Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 04:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
(SOLVED) Lucid 528 won't start properly after hard poweroff
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 07:56    Post subject:  (SOLVED) Lucid 528 won't start properly after hard poweroff  

Hey all,

Not sure what's going on, but I am having startup issues on my Lucid 528 full install.

I was using Guvcview Webcam viewer this morning when my system started to be very sluggish (mouse was very skippy during movement) and I couldn't click on anything - the system had frozen except for the mouse. I used the power button to do a hard poweroff, but upon restart, Retrovol is gone from the menubar, the system won't connect to the internet (Network Wizard claims the module isn't loaded and I can't get Puppy to load the network driver on startup anymore) and the system no longer loads my VNC server at startup either...

I did another restart or two to see if it was a temporary glitch, but it keeps booting improperly to X as mentioned above...wondering what other things aren't starting properly either as for one of those other restarts I didn't even see the background or desktop icons, just the menubar!

What's the problem here and is there a simple fix? I've done a lot of tweaking to the system and I don't want to have to do a full install all over again....

Any help is appreciated! Startup sequence is also giving some sort of "deleted inode reference" error now 3 times?

As a side note - I've got the filesystem on this partition as Ext2...would Ext3 be less susceptible to corruption from a simple hard restart if this is what happens to Ext2...?

Last edited by darkstrike on Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 10:15    Post subject:  

Run the full install again.

Choose upgrade instead of wipe.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 10:28    Post subject:  

Thanks for the suggestion! Smile

And that will keep all the pets I have installed since I installed Puppy, all my tweaked startup options, and all my removed packages, etc?

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 10:42    Post subject:  

darkstrike wrote:
Thanks for the suggestion! Smile

And that will keep all the pets I have installed since I installed Puppy, all my tweaked startup options, and all my removed packages, etc?


I've done it many times without seeing any harm to the
changes I've made.
(May not fix your "tweaks" either).

Ext3 would have been a bit more stable.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 10:45    Post subject:  

Is it plausible that I could create another ext3 partition on the drive, copy the ext2 partition's files to the ext3 partition, delete the ext2 partition, grow the ext3 partition and then try the upgrade?

I'd love to help prevent something like this from happening again if it was caused by a simple hard reset...

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 10:49    Post subject:  

darkstrike wrote:
Is it plausible that I could create another ext3 partition on the drive, copy the ext2 partition's files to the ext3 partition, delete the ext2 partition, grow the ext3 partition and then try the upgrade?

I'd love to help prevent something like this from happening again if it was caused by a simple hard reset...


It's plausible; but "backasswards".

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 10:51    Post subject:  

It's easy to upgrade a partition from ext2 to ext3
Code:
tune2fs -j /dev/sda1

However, your filesystem has suffered some corruption because of the hard shutdown. The first thing I would do is boot off the Live CD and run
Code:
e2fsck -p /dev/sda1

Then reboot. That might clear the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 11:06    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
It's easy to upgrade a partition from ext2 to ext3
Code:
tune2fs -j /dev/sda1

However, your filesystem has suffered some corruption because of the hard shutdown. The first thing I would do is boot off the Live CD and run
Code:
e2fsck -p /dev/sda1

Then reboot. That might clear the problem.


Hi, thanks for the suggestion! I tried running the "e2fsck" in Terminal on my boot drive (which for me is sda2, not sda1) from a Puppy Live CD and nothing seems to have happened....all I got was the message:

"LUCIDPUPPY528: clean, number/number files, number/number blocks"

...with my drive's number of files/blocks in place of the words, that is. I assume there's supposed to be more happening than that if something were amiss...?

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 11:18    Post subject:  

What happens when you reboot? Do you still have problems? If so, follow rjbrewer's instructions for reinstalling.

Then upgrade to ext3.

Or maybe try
Code:
 e2fsck -fp /dev/sda2

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Mon 19 Nov 2012, 11:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 11:22    Post subject:  

I'll reboot and see if it makes a difference...sorry, never did that yet as the e2fsk command is not one I've used before and seemed to be completed instantly....wasn't sure if it did anything at all, haha!

I'll repost in a few when I know...

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 11:29    Post subject:  

Ok, did the restart and....I'm posting this from my Puppy machine - all seems well now!!! Very Happy Retrovol is back, the network drivers loaded, and my VNC server is back up!

Thanks so much gents, I really appreciate the time and help! That's why I love these forums....so many kind and helpful people for such a great product Smile

Now to copy to ext3 to be just a tiny bit safer hard-restart-wise! Wink

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 11:51    Post subject:  

With ext3, after a hard poweroff, it will pause during a
start up, reboot, and give options of ignore or
commandline.
Apparently doing the same as fsck.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 12:52    Post subject:  

That's odd then as I had that happen the first time I restarted after the reset with ext2 and it didn't seem to fix anything?
_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 168
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:50    Post subject:  

Just a quick final update to say that everything went well - now down to just my new ext3 partition with my Lucid 5.28 install and a 512mb swap partition! Smile

All is working fine - the old ext2 partition is gone and the ext3 partition is grown in it's place. Cool

Had a glitch with Puppy still displaying the now-nonexistant ext2 partition's drive icon on the desktop, but an "erase and realign" in the Drive Icons Manager solved that!

Thanks for all the help and patience guys! Very Happy

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0737s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]