot, but yeah should work without one, I'll investigate. Again probably a busy-box depmod call which doesn't work, maybe need to update busybox.

-------

spandey wrote:
Sorry if I am asking the obivious, but which iso for FF with PAE ?
Sorry mate, didn't build PAE-firefox, only 3 versions. The rationale is that if you have PAE capable then you have decent gear (I don't use it personally, but it's there for the ones with the big RAM) and can afford the extra space to download Firefox. You can get the latest in the repo if you look in the Slackware-patches repo in PPM. That may or may not change for final.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 01:52    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Again probably a busy-box depmod call which doesn't work, maybe need to update busybox.


Maybe there is more to it.
For the first time in a long time and many puppies, XO kernel compilation failed in 5.3.7.1. (same source compiled fine in Precise)
Didn't look at the error carefully but if you do not have beta5 out by tomorrow ( Laughing ), I'll let you know

Latter The error I get is
Code:
arch/x86/kernel/ptrace.c:1396:17: error: conflicting types for ‘syscall_trace_leave’

and a fast google search shows is that a gcc-4.7.1 issue that 5.3.7.1 has.
Hopefully tonight I'll check if this patch fixes it

Latter-latter Yeap. Patching the kernel source with the above patch solves the issue. So if you want to compile a lupu or any 2.6.x kernel in slacko_14, keep that in mind.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Wed 07 Nov 2012, 12:01; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5679
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 01:52    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.3.7.1 -Opera version. No problems yet.Sound,internet and display all working and correct on boot.


# report-video
Report Video 1.4 - Tue 6 Nov 2012 on Slacko Puppy 5.3.7.1 - Linux 3.2.33-4g i686

Chip description:
d.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP61 - mcp61-86 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1366x768 pixels (361x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 55
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 56
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 59
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 58
nvfx_screen_get_param:95 - Warning: unknown PIPE_CAP 30
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
5099 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1019.746 FPS
5251 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1050.059 FPS
5235 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1046.748 FPS
5257 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1051.352 FPS
5235 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1046.801 FPS
5254 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1050.680 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 2853MB (203MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue 06 Nov 2012 11:53:06 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on NV4C
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5679
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 02:34    Post subject:  

Frugal install on the Athlon XP box........all good so far.

Report Video 1.4 - Wed 7 Nov 2012 on Slacko Puppy 5.3.7.1 - Linux 3.2.33-4g i686

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1)
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

X Server: Xorg Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
1800 frames in 5.0 seconds = 359.963 FPS
1947 frames in 5.0 seconds = 389.352 FPS
1795 frames in 5.0 seconds = 358.884 FPS
1836 frames in 5.0 seconds = 367.183 FPS
1878 frames in 5.0 seconds = 375.574 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
Memory : 1033MB (187MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 07 Nov 2012 12:35:35 AM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : VIA8233 - VIA 8235
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 03:29    Post subject: Slacko - beta4 [5.4]
Subject description: beta 4 pae version on emachines D620 laptop
 

I decided to try the pae version of beta 4 and did a full install on
my emachines D620 laptop.

Operating System
Version
Kernel Linux 3.4.17-PAE (i686)
Compiled #1 SMP Fri Nov 2 19:12:33 EST 2012
C Library GNU C Library version 2.15 (stable)
Default C Compiler GNU C Compiler version 4.7.1 (GCC)
Distribution Unknown distribution

The wireless network is working again with this version.

Sound didn't work at first, there was a red x beside the retrovol icon
in the tray.I configured retrovol and unmuted everything but still no
sound, I ran alsamixer and pressed F6 to choose the sound card and
rebooted, sound is working now.
Multimedia
Audio Adapter HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB

The graphics card support (ATI Technologies Inc RS690M [Radeon X1200
Series]) is great, Nexuiz and Google Earth work well.

There is the problem with the puppy menu not showing any kdegames
entries but the games work fine when started with gexec.

That's it so far, thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.22 KB
 Viewed   652 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1369
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 05:16    Post subject: Broadcom wl support  

I've added the delta files needed to install the Broadcom wl wifi driver onto Slacko 5.3.7.1 both kernels k3.2.33-4g and k3.4.17-PAE here:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76495&start=20

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 05:35    Post subject:  

Bit of a problem in 5.3.7 non-pae, mick. All my wifi dongles have stopped working. Sometimes the base station is initially detected correctly in SNS but no connection can be established. Never ever had any luck with Frisbee, not even with Saluki, and it was true to form in this test. Dougal's utility didn't work either. What did you do?!
P4/2.66/512 - Cohiba/Hama/zd1211 dongles, plenty of oomph, no connectivity!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 06:24    Post subject: Re: Slacko - beta4 [5.4]
Subject description: beta 4 pae version on emachines D620 laptop
 

Billtoo wrote:
There is the problem with the puppy menu not showing any kdegames
entries but the games work fine when started with gexec.

That's it so far, thanks.

That had me baffled because I tested the code I put in there.. turns out the test wasn't good enough!

What was supposed to happen if the /usr/share/applications/kde4 dir was detected then we fall back to the old style menus. Seem foolproof. But my code wasn't Sad .

Oh well , I leaned and now it will work. I'll add a gzipped fixmenus attachment, decompress it, make sure it is executable then place it in /usr/sbin overwriting the original.

Then run fixmenus, and then jwm -reload. You'll get your menus Wink
fixmenus.gz
Description  don't forget to make it executable
gz

 Download 
Filename  fixmenus.gz 
Filesize  1.42 KB 
Downloaded  249 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Wed 07 Nov 2012, 06:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 06:30    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Bit of a problem in 5.3.7 non-pae, mick. All my wifi dongles have stopped working. Sometimes the base station is initially detected correctly in SNS but no connection can be established. Never ever had any luck with Frisbee, not even with Saluki, and it was true to form in this test. Dougal's utility didn't work either. What did you do?!
P4/2.66/512 - Cohiba/Hama/zd1211 dongles, plenty of oomph, no connectivity!


Hmm.. are you sure you haven't got beta3? You can download a small delta, then just click the delta (as long as the beta3 iso is in range) and it will build beta4 in moments. I released beta4 less than 12hrs after beta3 because of the wireless issue.

You can check the version number by clicking on the green michelin man icon on the bottom right in the tray (task bar) and it will show a message at the top of the screen with version and kernel. Beta3 is 5.3.7.0 and beta4 is 5.3.7.1.

At least I hope that's what went wrong!

*Disclaimer - I do not endorse michelin, goodyear, firestone or any other tyre.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 07:03    Post subject: Re: Slacko - beta4 [5.4]
Subject description: beta 4 pae version on emachines D620 laptop
 

01micko wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
There is the problem with the puppy menu not showing any kdegames
entries but the games work fine when started with gexec.

That's it so far, thanks.

That had me baffled because I tested the code I put in there.. turns out the test wasn't good enough!

What was supposed to happen if the /usr/share/applications/kde4 dir was detected then we fall back to the old style menus. Seem foolproof. But my code wasn't Sad .

Oh well , I leaned and now it will work. I'll add a gzipped fixmenus attachment, decompress it, make sure it is executable then place it in /usr/sbin overwriting the original.

Then run fixmenus, and then jwm -reload. You'll get your menus Wink


That did it, thanks.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.37 KB
 Viewed   551 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2012, 07:07    Post subject: Re: Slacko - beta4 [5.4]
Subject description: beta 4 pae version on emachines D620 laptop
 

Billtoo wrote:
That did it, thanks.

Good.

I put your ltris game up at the repo, if you update PPM it will show, couple of other small games too, one is by thunor (pipepanic).

Have you built any more games? Maybe I missed some?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 35 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1171s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0171s) ][ GZIP on ]