Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 01:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Impossible to power off
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
semsaudade

Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 14:23    Post subject:  Impossible to power off  

Finally I managed to install Puppy Linux on my Asus EeePc 900. It works quite well, but I still have a big problem. It seems impossible to power off the PC, neither via menu neither going to prompt and typing "poweroff".

In both cases screen goes black and then I receive following messages:

Code:

Lucid is now shutting down
mounted directly, session already saved
login [24853]: root login on tty


After that Puppy restarts X-server without network connection. The only way to power offf my PC is long pressing OFF button.

Please help me. Thanks a lot
Giancarlo[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 21:34    Post subject: Re: Impossible to power off  

semsaudade wrote:
Finally I managed to install Puppy Linux on my Asus EeePc 900. It works quite well, but I still have a big problem. It seems impossible to power off the PC, neither via menu neither going to prompt and typing "poweroff".

In both cases screen goes black and then I receive following messages:

Code:

Lucid is now shutting down
mounted directly, session already saved
login [24853]: root login on tty


After that Puppy restarts X-server without network connection. The only way to power offf my PC is long pressing OFF button.

Please help me. Thanks a lot
Giancarlo[/code]


I wonder if your lupusave is corrupted.

I run Lucid (5.28) on my Asus eee900 (on the SD card) and it works fine.

The one thing I do is have my machine scan the save file for errors on every boot -- keeps it clean and functioning perfectly.

Can you get a boot menu command prompt and try:

Code:
puppy pfix=fsck

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 22:04    Post subject: Impossible to power off
Subject description: Puppy Boot Commands
 

semsaudade

You find the Puppy *boot commands* by pressing the F2 key when the picture of Puppy appears on the screen right after the machine boots up.

You gotta be quick with the F2 key.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 22:57    Post subject:  

semsaudade,

What version of Puppy?
How is it installed?
Full or frugal?

What you describe is the classic shutdown problem, with full installs, if the partition the full install is on, is mounted, when you shutdown.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
semsaudade

Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 02:08    Post subject:  

My Puppy is last version 5.28, Full installation on SSD internal drive.

I think Bigpup is right, because I made a little experiment. If I poweroff just after booting, without doing anything, it works fine. If I click and open my sda1 system partition with file explorer, after trying to shutdown I experience the problem I described.

Thanks for your answers. What can I try to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2012, 13:34    Post subject:  

Just make sure you have sda1 not mounted when you shutdown.
The sda1 drive icon on the desktop will indicate if mounted or not.
If mounted, use the drive icon to unmount. Right clicking on it and choose unmount sda1.

Also, at shutdown, do not have a Rox file manager window open showing any content of sda1.

Here is the confusing part. The drive partition sda1 has to be mounted, because the system just booted from it and programs are accessed/stored on sda1 as you run them. The problem comes into play when it gets further mounted (in active use) through the drive icons on the desktop or Rox file manager.

This only seems to affect full installs.
A little bug you just need to know about.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2012, 02:25    Post subject:  

Sometimes a filesystem will refuse to umount (unmount) if a process has a directory on that filesystem simply as its current working directory without there even being any files open on it.

Emelfm2 has this annoying habit of holding on to a filesystem on occasions even after navigating away and has to be closed down before umount will work.

If after closing down all applications and normal shutdown still doesnt work then there are some nuclear options that may still be a better option than pulling the plug (whilst still trying to resolve any possible device or file system corruption issue preventing normal shutdown/reboot scripts working).

the command

umount -ar

will attempt to umount as much active filesystems as possible.

the busybox multi call binary, installed in most if not all puppy linux systems, has a couple of applets for shutting down/rebooting a system and will bypass rc.shutdown script etc. which might be useful as a temporary workaround for malfunctioning shutdown scripts.

At the command prompt:

busybox poweroff

will attempt to clear the systems buffers and poweroff the system.

busybox poweroff -f

(Forced poweroff, even more drastic)

busybox poweroff -n -f poweroff

Forced poweroff without attempting to clear write buffers.

Nuclear. More or less equivalent to pulling the plug. Not very kind to filesystems. I once used this command to poweroff my system when a copy operation on a usb drive failed and the copy operation stalled and could not be killed off. Somehow I still prefer this option to pulling the plug, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
semsaudade

Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2012, 03:36    Post subject:  

Thanks for your kind answers. Is there any way to automatize the unmount of sda1 at shutdown (just not to have to do it manually every time)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
semsaudade

Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 10:40    Post subject:  

Any solution for automatically unmount devices?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 12:20    Post subject:  

You should be able to create a shutdown script that is executed that will unmount your filesystem. Use the CLI commands for mounting and unmounting your drive and you should be able to insert that into the shutdown script. I'm not exactly sure where the actual script is off the top of my head, but it should be fairly simple to edit it.
_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 12:38    Post subject:  

Hi semsaudade,

I don't unmount before shutdown - and have no ill effects.

Though wait for any USB stick/drive light(s) to stop flashing and don't
unplug without unmounting.

My regards

PS 01micko and tasmod have combined to produce "startmount" (already included with some Pups - else search for the pet).

It can automatically mount chosen drives on boot-up and can also run a user's choice of apps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
semsaudade

Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 14:43    Post subject:  

Thanks for your kind answers.

As for the shutdown script, unfortunately my acknowledges of Linux is far too basic to be able to write such a script by myself. If nobody knows where I could find it, I think I would give up.

Jasper, I know startmount, but I don't think it is what I am looking for. I need to unmount all my drives since I have a difficult power off on my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2012, 14:53    Post subject:  

You're looking for shutdown.rc and all you have to add is unmount /dev/sda1 if memory serves. Add it at the beginning.
_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue 13 Nov 2012, 07:59    Post subject:  

The shutdown script is located (at least on my system Wary 5.0) at

/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

An a line specific to umount the removable drive or drives could be added near the start of this script but from my reading the shutdown script eventually does a "umount -ar" anyway. That should have umounted everything cleanly unless perhaps there is is some kind of problem or conflict that is preventing a clean umount.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Evil20071


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 425
Location: Piedmont, SC,.United States

PostPosted: Tue 13 Nov 2012, 11:53    Post subject:  

Why is it I always get the "rc" part of that name backwards? >.<
_________________
Click for Detailed PC info

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0853s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0102s) ][ GZIP on ]