Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 08:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Cosmo UI for Puppy Linux
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 20:23    Post subject:  Cosmo UI for Puppy Linux
Subject description: First release testing please
 

Very Happy Hello,
Introducing CosmoUI for Puppy.
1366x768

800x600

"Metro" Style interface for Puppy Linux.
Uses Gtk and Conky and acpi for info..
The pet is 473k ~ 980k installed.
( I like to keep things below 1mb Wink )
The gtk buttons call default puppy programs..
Uses desktop-restore to return the setup to what it was before when closed...
Also installs a Win-8-black background.
After installing the pet, click the "Cosmo" icon in /root Arrow
Ssee second post for pets as I build them...

Setups for various resolutions.
At too low a resolution, the display goes off the right side of the screen, leaving
no "Exit" button.. Simply go to /root and right click the "Cosmo" icon, choose "look inside", and click "kill"
to reset your desktop. More resolutions coming..
Also for conky to work, Puppy must have glibc-2.7 or better, so 3 series is a no go.
I have not tried 214x yet, but IIRC it has glibc-2.8 so should work.

Testers wanted...
Tested on:
Lupu/Precise/Squeeze/Puppy/ bases..

So far my testing finds Carolina and some other xfce pups dont co-operate.. Confused
Also PupControl only works if you have it.
Also, the second "messaging icon is supposed to be "weather" .. Embarassed
Just a testing run to expand its "generic-ness"
Will dial in the interface cosmetics along the way, IE the 5 conky windows, maybe a 4th row...
Eventually a "User Installed" area..
Alpha only.. Just for testers... Cool

@ these are only alpha tests for resolution, the finished CosmoUI will be 1.0 and will include a GUI to select resolutions, programs, icons, etc.. These do not link into the path, and hence run as basically "orphaned" unkillable processes.. Purely for testing ATM.. Much unfinished work to do on the scripts, etc..The final will run properly, and die properly.. Rolling Eyes
If you want,
Code:
ln /root/Cosmo/Cosmo /root/my-applications/bin/Cosmo

and
Code:
ln /root/Cosmo/Cosmo2 /root/my-applications/bin/Cosmo2
to link it into the path, like it eventually will be...
Last edited by puppyluvr on Thu 22 Nov 2012, 14:55; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 20:27    Post subject: Smaller resolution..  

ore to come...Very Happy Hello,
Introducing "CosmoUI-small".
Setup for 1024x768..
Testers wanted...
If you have already installed the "large" version, uninstall it or delete /root/conky before installing the "small" version..

Also "Cosmo-1440x900" For that resolution...
Still working on 1280x and the x600 ones..
Every resolution requires a complete rebuild, as it is not scalable...

Edit... The first 1440x900 pet was missing a directory.. Embarassed
Fixed, and added an 800x600... Arrow
Edit2 Fixed 800x600 and re U/L.. LOL..
As I edit the various sizes, they will move to the top of the list... Cool ...
CosmoUI-800x600.pet
Description  CosmoUI for 800x600
pet

 Download 
Filename  CosmoUI-800x600.pet 
Filesize  441.79 KB 
Downloaded  864 Time(s) 
CosmoUI-1440x900.pet
Description  CosmoUI for 1440x900
pet

 Download 
Filename  CosmoUI-1440x900.pet 
Filesize  478.87 KB 
Downloaded  845 Time(s) 
CosmoUI-1366x768.pet
Description  CosmoUI for 1366x768
pet

 Download 
Filename  CosmoUI-1366x768.pet 
Filesize  472.5 KB 
Downloaded  895 Time(s) 
CosmoUI-1024x768.pet
Description  CosmoUI for 1024x768
pet

 Download 
Filename  CosmoUI-1024x768.pet 
Filesize  461.21 KB 
Downloaded  1008 Time(s) 

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...

Last edited by puppyluvr on Mon 19 Nov 2012, 22:47; edited 12 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 21:31    Post subject:  

I like what the Facebook link does. Very Happy

Installed on my Precise setup:

before
after

Exiting caused x-server to restart and everything was reset as promised. It doesn't look like yours but my resolution is 1280x1024.

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 21:37    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
No, I think gtkdialog.. I`m using offsets to place the buttons, and on your Precise, it stayed at "0"
But good to know it reset properly.. That was a big issue for me.. Will D/L the latest Precise, and see why.. Thank you.. Very Happy

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Nov 2012, 21:39    Post subject:  

FWIW it's Precise 5.4 not 5.4.1.
_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 05:07    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
@Tubeguy,
Tested it on a fresh Precise 5.4 and worked perfectly at 1366.
At 1280 the icons go off screen to the right, but were located properly.
Still testing..

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 633
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 16:36    Post subject:  

Just ran a quick test of the 1024x768 version on Akita Beta 13 and nothing has exploded yet. Restored desktop properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:01    Post subject:  

Jay

For transparency you may want to take a look here. akash_rawal's app works well. Woops.. Embarassed .. you've already been there.. did you try it?


Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 812
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 11:50    Post subject:  

Hi puppyluvr,

downloaded last night and looks good.

Have you thought about doing a config file so that people can change the background and apps?

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 13:33    Post subject:  

puppyluvr wrote:
Testers wanted...

Slacko-5.3.3-4g, CosmoUI-1366x768.pet, so far so good, really like it!

Small issues:
1.Calendar button points to /root/noob/files/calen
2.conky.conf.6:
In the eth0 part there are two (font... instead of {font... what causes wrong display.
3. I don't know if it's just me, but wallpaper doesn't appear.
I have to do it manually via xli -onroot -fillscreen /usr/share/backgrounds/black_windows_8.png

It was very good idea to create and link "Computer" icon with Pmount, now our dear Windoze refugees (I'm one of them, actually) will feel more like home. Wink

Suggestion:
How about keeping all buttons beneath regular windows, on Conky level?
I just compiled wmctrl (only 74K) and
Code:
wmctrl -r "window_name" -b add,below

will send and keep the window down below.
http://tomas.styblo.name/wmctrl/#download

BTW, thanks for:
skip_taskbar_hint="true"
I was looking for this once!

Keep it up &
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 23:50    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
@oldyeller,
Yes, a config for apps is in the works..
Remember, this calls defaults, so whatever you set with the "default chooser" will launch..
So for example, to assign the "messaging" button to launch Skype, set Skype as "default chat".. Wink
Background is set by WM IE this doesnt set the BG, cause it looks cool over different BG`s and I didnt want to force any one..
Eventually, a resolution config will allow "1 pet for all" but since scaling is out, it will take a bit of scripting variables..

@01micko,
Still playing with that.. Looks promising, but aint got it working for me properly yet...

@SFR,
Quote:
Calendar button points to /root/noob/files/calen
Embarassed
Forgot that one....
Quote:
In the eth0 part there are two (font... instead of {font... what causes wrong display.
Embarassed
Will fix that asap...
Quote:
wallpaper doesn't appear.
I have to do it manually via xli -onroot -fillscreen /usr/share/backgrounds/black_windows_8.png

It isnt supposed to set it... Didnt want to force it to just the one, when so many look so cool with it... Cool
Quote:
It was very good idea to create and link "Computer" icon with Pmount, now our dear Windoze refugees (I'm one of them, actually) will feel more like home

Thank you, that was the exact intention.. "My Computer" etc...
Quote:
How about keeping all buttons beneath regular windows, on Conky level?

Good point, hadnt considered that.. Will check out your link..
But may just try
Code:
gtk_window_set_keep_below

for that...
Quote:
BTW, thanks for:
skip_taskbar_hint="true"
I was looking for this once!

You`re welcome, it was necessary, as otherwise it showed 2 tasks when it ran..
Hard part was locating the buttons...
These two do the magic, took a bit to figure out...
Code:
RIGHT=25 DOWN=210= WIDTH=1290 HEIGHT=128 # define location variables
 gtkdialog3 --program Cosmo -G ${1-${WIDTH}x${HEIGHT}+${RIGHT}+${DOWN}}


Thank you for the detailed feedback, it is incredibly helpful..
Stare at some code for hours on end, and it gets easy to miss things like those above...
BTW I couldnt get "xli -onroot -fillscreen /usr/share/backgrounds/black_windows_8.png[" to work for me..
Could use that on another project...
Updates/improvements in the works...
Still working on the "slideshow" in a button effect..

Thanks for testing... Very Happy

@tubeguy,
Quote:
before
after


Yep, it was the offsets, different resolutions are picky about it.. Try the 1024x768 for me, if you can..
I cant force 1280 on this box, but will fire up a few others and see if I can get that res on one..
I have to configure it in the resolution in question, for the button/conky spacing to work out right...
Height matters as well, because gtk and conky are offset differently.. However, I just discovered that I may be able to make gtk offset the same as conky, which would require a total rewrite, but would make the gtk and conky elements line up properly regardless of WM height...

Again, thanks guys!! Smile
More to come... Also a lcars based "Star Trek" UI is still coming along, or will when I get back to it..
It uses conky/gtk/espeak and even talks... Cool

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeybaby72


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 27
Location: Sheffield, UK

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 14:10    Post subject:    

Been watching this project with great interest - just tried it on my PortaPup 5.2.5 USB stick install and it looks pretty good to me!

I'm not at home right now so can't mess around with hardware so much right now.

It seems to have left a problem with my install of Pwidgets - they are still there but now have Conky boxes round them!!! Exclamation

How do I restore them to what they where and BTW I'll do my next lot of testing running in 'live' mode!!!! Embarassed

_________________
Adopt a Puppy TODAY - they are Man's best friend! Very Happy

Currently researching "Linux on Android project" - wanting to compile a Puppy to run in my hand on my Droid ... This has always been a dream of mine. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 18:24    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Exiting Cosmo should restore your desktop to its previous state..
But starting it again would do the same thing..
Umm.. Pwidgets... Shoulda thought of that..
Cosmo by default kills conky and restarts it...
The attached pet switches the AppRun script to one that doesnt..
It should leave Pwidgets alone, but will also leave your icons on screen..
Give it a try and let me know, as I have to install Pwidgets to test it, and aint got time ATM..
THX... Jay....
Pwidgetsfix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Pwidgetsfix.pet 
Filesize  509 Bytes 
Downloaded  833 Time(s) 

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3211
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 00:35    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Well, I cot sidetracked with the slideshow thing, but got it figured out.
Well, sort of.. I was able to get w gtk widget to refresh to a random image, but it was to much bs so I went back to conky, and it runs a slideshow great...
Next I am looking @ "hot corners" in jwm...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4255
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 01:39    Post subject:  

Hi, gang.

Yikes! I can appreciate puppyluvr's technical feat, but you'll still have to pry me off my right-click menu with a BIG, huge, even colossal tire iron before I will even start considering to install "that" on my machine. Laughing

BFN.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1020s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]