Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 01 Nov 2014, 02:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Wireless network doesnt work
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
behli

Joined: 17 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 14:47    Post subject:  Wireless network doesnt work  

Hi,

i installed the wireless network with the connect wizard.
(lucid puppy linux )

The driver is loaded, my wlan router is found successfully , i received an IP adress.

But when i make i ping:

The network is unreachable, regardless if i enter eg. pop.web.de or the ip adress directly.

Can anybody help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3214
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 21:35    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Does the IP it gives you start with 192 like 192.168.1.123?
Or 255? Mad
Run "net-setup.sh" in a terminal, go thru the GUI steps and watch the terminal for error messages...
Or.
Try "dhcpcd" in a terminal, does it get a 192.xxx.x.x address?

Also, always be specific when asking for assistance..
What version of Puppy?
What kind of wireless card..
Open, wep or wpa??

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
behli

Joined: 17 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 07:12    Post subject:  

Hi,

it is lucid puppy 5.28 (the current one i think).
I am using it on Laptop with integrated wlan (ipw2200).

I made what you proposed.
Here is the terminal output:

Linux version 2.6.33.2 (root@puppypc) (gcc version 4.4.3 (Ubuntu 4.4.3-4ubuntu5) ) #1 SMP Thu May 27 10:56:32 EST 2010
BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009f800 (usable)
BIOS-e820: 000000000009f800 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000000d8000 - 00000000000dc000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000000e0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
BIOS-e82sh-4.1# ifconfig
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:35:54:9F:50
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:4 dropped:4 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:1536 (1.5 KiB)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xe000 Memory:d0200000-d0200fff

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1168 (1.1 KiB) TX bytes:1168 (1.1 KiB)

sh-4.1# net-setup.sh

(gtkdialog3:7372): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: /build/buildd/glib2.0-2.24.0/gobject/gsignal.c:3079: signal name `depressed' is invalid for instance `0x84ee0f8'

(gtkdialog3:8193): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: /build/buildd/glib2.0-2.24.0/gobject/gsignal.c:3079: signal name `depressed' is invalid for instance `0x84ee0f8'
Configuring interface eth1 to network Bond with iwconfig...
/usr/sbin/net-setup.sh: line 992: 8569 Terminated gtkdialog3 --program NETWIZ_Connecting_DIALOG
sh-4.1# ifconfig
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:35:54:9F:50
inet addr:169.254.43.72 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:23 dropped:23 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:19 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:3654 (3.5 KiB)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xe000 Memory:d0200000-d0200fff

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1168 (1.1 KiB) TX bytes:1168 (1.1 KiB)

sh-4.1# dhcpd
sh: dhcpd: command not found
sh-4.1# ping pop.web.de
ping: bad address 'pop.web.de'
sh-4.1# dhcpcd
dhcpcd[11680]: version 5.2.9 starting
dhcpcd[11680]: eth1: checking for 169.254.43.72
dhcpcd[11680]: eth0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[11680]: eth1: using IPv4LL address 169.254.43.72
dhcpcd[11680]: forked to background, child pid 11798


It is very strange thing, that my ip starts with 169.

Greets
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3214
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 09:00    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
169 is the first number of an automatic IPv4 address assigned by TCP/IP when no external networking device is contactable.
Try.
Quote:
ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0

Then
ifconfig
again to see if it took...
You can set the gateway like this:
Quote:
route add default gw 192.168.0.253 eth0

You may have the wrong driver, as your wireless should be either wlan0 or card specific like ra0 (for ralink) not eth1, but I have seen eth1 work before, so try the above..

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
behli

Joined: 17 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 09:58    Post subject:  

Sorry, it doesnt work.

all seeting are correctly accepted, but the ping doesnt work.

How can i check, that the driver is loaded correctly?

Greets
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3214
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 10:55    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
lsmod
shows loaded modules
modprobe xxx
probes for a module.
So try
modprobe ipw2200

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 12:58    Post subject:  

puppyluvr wrote:

You may have the wrong driver, as your wireless should be either wlan0 or card specific like ra0 (for ralink) not eth1, but I have seen eth1 work before, so try the above..


Been using IPW2200 on Dell laptops for years;
always shows as eth0 or eth1.

Always worked fine on every Puppy back to 3.xx ;
works fine with Lupu.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2012
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 13:28    Post subject:  

Try This
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
behli

Joined: 17 Oct 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2012, 12:58    Post subject:  

Hi,

it is done!

iwconfig eth1 enc s:password

was the trick.

Thanx for your help!

Bye
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3214
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Fri 16 Nov 2012, 20:16    Post subject:  

Thomas, can you please mark the thread "solved"?
_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0675s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]