Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 11:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
mpdPup - Simplified MPD Music Server/Jukebox - v0.9.3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 35 [523 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 33, 34, 35 Next
Author Message
jkoks

Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 15:00    Post subject: despotify  

Idolse,

Thank you for the explenation. I have a premium account and the setup works and Mpad finds mpd.

Looking into despotify, do i understand correctly that it only works with the despotify client and not with regular mpd clients like mpad? Mpad doens't seems to search spotify and i can't get access to playlists

Thanks,

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kocozze

Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 17:29    Post subject: cover art and poweroff  

Hi Idolse,
a little question (rather two)...
a) My music library is stored in folders in a USB Hard disk with the following structure: GENRE/ARTIST/YEAR-ALBUM/File.wav
In any "YEAR-ALBUM" Folder there's a file "folder.jpg" (the cover art). When I access from MpdDroid (from my client) i can't view the cover art, while if the cover is stored in .flac file everything it's ok...What could be wrong?
b) How can I shut down mpdpup from client? Or How can I shut down from server power off button without command line?

Many thanks Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bonalux

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 19:24    Post subject:  

Tried several times using your script but no luck, any time after reboot have to unmute the waveio....frustrating. There is any way to check if the script is working as expected or not?
Another strange thing that happens, is that after sturtup, there is a very strong whistle coming from the speakers, it seem a larsen effect such as the sound (that isn't supposed to be there in theory) exiting the speakers returns to the microphones and the only solution was putting a 3,5mm jach in the hearphone plugs to disconnect the speaker, very strange...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 20:21    Post subject:  

@jkoks, Glad you got it working. In one sense, you're correct - the other mpd clients don't have any special Spotify functions. That said, if you have favorite Spotify URLs, once you've found them from a browser you can play those using any client which will send MPD the spotify URL format I mentioned. You should then be able to save that as a playlist using any client, and re-load it at any time from any client by choosing it as a playlist. More integration would require work on the client developer's part - you could ask the MpAD developer and see if he's willing to add such functionality.

I'm thinking for a future release to create some functions in mpdPup which can search Spotify/Lastfm for information and let you load playlists that way, but that will need to wait til I'm in the right country with some spare time.



@kocozze, Did you change the url prefix per my changelog post: http://tunes.local/musiclibrary/ ?
I'm not sure if Android supports Avahi/Zeroconf - you may need to set your system up with a static IP and replace "tunes.local" with an IP. I'll double-check that all potential ways to set this up work correctly - it's working for me right now, but I'm using it with PHP enabled, can't remember if I did a final round of QA without PHP.

The flac behavior might be a red herring, perhaps mpDroid will search Amazon or some third party under certain situations.

Regarding shutdown, no mpdclient has the ability to actually shut down the machine - MPaD does have some extensibility there, but I've never dug into what would be required to leverage it. The system is designed so you can just power it down directly using the power button (just hold it down for a few seconds) or a switch on a power strip.


@Bonalux, Sorry you're still having trouble. You could add some debug statements to the unmute file, e.g.:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

unmute_audio(){
   CARDS=`aplay -l | grep card | cut -f 1 -d ':' | uniq | cut -f 2 -d ' '`
   for card in $CARDS
   do
      echo "Setting $card"
      CONTROLS=`amixer -c $card scontrols | cut -f 2 -d "'"`
      for control in $CONTROLS
      do
         echo "Unmuting $control"
         amixer -c $card sset $control unmute >/dev/null 2>/dev/null
         amixer -c $card sset $control 100% >/dev/null 2>/dev/null
      done
   done

}

unmute_audio

Run the script manually by typing '/etc/init.d/unmute' at the CLI. If you see the debug statements and they make sense then it should be working. I forgot to mention, but after re-reading the old threads, you also have to type the following after unmuting
Code:
alsactl -f /etc/asound.state store
before using 'save2flash' or a full reboot.

The fact that it's not working could also be related to how you're powering down/rebooting the system as well - did you make any changes to this process based on what the posts I highlighted from the old thread?

So far no WaveIO users have chimed in here, it may be easier for you to get their attention on the diyaudio thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bonalux

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 06:21    Post subject:  

AAAAAAHHH!!! Thanks for your support Idolse, the last command did the trick, tried three times and always worked, the WaveIo is now consistently unmuted at startup!! Tried also the "usbnrpacks" hack and there is a great improvement in sound opening and clarity, before the system didn't excited me too much, on the contrary, definitely a feature to be added as standard.

Now i'll go for an intense listening test Wink

Thank you very much and have a nice day!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 07:06    Post subject:  

Glad to hear that worked! Now if I could only find a way to do it programmatically.

nrpacks is part of the wizard already - it gets set when you choose to use the 'recommended' settings instead of Linux defaults. If you go into the tweaks section or choose the advanced wizard you can specify what nrpack number you wish to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grunter

Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 07:10    Post subject:  

ldolse wrote:
Hi All, thanks for trying it out.

@grunter, Sounds like a rather strange problem - you used the wizard to test the sound output during the initial configuration, correct? Did the sound come out from the right place at that time? The only way I can see it changing is if the hardware did funny things where the internal and external cards swapped positions when the system initialized. Anyway glad you were able to resolve it. In the future you can always type 'mpdwizard' to get back to any options to make changes to the system.


Yes, it's very strange cause during te wiazrd I was able to hear the sound form my dac and, after rebooting even if everything remain the same, mpdpup doesn't use the dac but the internal soundcard.
Thank you for the suggestion of mpdwizard. You didd really a god job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 08:06    Post subject:
Subject description: WaveIO Mute
 

I'm chiming in!
Just ran the 0.9.3 install wizards - excellent job, so much better than 0.9.2.

Did find the WaveIO muted but running the recommended CLI commands above and rebooting did the trick for me [Atom based D510 mobo].

Jonathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 10:50    Post subject:
Subject description: 0.9.3 Install Issues?
 

I have now run through the 0.9.3 install and found the following issues that prevented playback (with remote GMPC):

1. WaveIO muted - but that's to be expected and probably the WaveIO board's fault
2. In mpd.conf
a. in audio_output - the line device showed "" whereas it should read "hw:1,0" in my case. THe WaveIO had been recognised and configured so that is strange.
b. buffer_before_play I had set to be 100% in the wizard, but the line in mpd.conf read "100%%"

Hope the above were not caused by my finger trouble, but I try to be careful with these things.

Anyone else had the same?

Jonathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 11:00    Post subject:
Subject description: SOX Operation?
 

Idolse
Would be grateful for guidance on how to set SOX as the upsampler in mpdPup.

I see there is a section in mpd.conf for SOX output at the end with "enable=no" and my wizard entry for "176,400" correctly shown. Is it just a matter of "enable=yes"? Does one leave the main audio_output as is?

Many thanks
Jonathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bonalux

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 11:48    Post subject:  

ldolse wrote:
Glad to hear that worked! Now if I could only find a way to do it programmatically.

nrpacks is part of the wizard already - it gets set when you choose to use the 'recommended' settings instead of Linux defaults. If you go into the tweaks section or choose the advanced wizard you can specify what nrpack number you wish to use.


For integrating i'm of no help, too noob Smile
Did not find them in the wizard because for some reason it hangs and returns to the initial page when i try to select the recommended setting, so only choice was the default. Not a big problem now that i've done them manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 13:29    Post subject:
Subject description: SOX Operation?
 

jrling wrote:
Idolse
Would be grateful for guidance on how to set SOX as the upsampler in mpdPup.

I see there is a section in mpd.conf for SOX output at the end with "enable=no" and my wizard entry for "176,400" correctly shown. Is it just a matter of "enable=yes"? Does one leave the main audio_output as is?

Many thanks
Jonathan
When you use the wizard you just choose advanced instead of basic. If you've already done the initial configuration then you just type 'mpdwizard', select 'sound' and you'll find the configuration in one of those sub-menus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kocozze

Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 15:29    Post subject: cover art  

Sorry Idolse,
I don't understand where and how I must change "tunes.local" with my IP static to view cover art... Confused Can you explain me step by step? Thanks Mr. Green
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrling

Joined: 27 Jun 2012
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 19:00    Post subject:
Subject description: SOX Operation?
 

I did choose the Advanced Wizard (great BTW) and gave my settings for SOX, and I got a new section at the end of mpd.conf for SOX.
However, I had assumed the "enable=no" in the SOX audio_output section meant that it was was not turned on?

SQ seems quite significantly better in my 0.9.3 set-up and apart from SOX which I am not sure is working, I chose the later version of MPD. Otherwise everything else was the same settings as 0.9.2.

I am certainly happy with that, but was curious as to why SQ improved!

Jonathan

PS Did you see my two reported wizard issues in an earlier posting? Don't know if they are of interest?

ldolse wrote:
jrling wrote:
Idolse
Would be grateful for guidance on how to set SOX as the upsampler in mpdPup.

I see there is a section in mpd.conf for SOX output at the end with "enable=no" and my wizard entry for "176,400" correctly shown. Is it just a matter of "enable=yes"? Does one leave the main audio_output as is?

Many thanks
Jonathan
When you use the wizard you just choose advanced instead of basic. If you've already done the initial configuration then you just type 'mpdwizard', select 'sound' and you'll find the configuration in one of those sub-menus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ldolse

Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 366

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 22:15    Post subject:  

When you enable Sox a virtual sound device is created for each sample rate you choose. You need to use an MPD client which supports configuring the Audio Output (most do). You go into that section of the client, disable the primary audio output and enable one fo the Sox outputs.

Changing mpd.conf to enabled=yes is not really recommended - with that you'd probably be simultaneously enabling the default output + sox, and that could result in some weird behavior since both are trying to do different things on the same hardware interface. I wish MPD had a feature where you could tell it the underlying hardware for a sound card was the same across a set of cards so that it only allowed you to enable one, but it doesn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 35 [523 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 33, 34, 35 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0869s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]