Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 11:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Slacko 5.4 - FINAL 2 Dec 2012
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 41 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 403
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 14:54    Post subject:  

Testing 5.3.7.7 on Pentium D machine. Usual LiveCD setup.

Saving to NTFS still has the problem previously reported with missing icons and forgotten config & pets on the first boot of the new save file. The only seeming difference from a pfix=ram boot is that it pops up the SFS loader. The workaround listed in the release notes worked.

I have a feeling that the WN111v2 wireless is still flaky but will test more and report back.

Opera 12.11 was just released today!

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. LiveCD of 5.25. HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 403
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 15:07    Post subject:  

Just rebooted, this is the second boot from the new save, and everything appears to be fine - all settings, pets etc remembered.
_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. LiveCD of 5.25. HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3632
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 16:09    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Puppy needs SeaMonkey so I made a pet of 2.13.2........ awesome persona not included. Smile

Does seem smoother than Firefox on this old Athlon XP box.
@JamesC
Great . would you provide a link.

@01Micko
Could next Slacko Repo reflect this?

Thanks for all the work from everyone.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4616
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 16:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
Puppy needs SeaMonkey so I made a pet of 2.13.2

Quote:
@01Micko
Could next Slacko Repo reflect this?

+1

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5445
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 18:20    Post subject:  

I believe 01micko is recommending installing browsers from the Slackware repo but that being said.......
http://www.smokey01.com/JamesC/seamonkey-2.13.2.pet

Built using the standard package direct from Mozilla.I've only tested on Lucid and Slacko RC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3078
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 19:15    Post subject:  

I made a change to Right click menu application to
find the md5sum of downloaded files.
Just right click on the file and follow instructions.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67013

_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3078
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 20:11    Post subject:  

I compiled a version of mhwaveedit 1.4.21 that runs LADSPA plugins.

I compiled on precise distribution but it runs on Slacko as well.


http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=665981#665981

_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3259
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 21:12    Post subject:  

Just a quick test as I am moving house.

Dell Studio XPS 1340 - tests

"""
On first boot...

Video >> 1280 x 800 60.0
shows as >>> Nouveau driver...
I am sure that in other posts the Video card is NVidia.

Wireless works...Broadcom B43

Shows as BCM4322 802.11 abgn wireless

Notice comes up to add the module,
You must >> add the module to the list.

OK! happens in some Pups with this hardware.
"wl mod added "

Wireless is funny in someways.

Generally after adding the Frisbee pet and allowing it to be
installed...Frisbee see most networks.

It is superior because there are 3 Hidden Networks now around
me, including mine, but Frisbee has more details.....
and I can pick mine more easily from the others.

With the Network wizard it is really hard to pick
which is mine in the order that shows wireless.

And quite often they don't all show.
I cancel the wireless scan after setting up as below,
and maybe on the third try I see all networks.

I would have loved to see if this is the same on my
Acer >>>eMachines eM350-21G16i
but sorry I am too busy packing.
But I suspect that this behaviour is the norm.

" Edit...tested it anyway "

Amended...quick Acer summary.

Video >>> 1024 x 600 60.0 *+

Wireless >>> ath9k pci: Atheros Communications inc.
AR9285 Wireless Network adapter

( much quicker at >> Test wlan0...noticeable

but scan >> Auto DHCP....slower

click on >>> Wireless >> Scan...
sees only 6 >> 2 are hidden...


Second attempt after cancelling...
sees 7 >> 2 are hidden...

All the same results after...
so someone has turned off their router...Smart.

I try to select a network...>> fails Wireless

OK scan again >> now 4 networks....
no wonder people get put off wireless.

rescan >>> Test wlan0 and Auto DHCP
no all is crappo.

I restart Xserver...dead loss
shows 3... 4...now 5 networks....aghhhhh!!!!

Spent 20 minutes on it...awful....
let's reboot and try Frisbee

Frisbee sees only 5 networks...on fresh reboot
strange isn't it.
Refresh again and it sees only 4 networks.
Exit program...try again with Frisbee...

and only 4 again...Malice in Wonderland moment..
and I thought the Dell was crap...
next refresh >> 3 networks

I then use >>> Wireless Network refresh....only 6 networks
but I reckon I can see mine...from past experience...
even though it's hidden Frisbee allows more details

Type in Name and passwoed
and after say 20 seconds...>>> Network is acquired
I can see my address...and the wireless now works.

Weirdo behaviour....maybe when addressing connection issues
I might post this.

Anyway, thank you miss Jemm....she was good.

:::

How I connect without Pwireless....old school Pups
or without Frisbee.

From the connect icon

I selected >> Internet by Wireles or Wired Lan

run the Classic Network Wizard .....
>> not the >> Simple Network Wizard..

I selected >> Eth 1 for Lan or >> wlan0 for wireless

I install the Firewall first >>> old habits.

I run the Classic Network Wizard ...

Select wlan0

I first click on >> Test wlan0

and then Auto DHCP


click on >>> Wireless >> Scan

Select one of the available networks.....>> my hidden network

tick >>WPA2

as I run >> WPA2-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access 2 with Pre-Shared Key)

add my user name into >> Profile Name and >> Essid

type my password into >> Shared Key

Clicked >> Save and >> Use this Profile.

The Wizard connects >> acquiring connection

and then I repeat the step

>> Click again >> Test wlan0 and Click on Auto DHCP

Xdialog reports >>> Network Configuration of wlan0 Successful

Do you want to save this configuration

I click >> Yes....and >> Done

>>> You have finished running Network Wizard

Clicked >>> Yes Set as Default...>> Clicked OK


"""

So network wizard was a fail....enough after 20 minutes
and Frisbee works.

Some issues....surprised me really...

Not blaming Slacko....
just stranger and stranger wireless.

Thanks Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 04:05    Post subject:  

Must be planetary spin in the S. hemisphere? Completely opposite results here - Frisbee has never worked for me despite oodles of wasted time on quite a few systems with 'easy' wifi dongles and the intractable Wiston. Quick tests with 5337 all work perfectly ootb - best yet, even. micko is truly the master fabricator, incredibly diligent for which we are all grateful.
And great browser, wallpaper, icon defaults...
Chacun a son gout.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 07:58    Post subject:  

Chris,Thanks mate for testing. I think I'll highlight in the release notes, (if anyone ever reads them Rolling Eyes ) that Frisbee is the preferred way to connect on modern hardware. It covers almost all the bases. I originally didn't like it (probably because I'm a dumbo and couldn't get it to play nice in slacko) but constant pestering by some Frisbee faithful swayed me to let in since early slacko days. Frisbee is slower but is a lot more thorough in all of it's checks. It really is a program and not a bash script cobbled together along the way.

-

Sage, I agree that on older wifi setups Network Wizard seems to be the right tool.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Whiz banging wobblers. I have a treat for you.

compiz_slacko-0.8.8-s14.sfs

See attachment for the necessary 'compiz_helper' pet. It fixes up some vital files that the sfs can't manage.

It's spartan but that's what you guys want right? It's not Rox based either...

Many thanks to Jérôme (Jejy69) for the support packages, He built them for me as a request.

It's been tested with nouveau (Chris, that's nvidia.. there's a hidden tip in the release notes...) and intel. Radeon will mostly just work on most gear. Proprietary drivers will mostly work. Of course even the compiz guys say it's EXPERIMENTAL, I must echo that!

Will you have fun? I reckon... mostly ...
compiz-default-desktop.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   65.27 KB
 Viewed   790 Time(s)

compiz-default-desktop.jpg

compiz_helper-005.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  compiz_helper-005.pet 
Filesize  15.21 KB 
Downloaded  228 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 08:39    Post subject:  

I am drifting Very Happy
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 08:52    Post subject:  

I'm in Slacko and fail to get Screeny capture going from Menu
any idea what goes wrong? What can I do apart from starting all over?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1641
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 10:03    Post subject: Increased Number of SFS files at boot  

What is the upper limit of sfs files that can now be loaded at boot? What is the maximum number that have been tested so far?

Thanks a lot.....using multiple save files on a USB drive really gives one the ability to "roll your own".

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1385

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 10:14    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Frisbee is slower

You may want to try Thunor's suggestions for RC2 Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 12:00    Post subject: Slacko 5.4 - RC1 18 Nov 2012  

Manual frugal install to hard drive on hp desktop pc.
Installed proprietary nvidia driver and configured for two monitors
(twinview)
JWM doesn't support more that one monitor so switched to
openbox+tint2+lots of icons.
Computer
Processor 6x AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Memory 8233MB (411MB used)
Operating System Unknown distribution
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Wed 21 Nov 2012 10:47:34 AM EST
Display
Resolution 3200x1080 pixels
OpenGL Renderer GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation
Version
Kernel Linux 3.4.17-PAE (i686)
Compiled #1 SMP Fri Nov 2 19:12:33 EST 2012
C Library GNU C Library version 2.15 (stable)
Default C Compiler GNU C Compiler version 4.7.1 (GCC)
Distribution Unknown distribution
OpenGL
Vendor NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
Version 4.3.0 NVIDIA 310.19
Direct Rendering Yes

EDIT:I found an lxpanel-0.5.8.pet in the additional software section and apart from some x'd icons it's working well.
lxpanel.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.05 KB
 Viewed   581 Time(s)

lxpanel.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   149.64 KB
 Viewed   665 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Wed 21 Nov 2012, 18:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 41 of 49 [730 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, ..., 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1154s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0188s) ][ GZIP on ]