Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 14:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Getting a projection device working with Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 17:39    Post subject:  Getting a projection device working with Puppy
Subject description: I need suggestions.
 

I recently got a used projection device that hooks up to the monitor connector on back of a laptop.
I was able to get it to work with Win XP using the function keys to select LCD and external monitor combination.
But I so far have been unable to get it to work with Puppy.
The same video hardware is used in both cases of internal and external and only the monitor type would differ.
And the function key software that selects the external monitor is not available in Puppy.
So how does one select an external monitor/projector in Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Laie

Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 290
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 17:56    Post subject:  

Well, I just connect the projection device to the laptop, start the beamer (the german way to name projection devices Razz ) first and next the laptop. Slacko does everything else. The resolution of the projection device rules the resolution of the laptop screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 20:53    Post subject:  

Evidently, the function key for external video is needed to route the video card output to the external port. That port does not seem to be active unless I select it in windows and I cannot see how to select the external port in Puppy since it does not seem to see the function key software needed to make that external port active.
So I guess my next question is how does one make the external port active in Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 22:41    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
Evidently, the function key for external video is needed to route the video card output to the external port. That port does not seem to be active unless I select it in windows and I cannot see how to select the external port in Puppy since it does not seem to see the function key software needed to make that external port active.
So I guess my next question is how does one make the external port active in Puppy?
its usually Function(Fn)+f8
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0485s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]