Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 08:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Upup Precise 54X7 using latest woof at time
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8919
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 16:27    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Have you tried copying the SFS file onto the hard drive along with the save file? Then Puppy would use it instead of off the CD and maybe switch into "pfix=nocopy" mode.

I tested this in Slacko 5337 with the following results:

1. You have a standard frugal install. The default behaviour is "pfix=nocopy". So you have lots of free memory.

2. You move the SFS file onto the hard drive but boot off the CD. Puppy loads the hard drive version but still "copies to RAM". So you lose about 300 MB of memory.

3. You boot off the CD with "puppy pfix=nocopy". This works and you get the free memory back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 819
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 16:28    Post subject:  

Thanks Pemasu, you are brilliant.

Running the gtk-update-icon-cache command does work, but how do I make a .pet which I (or others) could install without needing to run that command on these Puppy versions?

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 16:33    Post subject: Re: CD access  

sszindian wrote:
Is this a 'NEW' way future puppy's are going to operate?

Dpup Precise (and the new Slacko-5.3.7.7.4g-firefox) are NOT totally loading and running from 'RAM.'

They now seem to require constant CD access to operate!


Back during Lucid development Playdayz put in a lot of effort to allow it to load into ram on a pc with 256 mb ram (puppy pfix=ram)......the main Lucid sfs size was about at the limit for a box with those specs. It seems that a basic rule of thumb is to double the size of the main sfs to find the amount of ram needed to allow removing the boot cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:00    Post subject:  

OscarTalks. Create script named pinstall.sh and place it to the deadbeef folder which you are going to dir2pet.

The content is this in pinstall.sh:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
gtk-update-icon-cache -qf /usr/share/icons/hicolor


When the pet is installed, that script will be run and the tray icon pops up when you launch deadbeef.

Done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:22    Post subject: Dpup Precise  

rcrsn51 & James C

Thanks for the comeback... I understand your statements and fix's however... I test for things of this nature so possibly the dev's can find a 'way-to or solution' somewhere in the coding to maintain the traditional puppy features?

I doubt that NEW users will want to go through the trouble of fixing it themselves therefore making these versions only useful to puppy users with some knowledge and not a hit with the general linux user. There are plenty of other linux distro's that already accomplish where puppy is heading without the hassle... Mint, the Ubuntu's, Peppermint, even the latest Opensuse and Fedora will work on my T22 as a 'live CD' (but with disk access needed), and a whole bunch of others I have used and tested.

I believe the puppy that was once unique in itself will be no longer unless... the dev's will make a true 'bare-bones' program that will still load into ram and let the user 'add or put-in' what he or she wants later... fact of the matter is, 80% of current puppy users could get by very well with simply a 'Snappy Puppy with Only A Browser' almost everything else one needs is available to use someplace online now?

Anyway, that's my thought on it!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:36    Post subject:  

I an not the guy for barebones. I want some user friendly stuff.
I will include also puppy apps which puppy developers create. I have done so always. Not gonna change that.
Best presentation is that you include nice puppy apps to the build. Sometimes they vanish also as quickly, lol.

Some other will be needed to shave off size than me. Sorry.

Puppy is my main distro. It will need flesh around it`s bones...for my usage. This Upup Precise will be though the version where I update build with recent woof updates and I am not soon gonna change it so bloated as Dpup Exprimo. But usually my builds grow with each update than goes down.

I dont do distro hopping so comparing what other linux distros do is not fruitful for me. I will read with interest but if Puppy fulfills my distro needs, I dont test other distros. Okay....I installed one other distro to my son`s comp and configured it but it was not for me....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8919
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:38    Post subject:  

I think that the standard rule of thumb still applies - older hardware requires older Puppies.

Users with only 256MB and no hard drive can't reasonably go much past Lupu.

Just like users with only 128 MB and no hard drive probably couldn't run Lupu effectively.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 20:18    Post subject: Re: Dpup Precise  

sszindian wrote:

I believe the puppy that was once unique in itself will be no longer unless... the dev's will make a true 'bare-bones' program that will still load into ram and let the user 'add or put-in' what he or she wants later... fact of the matter is, 80% of current puppy users could get by very well with simply a 'Snappy Puppy with Only A Browser' almost everything else one needs is available to use someplace online now?

Anyway, that's my thought on it!

>>>---Indian------>


Have you seen lina-lite? It could be what you're looking for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 23:04    Post subject: LinaLite  

'Thanks Billtoo' for reminding me!!!

I downloaded Lina Lite 3 or 4 days ago but completely forgot about it being involved with Dpup Precise and the new Slacko.

I will have to say, that is the way new puppy's should be put together... super nice program and very very fast, runs like a charm on this old IBM T22 Thinkpad. I'll know better once I have a chance to really test it out! Posting from it now.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 11:46    Post subject:  

Deadbeef-0.5.6 uploaded to the repo.
Atm woofing latest woof release after packages categories recent updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 992
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 12:20    Post subject:  

Hi Pemasu,
thanks again for this uPup-Precise !
this Xorg 1.11.3 + intel 2.17.0 combination seems not bringing the X black screen Very Happy

IMHO i prefer the Exprimo applications set (no Abi nor gNumeric; + firefox; as also the general rox + menus font look ... but that's subjective matter).

attachment; .doc document abiword rendering after having used the right hand scroll cursor ... Rolling Eyes

Cheers, Charlie
capture26181.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  capture26181.jpg 
Filesize  168.53 KB 
Downloaded  350 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 12:49    Post subject:  

Upup Precise 54X3 has been uploaded. I used fresh woof from today.

The Menu DOTdesktop updating should be fixed. Some Rox right click cleaning and also I added more rox right click stuff, like updated unrar, set as wallpaper, undeb all debs in folder, deb2tgz, aaphoto image resize and auto-optimize right clicks, etc....

I have fixed missing icons when I have found them.

Compiling in Upup really behaves so far. Of course there are quirks as always but from the early days things has improved greatly. Devx sfs is in good shape.

Uget has now aria2 plugin enabled at launching as default so happy torrent downloading with Uget.

Sys-info updated so video reports might be even trusted.

Some small fixes which does not show for end users.

Download link: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/UpupPrecise/UpupPrecise54X3/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tater


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 15:08    Post subject:  

Running the latest download and running a manual frugal install.

Mplayer does not play any of my videos that I've tried. Both flv and mp4 won't play. The player pops up but then nothing.

If you need any of my specs., Let me know.

I did install nvidia 96.43.23 driver for my gforce 4 mx 440.

I tried using x11 and xv in the player preferences and still no luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 15:20    Post subject:  

Mplayer in Precise Pangolin should have vdpau support. Try to change video output to the vdpau in the gnome-mplayer preferences.

yes|libvdpau|libvdpau1,libvdpau-dev|exe,dev,doc,nls| #needed by mplayer.

Your nvidia driver package should provide rest for the vdpau support...or then not. I suppose the needed lib is libvdpau_nvidia.so.

Anyway....it is question of your nvidia graphics and the nvidia driver. I do have fine video output with radeon driver and Ati HD5650 graphics. I went through my test videos and those which should play....played.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tater


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 15:45    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Mplayer in Precise Pangolin should have vdpau support. Try to change video output to the vdpau in the gnome-mplayer preferences.

yes|libvdpau|libvdpau1,libvdpau-dev|exe,dev,doc,nls| #needed by mplayer.

Your nvidia driver package should provide rest for the vdpau support...or then not. I suppose the needed lib is libvdpau_nvidia.so.

Anyway....it is question of your nvidia graphics and the nvidia driver. I do have fine video output with radeon driver and Ati HD5650 graphics. I went through my test videos and those which should play....played.


Thanks for the reply.

I tried vdpau and still a no go. So I tried every one of the output options just for the heck of it and none will play.

Is there anything else I can try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0893s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]