Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 00:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
'lina-lite - version 005
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 535
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 05:56    Post subject:  

After some messing around I figured out why thumbnails weren't shown in Thunar. There was a missing cache plugin symlink in /usr/lib/tumbler-1/plugins/cache.

I've made a pet to add it or just dl the tar.gz and add it manually. You can get them here http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=665827#665827

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 348
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 11:07    Post subject: lina-lite version  

Hi elroy,

Quote:
Very good stuff as always, Marv, but I have to ask...what lite version are you running?


I'm running lina-lite0-001 from the link in the first post on this thread. Is there another version? Looks like rg66 has the thumbnails back. Havent tried his fix yet.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 348
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 11:17    Post subject: thunar thumbnails  

rg66 wrote:
After some messing around I figured out why thumbnails weren't shown in Thunar. There was a missing cache plugin symlink in /usr/lib/tumbler-1/plugins/cache.


Works for me. THANKS rg66

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 23:45    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
After some messing around I figured out why thumbnails weren't shown in Thunar. There was a missing cache plugin symlink in /usr/lib/tumbler-1/plugins/cache.

I've made a pet to add it or just dl the tar.gz and add it manually. You can get them here http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=665827#665827


Thanks for that, rg66. I'll use that for 002.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 23:48    Post subject: Re: lina-lite version  

Marv wrote:
Hi elroy,

Quote:
Very good stuff as always, Marv, but I have to ask...what lite version are you running?


I'm running lina-lite0-001 from the link in the first post on this thread. Is there another version? Looks like rg66 has the thumbnails back. Havent tried his fix yet.


No...you're using the version that I'd be using...just wanted to make sure it wasn't an older "light" version. I'm going to add this and your pm'd probepart4. It's good stuff, and I meant no disrespect by asking you what you're currently running int on...just had to be sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 535
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 00:55    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
Gvfs-smb seem to break something in thunar. After install and restart x, thunar takes over 20 seconds to open and network is missing from the side pane. Using go>network from the menu bar gives network error. After uninstall thunar remains broken, back up your save file first if you try it.

Gvfs-smb works in carolina-003 though, which I am assuming is using the same lina_xfce-4.10.


I tried Gvfs-smb from Saluki and it's working without problems, it has 5 or 6 more libs than the Carolina one. I will assume it was the missing libs that were causing the issues.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1426
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 05:37    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
rg66 wrote:
Gvfs-smb seem to break something in thunar. After install and restart x, thunar takes over 20 seconds to open and network is missing from the side pane. Using go>network from the menu bar gives network error. After uninstall thunar remains broken, back up your save file first if you try it.

Gvfs-smb works in carolina-003 though, which I am assuming is using the same lina_xfce-4.10.


I tried Gvfs-smb from Saluki and it's working without problems, it has 5 or 6 more libs than the Carolina one. I will assume it was the missing libs that were causing the issues.


elroy removed those files for Carolina
elroy wrote:

There's already a gvfs pet in the repo, but this one does seem to get the Thunar network tab working.

I've uploaded this to the carolina repo. I removed some of the library files because they're already on carolina by default.

It seems to work. I don't have windows, but my wife does, and I can see her computer when I click the Network tab from within Thunar. If I click on her computer's icon I get a login/password dialog. Clicking the Windows network icon crashes Thunar, but that may be because I'm not logged in as a network user, or some other reason.

The following files were removed because they're already on carolina by default:

/usr/lib/libgconf-2.so.4
/usr/lib/libgconf-2.s0.4.1.5
/usr/lib/libgcrypt.so.11
/usr/lib/libgcrypt.so.11.5.3
/usr/lib/libgpg-error.so.0
/usr/lib/libgpg-error.so.0.8.0

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 535
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 06:09    Post subject:  

I searched the forum and found nothing, I don't recall seeing that post but wish I had.

Maybe the full pet could be in the repo as gvfs-smb-lina-lite.pet or something. Would be helpful for people like me with not so much experience.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 348
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 18:37    Post subject: Re: lina-lite version  

elroy wrote:
Marv wrote:
Hi elroy,

Quote:
Very good stuff as always, Marv, but I have to ask...what lite version are you running?


I'm running lina-lite0-001 from the link in the first post on this thread. Is there another version? Looks like rg66 has the thumbnails back. Havent tried his fix yet.


No...you're using the version that I'd be using...just wanted to make sure it wasn't an older "light" version. I'm going to add this and your pm'd probepart4. It's good stuff, and I meant no disrespect by asking you what you're currently running int on...just had to be sure.


No disrepect taken, I just wondered if a version slipped by me. Finding not much else to gnaw at, I remastered my working version last night. Went well, with a total boot directory size now of 120 MB with browser and apps and seems rock solid. That pleased me.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 22:26    Post subject: 'lina-lite - version 002  

'lina-lite-002 is now available. See the first post of this thread for download links.

What's new in 002?

* kernel version 3.2.13-c. This is a non-PAE kernel that is essentially the sister version to the one offered as the default PAE kernel used in Carolina. Kernel sources and headers are available on the server using the links provided in the first post of this thread.

* Notifications are working. I recompiled the xfce4-notifyd-0.2.2-i486 package to get the notifications working. I've also added it to the lina_xfce-4.10.pet in the repository.

* A faster probepart script (thanks Marv). This eliminates the slow shutdown speed/hanging experienced on some machines.

* An improved panel-mounter plugin (thanks again to Marv). While not yet perfected, it is much more usable than was the case in 001.

* Thunar now displays thumbnails (thanks rg66).

* After much back-n-forth, I decided to include the pup-volume-monitor-0.1.10 package in the adrive.

* To save space I did not provide a default wallpaper image. If you want wallpapers you'll need to add your own images to /usr/share/backgrounds.

With all these changes the new ISO size has increased by only 1 MB. I've also provided a .delta file that you can use to create the new 002 ISO from the 001 version ISO. The .delta file is approximately 23 MB. If you prefer to just download the 002 ISO it is approximately 106 MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 22:38    Post subject: Re: 'lina-lite - version 002
Subject description: save file?
 

elroy wrote:
'lina-lite-002 is now available.

Thanks a lot.
My first time with it, on my other computer, a Dell D610.

I put the three .sfs fiies and vmlinuz and initrd.gz in a directory, and booted it via a menu.lst

Seems very nice,

But when I try to reboot and make a save file, it says no suitable partitions to save to.

Help, please.


Thanks again,

Sheldon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 22:52    Post subject: Re: 'lina-lite - version 002
Subject description: save file?
 

sheldonisaac wrote:
elroy wrote:
'lina-lite-002 is now available.

Thanks a lot.
My first time with it, on my other computer, a Dell D610.

I put the three .sfs fiies and vmlinuz and initrd.gz in a directory, and booted it via a menu.lst

Seems very nice,

But when I try to reboot and make a save file, it says no suitable partitions to save to.

Help, please.


Thanks again,

Sheldon


Hi Sheldon. Dummy me forgot to set the permission on probepart. To fix this open a terminal window and enter the following:
Code:
chmod +x /sbin/probepart


In the meantime I'll fix this and re-upload the ISO and .delta files. Thanks for the heads-up.

EDIT: fixed ISO and delta files are now uploaded.

Last edited by elroy on Wed 21 Nov 2012, 23:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 23:17    Post subject: Re: 'lina-lite - version 002
Subject description: save file?
 

elroy wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:
elroy wrote:
'lina-lite-002 is now available.

Thanks a lot.
My first time with it, on my other computer, a Dell D610.

I put the three .sfs fiies and vmlinuz and initrd.gz in a directory, and booted it via a menu.lst

Seems very nice,

But when I try to reboot and make a save file, it says no suitable partitions to save to.

Help, please.


Thanks again,

Sheldon


Hi Sheldon. Dummy me forgot to set the permission on probepart. To fix this open a terminal window and enter the following:
Code:
chmod +x /sbin/probepart


In the meantime I'll fix this and re-upload the ISO and .delta files. Thanks for the heads-up.

Got it, and thank you very much.
Am on 'lina now, using Opera 12.02 (loaded the .sfs)
Will it load at next boot?

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 23:23    Post subject: Re: 'lina-lite - version 002
Subject description: save file?
 

sheldonisaac wrote:

Am on 'lina now, using Opera 12.02 (loaded the .sfs)
Will it load at next boot?.

Yes, it will as long as you're using a savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 348
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu 22 Nov 2012, 01:52    Post subject: 'lina-lite - version 002  

Looks good elroy,

Quick look, pfix=ram frugal install. intel 2200 pro firmware found ootb now. Udev rules look good, probepart too, icons in thunar GREAT, panel mounter working with one caveat yet. Preinstalled Panel mounter perfect. If for any reason someone deletes that one and then reinstalls it, custom mount line still has to be cut and pasted in as does any device blacklist. The configuration file in /root/.config/xfce4/panel comes up with different #s depending on panel configuration. I have a template file and a script to replace any that exist but it isn't quite puppable yet. Just to get the lines in one place, here they are. Looking real good! Very Happy

Custom mount line:
Code:
sh -c '[ ! -d %m ] && mkdir -p %m ; mount %d'

Device blacklist example:
Code:
/dev/loop0 /dev/loop1 /dev/loop2 /dev/loop3 /dev/loop4 /dev/fd0

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.2n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.17 kernel). All lean and steady pups.

Last edited by Marv on Thu 22 Nov 2012, 11:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1039s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]