Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 05:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
After selecting the resolution, puppy linux goes in to shell
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Knack

Joined: 14 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 20:52    Post_subject:  After selecting the resolution, puppy linux goes in to shell  

Puppy Linux boots from the CD I'm using 5.31, it loads everything in to RAM, i select probe and choose the resolution I require, hit enter.

Then it says something like

puppypc313412 login root (automatic login)
puppypc313412:


Edit:

When I choose Vesa, puppy linux loads but I can only have a resolution of 640x480. when i select the xorg wizard it takes me to the shell area or whatever it's called and says

puppypc313412 login root (automatic login)
puppypc313412:

Again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3203
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 21:32    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Did you try "xwin" or "startx" @ the shell prompt?

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Knack

Joined: 14 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 21:35    Post_subject:  

Yeah, I've gone through all the drivers too, non work, only vesa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Knack

Joined: 14 Nov 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 21:52    Post_subject:  

Using a HD 6870 btw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3203
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2012, 23:38    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Do you mean HP..?
As in Nvidia graphics??

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Thu 15 Nov 2012, 21:05    Post_subject:
Sub_title: display..
 

hi and welcome Knack Smile

yep, xorgwizard and/or shell can be fun when trying to get a display. You can..

1) futz around with xorgwizard (manual or some pups do 'auto') - cons: xorgwizard ui

2) edit xorg.conf directly while either in or out of X (out of X is pretty much a cli deal with console text editor such as mp) - How to edit the xorg.conf file has some helpful info. My best results have been to edit and save/bkp while in X, even if an initially 'given' display seems a bit cramped at 800x600 or 640x480 .. and then simply re-X (Restart X Server in the shutdown section of rootmenu) to test.

hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 699

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 22:48    Post_subject: After selection resolution  

Not sure this will be your experience, but on my Dell laptop I need to update my bios and then I was able to select a greater Vesa setting that 640 x 480. So you may look into upgrading yours on the hp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]